We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hekla House, Hekla Cottages
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Hella
See available hotels
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 4 hotels in Hella
23.7 km
View Hotel
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 4 hotels in Hella
24.6 km
View Hotel
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 4 hotels in Hella
24.7 km
View Hotel
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#3 of 3 hotels in Hvolsvollur
25.9 km
View Hotel
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2015

From our first communication we were impressed with this holiday let. The directions were clear as to how to get to the cottage, yes there is a 20 minute drive from Route 1 and it is partly a gravel road but this road is maintained really well and is an easy drive in summer conditions. The cottage's location by the river has stunning views in every direction, a partial view to Hekla in one direction and views to Bursfell in the other. The cottage was lovely and warm when we arrived - in fact we turned the aircon unit down to 21c! Everything was in really good condition, the hob top kettle boiled very quickly and the rest of the kitchen was well equipped - the only thing we missed was a teaspoon or two. The bathroom was clean and modern with some towels provided. The 6 person hot tub was fantastic, sheltered from the wind and great for a soak after a hard day's sightseeing. In Hella - 20 minutes back on the main road (route1) there is a supermarket, a vinbudin (alcohol shop) and a lovely coffee & cake shop with free wifi. We also loved the municipal swimming pool in Hella with its hot pots, Jacuzzi and waterslides for the children. From this location we visited Thingvellir, Geyser & Gulfoss on one day and the waterfalls at Seljandafoss and Selfoss, Soleimajokull glacier and Vik on another day - each day was within a 2 hour drive of the cottage. Our favourite day was using our 4x4 to visit Landmannalaugar and swimming in the hot stream there, again a 2 hour drive (the final 25km on lava field 'gravel' roads). All in all a fantastic holiday in a cottage that puts you in the heart of the real Iceland.

  • Stayed: July 2015
    • Service
4  Thank Hardman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015

On arrival through the deep snow was glad the cottage was warm, during our stay we did feel cold in the main living area and so plugged in the extra oil heaters (positioned in the corner) this didn't work and tripped out the electrics. Too much clutter everywhere, leaving very little room for your own possessions. The cooker was temperamental and one of the rings didn' t work, which took some time to realise. Cutlery was lacking only having 1 teaspoon! We got stuck in the snow in our 4WD on a couple of occasions but were lucky a farmer in his tractor helped to pull us out. I did feel that the distance from the main road should be clearly explained. Very difficult getting in and out of the hot tub, we had to pick up my 11yr old daughter to put her in (small set of steps would be useful) This was our last accommodation on our trip round Iceland we had stayed in 4 different places and this cottage was my least favourite. I agree with other reviews that it only requires a little time and TLC.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 690amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

I must write an honest review as that's what is fair to other people planning to visit.

The location was quite a drive from the main road but in a 4x4 wasn't a problem.

When we arrived we found the place to be unclean. There were no cleaning supplies so had to go out and buy our own.
Mattresses were stained with dirt on them, hairs and various other loose specs of dirt, needed a good shake down, pillows and duvets very stained too. Beds were comfy.
We had no bedding or towels even though we'd paid for these upon arrival.
We found no phone number of contact details to contact anyone so this became very stressful having to drive back to the main road to the sign post and call a phone number there. The person answering the phone didn't seem to be relevant to the phone number on the sign posted and gave me another number to call, this one didn't seem to be correct either so was given another phone number, the matter seemed to be resolved.

We went out on a 25 minute drive there (and 25 back) to get cleaning supplies and when we got back the 'towels' and bedding had arrived. Smelling clean (yet rather old/shabby looking) we were thankful. However the towels were an issue.
We were left 5 small hand towels to use between a group of 6, meaning we now had to go on another trip to buy towels which proved to be very expensive. You don't want to get out the hot tub without something to wrap around you in the winter months!

The hot tub.
Found to be very unclean. Floating hair and hair ties on the water, seats were slimy and felt like algae was growing in the bottom.
The hot tub was cold and only 1 night decided to work out of the 7 day stay.
I'd called the phone number for help, twice. Yet nobody came to fix it.

We found the place to be very cluttered with little space to put belongings. The pictures show it as being very tidy but we didn't find it this way. Each surface, tablets had clutter on it, books, candles, lamps, candle holders, paintings/pictures, ornaments. Even in the bedroom (shows in the picture) there's a chair that seemed to have stuff dumped on it so there was no place to put your own things beside the bed. The bedrooms had storage boxes in them taking up room.

Seating area.
The sofas were extremely uncomfortable. One totally worn so you almost fall through the middle of it the other hard as stone so you got quite a painful shock if you sat down quickly.

The Kitchen:
Small teething problems, sharp knives weren't very sharp making it difficult to prepare food, the can opener was not functional. There's no kettle to boil water so everything takes time boiling on the stove. (Could have brought travel kettle but you'd expect one in a fully equipped kitchen).

Perfectly fine, everything functional. (Just needed a good clean).

Heating was fine, kept rooms toasty if doors kept shut.
Power did trip out though when several appliances were being used at once.
Light bulbs were out in certain rooms and needed fixes.
The air con unit upstairs was very noisy.

Just a final summary, all these above issues are so easily fixable.
It would be helpful if a phone number was provided for assistance in case of emergency or any other problems occurring with the property.
The place needs some TLC and a little money spending on it.
Give it a good clean up, get rid of the clutter, new sofas, new bedding and towels and you've got a wonderful, wonderful little cottage.

I would definitely like to re-visit one day!

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Service
6  Thank TravelWithMe15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Where on earth so I start? Firstly yes you can see the Northern Lights from the house in fact you can pretty much see them anywhere if the skies are dark and clear enough for it, just look to the north. Which is why I think the house is positioned as it is, the rear of the property points towards the North which means excellent hot tub northern lights viewing!

The location is fantastic and the directions given where spot on, we did get lost driving in the dark in thick snow, but retracing our steps and keeping a keen eye for the illusive sign we missed we found the house. The road to the property is not a bad as some suggest, yes parts of it and the final 1 mile is gravel but a lot of the roads in Iceland are like this, it is almost a compacted gravel substance. But I do agree in winter you must have a 4X4 or an AWD car as we did as any wrong moves and you may/will get stuck!

The house was clean and tidy when we arrived although you do clean yourselves when you leave unless you pay for a cleaning service. It was very warm when we arrived as the heating was set to 23c, I don’t know what the previous reviewers problems where? But I suspect that the power may have tripped when they arrived at some point? Our hot tub was amazingly hot a toasty 39.5c on arrival so no issues there.

The BBQ was put to good use again a fantastic experience cooking chicken and burgers in my onesie in the snow, I will remember that as will my other half and the pictures! Going back to the hot tub it is wonderful, very warm and we had no issues with the power tripping with all the jets on.

On the area of power tripping there was an issue with having too many appliances on and upon turning on the microwave after about 30 seconds the power would also trip, I suspect this is because of the addition of the hot tub on the existing wiring already installed causing an overload on the circuit?

The house was decorated I believe quite tastefully, almost Scandinavian with the frills and flowers and multiple ornaments dotted around, but light up some t-lights and place them in the dozen holders scattered about and the house becomes a romantic getaway.

We did not use the beds upstairs as it was only the two of us but we feel it may have been a bit too noisy up there with the air con unit buzzing when the blower is on. Which is one of the few things that let this little house down. It can be quite noisy and some people will find this offensive during their stay.

We brought our own bedding/ duvet/ pillows and I am glad we did as the old bedding is horrible very dirty and desperately need chucking and replacing! We also brought our electric blanket which was perfect. Although the rooms where very warm with their independent electric heaters.

We brought a sim cad from the duty free shop just before you collect your bags, and I must say what a brilliant investment, they only had Vodafone but for approx. £12.50 you got 5GB of data which was perfect for setting my phone up as a hot spot and watching TV and browsing the web (due to lack of Wi-Fi).

Now the negatives?

Guy’s if you’re reading this? Please pop down to the house and give it some TLC there are a few spot lamps missing bulbs (one wonders if this is because of the circuit overloading), and the rear door has no key? Which is a pain as you must leave the door open when using the hot tub otherwise it is a long cold walk around the side of the house in your swimwear!

Other than this I can’t fault it, hence the 4 stars. If anyone has any questions of would like to know anything we would be more than happy to help just message me.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Tguzzrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2015

We stayed for 5 days in an attempt to see the Northern Lights, although they didn't show we did not regret staying at this beautiful place. The Cottage is well equipped, warm, and the hot tub is luxurious! If you want to be in the middle of no where, this is the place to stay! The only downfall is that we were told we didn't need a 4x4, but there was snow and we got stuck! If you're driving a smaller car, you'll need to leave it on the main road (only if there has been heavy snow)and walk to the house which only takes 15mins. Halldor did arrange for a housekeeper nearby to help us out with our luggage when we got stuck. Amazing, good value getaway.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Natasha_Warner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews