We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$215
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$282
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Grand Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alaskan European Bed & Breakfast(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$119
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
35
21
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
21
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseach morningprivate bathroomanchorage areacarolalaska
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2016

The rooms were great, the whole place was cozy. Carol is a great host - but be warned, do not be on a tight schedule as breakfast can take nearly an hour listening to Carols great stories. Breakfast was good if you aren't too fussy (waffles were great, Salmon cakes were a little polarizing). The place was clean with plenty of interesting artifacts etc. to look at.
Neighborhood a bit iffy, have a car or order a taxi.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tlm086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Carol is a wonderful host. She shared her knowledge & expertise on the area & Alaska. We enjoyed 3 different breakfasts. She really enjoys creating a wonderful meal with her homemade recipes, spreads & jams. We highly recommend staying here. Very easy access to downtown & other spots that are highlights of the area. There is also a very comfortable sitting area with a microwave, refrigerator & water. A large selection of reading material as well.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015

It's true that we were a bit surprised (not in the good way) when we made a turn into the neighborhood. Also true that although the exterior of the house looks lovely, the first look inside was full of clusters. However, as soon as we dragged our luggage upstairs and opened the bedroom door, we were so pleasantly surprised. Clean, spacious and very comfortable and many artifacts of interest. And the garden is also full of delights--flowers, berries and waterfalls which are truly amazing. If you are expecting something posh or hip, don't come here. in big bear, we really got to get a sense of the local dwelling as well as a bit of the local history, which the owner shared with us during breakfast the next morning. I learned about the stories about the bears, sourdough yeast and the hard working people as they are, and for that knowledge and experience, I am grateful.

Room Tip: rooms upstairs are quieter and our room (the grizzly) looks down upon the garden which is very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank oblythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Taxi here from train cost $12. Room was huge and decoration (bear hides and heads and other trophies) were quite nice. Breakfast was amazing (home cooked and fresh). Host was nice and house was quite. Plenty of parking for all guests. On road towards Denali so perfect for our next day. Supermarket just up the road

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cjdmwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

We stayed here with another couple for 4 days to explore Anchorage before heading off to Denali. Located slightly out of town but only a few minutes from a regular bus route if you do not have a car. Also close to a bike trail into town as we hired bikes for a couple days. Carol, our host is a great cook and we had different Alaskan breakfasts each day. Rooms were clean and comfortable with ensuite. Carol is also a wealth of information and has many great stories of growing up in Alaska and her family's history.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mexico Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews