We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Waking up with cicada songs”
other travellers have booked this property
large modern family house with separate apartment on ground floor in Pyrgos, Sissi, Crete
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
large modern family house with separate apartment on ground floor in Pyrgos, Sissi, Crete
The apartment, a warm welcome awaits you Open plan lounge/diner/kitchen area, fully equipped to a high specification
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
large modern family house with separate apartment on ground floor in Pyrgos, Sissi, Crete
The apartment, a warm welcome awaits you
Open plan lounge/diner/kitchen area, fully equipped to a high specification
Full cooking and eating facilities
A relaxing and quiet environment
Bedroom with full luxury wardrobes and a twin/double bed so that you can enjoy a good nights sleep
En suite quality toilet and shower
Apartment patio, garden and outlook in a quiet country lane
The house and apartment are surrounded by a garden area
View from the apartment of spectacular mountain scenery
Plenty of walks around when it is not too hot, with magnificent mountain scenery
The local Potamos Beach, a sandy beach, warm waters and safe bathing with the mountains in the backg
A harbourside taverna in Sissi with the mountains behind the apartment
The fishing boats and harbour in Sissi. A coffee or beer can be enjoyed at the harbour side
The inlet where hire boats and ducks can often be seen
Cathy and John enoying the evening in a local restaurant
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sissi, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
LucyEmily...
Brescia, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Waking up with cicada songs”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is clean and brand new; the kitchen is equipped with plates, cutlery, cookware and good electrical appliances, so that it's possibile to cook meals easily. We also found an iron, a hair dryer, a toaster and a fan. Wi-Fi connection is provided.
John, the owner, is very kind and helpful.
We appreciated very much the location: among the olive trees, very quiet but not far from the towns of Sissi (a 45-50 minutes' walk, but a car is recommended!) and Malia.
A few km from home there are beautiful free beaches (such as Aghia Varvara and Spiliada) and the archaeological site of Malia.
We most liked the quiet location, the three nice cats we met in the garden, the no-smoking rule inside the house, the opportunity to eat at home (local fruit and vegetables are good and very cheap). We're sorry that we couldn't stay there a little longer.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Compagno/a
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
A pleasure to look after such polite and pleasant guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffrey...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rural Relaxation”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We found this modern well equipped property to be ideal for our purposes. Due to its location a car is a MUST. The owner, John, who is usually on site is helpful and friendly without being intrusive.

The mountain and country views are spectacular. The property windows are fitted with fly screens & shutters allowing good "fly free" ventilation. The modern bathroom provides a good supply of hot water and the kitchen is well fitted with most amenities. It includes a full oven and hob, microwave and toaster; for those very keen there is even an iron. Car parking on site is provided.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2015
I was pleased to loook after you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
7
people found this review helpful

Just returned from 2 weeks in Crete. Stayed at Beech Grove Apartment in Pyrgos near Sissi and had a wonderful time. Great, well equipped accommodation in a quiet location and John, the owner, lives on site, and he was very helpful during our stay. Car hire is a must as shops, bars and restaurants are 30-40 mins walk away, as is the beach. Would recommend this apartment to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday, and would certainly stay there again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing environment
Liked least: The fact that we had to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2015
I was glad to be of help and I enjoyed having you to stay too. I was pleased to look after you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment in great location!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Whilst looking for somewhere to stay in Crete, we found Beech Grove Apartment. It looked perfect for our needs; clean, modern and close to the beach. When we arrived we weren't disappointed.

Situated down a windy, secluded road, with a stunning view of the mountain range that runs through the island, we grew very fond of the place we called home for seven days. We had planned to eat out most nights but found ourselves cooking in the well-equipped kitchen and BBQ-ing on the patio, with freshly landed fish and prawns we bought from an excellent fishmongers in Malia (on the right hand side of the main road through Malia before you reach the main strip). The tap water was safe to drink too.

The apartment itself remained cool throughout the day due to being on the bottom level, and we kept the shutters pulled down on the window. The bathroom was spacious and the powerful shower was perfect after a hot day at the beach!

The landlord, John, was there at the time. He lives in the house above for part of the year, although they feel like two separate properties. He was very accommodating and happy to answer any questions we had about the island, and was generally there if we needed him, but never intrusive.

If we went back to Crete, we would definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2015
I was pleased to look after you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremie C
Chatillon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very good hiring”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
4
people found this review helpful

It was a very good hiring, clean, pleasant, with all the confort and near to main beaches and places to visit.
The owner is very accommodating and a person come every week to wash towels and change cloths, it was very appreciating.
We recommend this apartment.

Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
A very fair review and I ensured the client had a comfortable exciting and successful holiday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing