We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little hotel with really great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hochzeitshaus
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Aurich
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is a really nice little hotel that is full of character and centrally located in Aurich. It is perfectly situated for the town's shops, restaurants and cafes. Another reviewer commented that the Hochzeithaus is what you'd like you house to look like and I agree entirely with that sentiment. It is traditionally and tastefully furnished in the public areas in keeping with the style of the building and this approach was replicated in the rooms. The bed was very comfortable and the duvet provided warmth and "cosiness" in a way that Europeans seem to do so well. It was pleasing to find that room had a safe. The bathroom was small but entirely adequate and spotlessly clean. The hotel has a car park at the back which I estimate can accommodate 7-8 cars and therefore at peak times then you may have to park elsewhere especially if there is a wedding on. You can't reserve a space. Unfortunately dinner was not available on the nights that I was staying there but based on the excellent breakfast for the one morning I was able to take advantage of it then I would have been very happy to eat dinner had it been available.
What really stands out for me is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff who spoke very good English. I was leaving at 6.30am on a Saturday which was before breakfast was being served and therefore would miss out. However completely unprompted I was a offered a complimentary packed lunch instead - what a lovely thought and gratefully received.
Readers who have looked any some of my other reviews will note that hotel cleanliness is a bugbear of mine. Suffice to say the Hochzeithaus was immaculate. Why can't more British hoteliers learn from the Germans?

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oxtedsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed here last month whilst visiting a supplier; not somewhere I would have chosen normally but glad it was recommended.

It's what you'd lke your house to look like, it's walking distance to the town which has excellent shopping, and some nice ice cream cafes.

Room are all individually decorated, including the master bedroom with four poster bed and bay window. If I could criticise mine, I would say that the curtains were next to useless. There were 3 - when pulled they didnt cover the windows, and they were so thin that they were really only for decoration. Given that the hotel across the road looked directly in to the room, this was not ideal. The bathroom didnt have any windows (under the eves) so was dark. So 21 not the best. So for sure take ear plugs and eye shades. There is no air conditioning, so the attic rooms get hot, if you open the windows then you get noise from the street below.

The dining here is an experience - breakfast is beautifully laid out and your table is reserved. The restaraunt is not open every evening, and when it is, you'd better make reservations, as it's sooo good. Our evening was the last before the summer season, when they BBQ - would definitely like to try this.

What I did miss was somewhere to crash in the evening - there is a bar area, but it's not ideal for a late night drink. I was very impressed with the hidden bar on the first floor - help yourself and let them know in the morning.

The top floor has a play area for kids, with TV and soft toys, board games and books - also a nice idea. I suspect this place is best when the whole place is booked by one group.

Can't wait to come back though!

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anionfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

The Hochzeitshaus in Aurich is a small boutique-style hotel set in a beautiful garden, but very close to the centre of town. There is a lovely loggia overlooking the garden; a restful,. sheltered place to sit and dream. The rooms are individually decorated with some stunning touches. The food is lovely, and thoughtfully prepared - some really lovely home made breakfast jams - and the proprietors (who speak excellent English, in case your German is not up to scratch!) are friendly and helpful. Perfect for functions and wedding receptions, the Hochzeitshaus also makes a very special short break destination.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlphabettyOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

It's rare to find a hotel which makes everyone feel so welcome and at home.
Everything was perfect - food, room, bar, service, price - nothing was ever too much hassle for their excellent staff.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Aurich and loved the Hochzeithaus.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dabraham74Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fanny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurich
0.1 km away
Hotel Am Schloss Aurich
3 km away
Ringhotel Koehlers Forsthaus
22.2 km away
Romantik Hotel Reichshof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Stadt Aurich
Hotel Stadt Aurich
#7 of 8 in Aurich
29 reviews
0.2 km away
Altstadthotel Twardokus
5.1 km away
No photo provided
Gaestehaus Fecht
#8 of 8 in Aurich
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hochzeitshaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hochzeitshaus

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 4, 26603 Aurich, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Aurich
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Aurich
Price Range: RM654 - RM5,276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hochzeitshaus 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic mansion, carefully renovated, with loveley redecorated rooms,surrounded by 3000 qm gardens, situated in the heart of Aurich. Restaurants, shops, pubs, shopping mall, historic castle and old windmill in very short walking distance. Insider tips for everyone who wants to relax in classy atmosphere and enjoy sincere hospitality. Motorcyclists and cyclists welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hochzeitshaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing