We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
111
169
43
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
169
43
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews town square great location free parking bed and pillows marina area hotel is located our night stay overlooks the sea comfortable hotel rooms are modern a bit overpriced local pastries plastic cups coffee machine choice of restaurants breakfast spread walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 341 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Our 3 night stay here could not have been better. Mariella, Ivan and the other desk staff were stellar in answering out questions about restaurants, sights and airports details.
The hotel is in a great location - right on the square above the waterfront and just steps from the town center where the whole population comes out at night for an evening stroll, some conversation and a gelato. There is some parking directly in front of the hotel and the it was easy to find using GPS.
The lobby has a bar and a dining room where a good breakfast buffet is included. The rooms are very large with safes, good closet storage and nice sized bathrooms with hair dryers. We had rooms facing the small courtyard which was great for peace and quiet at night and for naptime. The front rooms face the sea and the square which I am sure of full of nightlife during the summer season. Wifi was free and worked well.
The town center is just 5 minutes away and has great bars, restaurants, shopping and pharmacies. In the evening the whole town comes out for a stroll to see friends and have a gelato. Is was charming. We found a little bar in front of the city park and had Apro spritzers every afternoon.
The seafood is excellent but we were surprised at how good the steaks here are as well. And the Sicilian wines and beers went down nicely as well.
The location of the hotel is near the fort, the town square, and the fishing-yacht harbor. It is also an great base to explore the hilltop village of Erice, the salt estuaries near Marsala, the Greek temple and amphitheater at Segesta and the city of Palermo.
This hotel and town in now in my top 6 world-wide. DO NOT MISS IT.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank teamseattle4511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlMadarig, Direttore at Hotel Al Madarig, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear teamseattle4511,
thank you for your kind words about your experience in Castellammare del Golfo.
We are very proud to have such excellent guests as you are and hope so much to have the pleasure to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Came here for a week with my brother in law. Rooms basic but bed comfortable and nice view over the piazza. Shower has good pressure but temperature is inconsistent needing constant adjustment to compensate for other users on the same floor robbing the hot water! Poor sound insulation in the rooms not so much from the outside but between adjacent rooms. I could hear the man next door to me peeing and my brother in law could here the man in the room next to him snoring!! Corridors a bit echoey especially if your Italian neighbours six rooms down decide to have a room party at 1:15 am with the door open!!

The staff were all very welcoming and helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Very efficiently arranged car hire for us and gave us discount cards for some of the local shops and restaurants.

Breakfast was adequate with the usual cold meats and cheeses together with a variety of sweet cakes and croissants. There was always and egg option varying from scrambled, poached and a kind of frittata. However this tended to run out towards the end of service and you had to be a bit pushy to get more provided. Cereal options were relatively limited consisting of cornflakes, coco pops and a very sweet musli. There was always fresh bread and sliced loaf which you could toast. A coffee machine provided a variety of coffee options and there was always an urn of American coffee. The real disappointment was the fruit on offer. This consisted only of oranges and some fairly dubious looking apples. Considering there was a market across the road from the hotel selling a wide range of delicious fresh fruit this is inexcusable. There was always enough but you are left with the feeling that they could do better. Would I come back again? Probably not.

The town provides a good range of restaurants but there is very little in the way of shopping. The surrounding area has some interesting spots to visit but driving in Palermo is not to be recommended. Use your phone sat nav as signposting is virtually non existent!! There are some nice beaches nearby but the little bay adjacent to the hotel is untidy and uninviting. In addition it can only be reached by a series of steep steps. The harbour area is pleasant with a variety of restaurants providing fresh fish menus and the usual pasta and pizza offerings. We have had a pleasant experience but will not return to this part of Sicily.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank robocor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We spent three nights in this comfortable hotel. The staff were extremely helpful. We had the only bedroom with a bath but having seen inside other rooms the shower facilities looked adequate enough. The morning breakfast buffet had a good selection of food and there was a coffee machine which dispensed all manner of excellent varieties on instantly made coffee in an Italian machine.

Room Tip: There are “superior” rooms which just mean that you have a view onto the main square rather than onto an inside courtyard.
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank catoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

I’ve been to this hotel several times. Location, location, location. Great staff, clean rooms, on street & off street parking. Brill.

I say quiet only because it’s February. Castellammare del Golfo is heaving with people in summer.

Great place to be anytime of year.

If you’re booking in the high season, book early & insist on a sea view room. Leave it too late & you won’t get it.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlMadarig, Responsabile reception at Hotel Al Madarig, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Mr Joseph
we were very pleased to read your kind words about our hotel.
You are always welcome to stay with us when your travels bring you this way.
Best wishes from all the Staff.
Al Madarig***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

I stumbled on this hotel because I couldn't find a place to stay further inland where I was working (Sicily doesn't have an abundance of hotels outside tourist areas) and it was a lucky find. It's on a piazza that overlooks the sea and with lovely views up the coast, with several restaurants and bars nearby. I was there in winter, but there seemed to be a variety of swimming options within walking distance. Parking was easy, but again not sure if that's because it was winter. My room was super clean and comfortable. The breakfast spread is very good for Italy. The free wifi worked well. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Castellamare is one of those somewhat messy Sicilian towns that grows on you as you explore its nooks and crannies.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcopolo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlMadarig, Responsabile reception at Hotel Al Madarig, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear Marcopolo1964
Thanks for your kind words. Our location is really as you painted. We are in the historical center and just few steps far from the harbor. Around us you find the tipical Sicilian Restaurant or some places where to tast “pane cunzato”, “sfincione”, etc. thanks for your experience at Al Madarig Hotel*** with your special souvenir about our breakfast, our room and our staff.
You are always welcome to stay with us when your travels bring you this way.
Best wishes from all Al Madarig Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews