We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised ”

Grand Army of the Republic Memorial Museum
Ranked #30 of 70 things to do in Springfield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Our collection includes relics of the Civil War but highlights the membership and work done by the Grand Army of the Republic (G.A.R.) and their auxiliary, the Woman's Relief Corps (W.R.C.). Visitors to the museum receive a brief description of what the museum is and what you will see. You have the option to view the displays and read the interpretive panels on your own or receive a guided tour complete with additional descriptions and more in-depth commentary. Depending on the date of your visit, special exhibits may be on display.
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for anything civil war related and decided to stop here and enjoyed our talk with the curator of the museum. He was very knowledgeable and explained why some things this museum are known for aren't historically accurate items that he double checks things and I appreciate his honesty and learned about these processes. Yes it's small but it has a lot to offer tourists. Learned about the mission of the Grand Army and the woman who work in the organization now and the good they do for soldiers and the cemetery dead. It wouldn't take long to visit and it's across the street from popular sites

Thank 676ginak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"civil war artifacts"
in 2 reviews
"lincoln sites"
in 2 reviews
"gar"
in 10 reviews
"curator"
in 2 reviews
"organisation"
in 3 reviews
"history"
in 6 reviews
"house"
in 3 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

I've lived in Springfield, Il. most of my life and have driven past the Grand Army of the Republic Museum for years. It wasn't until family was in town that we stopped in. Want a surprise! With the help of Bruce, Museum Director, we found two relatives that were original members for the GAR. One relative was our Great Grandfather L.W. Coe and the second was a Great Uncle A. S. Steelman. For a small museum, we spent almost 2 hours learning about our families past and our nation's history.

1  Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Museum Director at Grand Army of the Republic Memorial Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you again for visiting our museum and for the kind review. We are glad to be able to assist families find or learn more about their Civil War ancestor. It was a bonus to see that your Great Grandfather Coe was a member of the Stephenson G.A.R. Post No. 30 of Springfield!

As I recall, you were anxious to begin your quest to find where your ancestor was buried. I hope your journey proves successful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

The GAR museum is just down the street from Lincoln's home. The volunteer is very knowledgeable about the GAR. It is a very informative and interesting visit. Lot of Civil War artifacts and history. Check for times...think Th - Sa....

1  Thank Chas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Museum Director at Grand Army of the Republic Memorial Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for spending some time with us. We like hearing about your experience.

We are open Thursday, Friday, and Saturday, 10 AM to 4 PM each day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

A true gem of a museum that shouldn't be missed.! The museum director Bruce gave an excellent review of the local history of the GAR. He also was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction in finding our ancestors that had fought in the civil war. We were so excited that we spent the rest if the day looking for grave sites.

Thank vze322dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, Museum Director at Grand Army of the Republic Memorial Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed the visit. We sure enjoy sharing our knowledge and the collection with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Interesting little museum, with tons of historical mementos from the Civil War Era.
If the Civil War is of interest to you, then you will find this a worthwhile visit.

1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Army of the Republic Memorial Museum also viewed

 

Been to Grand Army of the Republic Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing