We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B & B near Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Nice B & B in a quiet neighborhood close to Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson and not far from downtown Anchorage. Our host provided great service and outstanding breakfasts (we were there three days.) There were three guest rooms upstairs and at least one larger room downstairs that would be more suited to families. All of the rooms were clean and had ensuite bathrooms. Access to a common living room, with comfortable seating (chairs, couch) books, TV, a small alcove with a refrigerator and coffee/tea making equipment was readily available from all rooms. The unique and tasty breakfasts were noteworthy.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms were a little warm in summer -I prefer sleeping in a very cool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DJMilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2016

The rooms were great, the whole place was cozy. Carol is a great host - but be warned, do not be on a tight schedule as breakfast can take nearly an hour listening to Carols great stories. Breakfast was good if you aren't too fussy (waffles were great, Salmon cakes were a little polarizing). The place was clean with plenty of interesting artifacts etc. to look at.
Neighborhood a bit iffy, have a car or order a taxi.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tlm086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Carol is a wonderful host. She shared her knowledge & expertise on the area & Alaska. We enjoyed 3 different breakfasts. She really enjoys creating a wonderful meal with her homemade recipes, spreads & jams. We highly recommend staying here. Very easy access to downtown & other spots that are highlights of the area. There is also a very comfortable sitting area with a microwave, refrigerator & water. A large selection of reading material as well.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015

It's true that we were a bit surprised (not in the good way) when we made a turn into the neighborhood. Also true that although the exterior of the house looks lovely, the first look inside was full of clusters. However, as soon as we dragged our luggage upstairs and opened the bedroom door, we were so pleasantly surprised. Clean, spacious and very comfortable and many artifacts of interest. And the garden is also full of delights--flowers, berries and waterfalls which are truly amazing. If you are expecting something posh or hip, don't come here. in big bear, we really got to get a sense of the local dwelling as well as a bit of the local history, which the owner shared with us during breakfast the next morning. I learned about the stories about the bears, sourdough yeast and the hard working people as they are, and for that knowledge and experience, I am grateful.

Room Tip: rooms upstairs are quieter and our room (the grizzly) looks down upon the garden which is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank oblythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Taxi here from train cost $12. Room was huge and decoration (bear hides and heads and other trophies) were quite nice. Breakfast was amazing (home cooked and fresh). Host was nice and house was quite. Plenty of parking for all guests. On road towards Denali so perfect for our next day. Supermarket just up the road

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cjdmwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
18.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
48 km away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
2,164 reviews
8.5 km away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
4.5 km away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 74 in Anchorage
1,915 reviews
4.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3401 Richmond Ave, Anchorage, AK 99508-1013
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing