We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order the omelette ”

Casa del Barco at Canal Walk
Reserve with OpenTable
Casa del Barco at Canal Walk is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #111 of 1,763 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Residing in the restored Italianate Building at The Locks on the historic Canal Walk (formerly the Reynolds North Plant), Casa del Barco is Richmond's singular destination for authentic Mexican cuisine. Beverage Director, Michael Avery, has compiled the most extensive stock of tequilas in the region - over 120 varieties to entertain the palate. From rare Anejos to robust Reposados, the selection is sure to impress the novice as well as the most cultivated enthusiast.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Nice venue and interesting location. From time seated to food served the wait was 90 minutes which was way too long—especially for children. Quality of food was poor (especially the Cuban and children’s meals). Custom made omelettes were good and ready very quickly which meant some of our party finished 30-45 minutes before the rest of the group was served. Waitstaff and bar staff pleasant.

Thank Flogan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Housepitality F, Director of Sales at Casa del Barco at Canal Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry that the food service was slow, and that the quality of the food was poor. I have shared your comments with the Management and Chef. We appreciate your feedback and learning where we can improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2018

I hosted a surprise party for my wife at this location and everyone had a wonderful time. The staff was very professional from the first phone call to closing the final tab. The food was amazing as well. This is definitely a restaurant I look forward to visiting in the future.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChrisW5495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Housepitality F, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Barco at Canal Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your wife's special day and that the food and service were both excellent. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Arrived for lunch at 12:30 PM and was told we’d have to wait with the other patrons waiting as they didn’t have enough staff to serve customers. Hostess said she’d seat as the waitstaff could handle or when more people showed up to work. Odd they wouldn’t offer anyone a seat somewhere or suggest patrons sit at the bar. Hostess was over it and male host who later showed up was too confused to know what to do.

Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Housepitality F, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Barco at Canal Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear about your wait and experience at the host stand and would like to learn more. If you would be willing to share some additional details with us such as the date of your visit and if the host was able to get you seated please email us directly at feedback@casadelbarcova.com. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to make a better impression in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

My brother and wife were visiting from NC and he is a tequila aficionado. Casa del Barco has the largest tequila selection I’ve found in Richmond. We made dinner reservations for 6:30 on a Saturday and my son and wife joined us for a party of 6. We arrived a few minutes early and were seated promptly at a large booth near a leaky window. Unfortunately it was very cold outside and my wife was very uncomfortable. The restaurant brought us over some towels to stuff around the window but they weren’t too effective. We then made a barrier out of my coat and a couple of menus and that seemed to make it tolerable.

Service was slow all night. We ordered margaritas but the system for customizing it with your favorite tequila was convoluted. You could order a small or large margarita, you could upgrade from a mixto tequila to a 100% agave tequila for $3. If you picked a tequila you paid that tequilas price plus $5 to make it a margarita but then it was small margarita. If you weren’t careful you could unexpectedly make a $25 large margarita which is only 16 ounces served in a beer glass full of ice. Make this easier!

Our food was not your standard Tex-Mex or Mexican but was pretty good. Among the group we had pork, chicken and chorizo empanadas, shrimp fajitas, a chorizo tamale, chorizo tacos, and the seared scallops chefs special. We enjoyed our food but again service was slow.

Getting our checks and issues with the restaurants credit card machines took a solid 45 minutes.

We got our parking validation and went back to the Troutman Sanders building we had come out of and the doors were locked. The guard signaled us to walk around so basically in the frigid weather we walked the perimeter of the parking garage and then walked up the three ramps we drove up 2.5 hours earlier. The validation tickets worked fine and we were released from the garage.

This was our 2nd trip to Casa del Barco. I’m going to need a pretty good reason to go back.

Thank edvh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Housepitality F, Public Relations Manager at Casa del Barco at Canal Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of Casa del Barco. Your comments have been shared with our management team, including our Maintenance Crew who have checked on the seal around the window. We appreciate learning where we missed the mark and where we need to improve. I'm very sorry you were disappointed in the in your visit, especially in the service that you received.
I am glad that you enjoyed your food.
We hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Located in a really cool place on the canal. Great design and atmosphere. Taco Tuesday has great beer and taco specials. I'll be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roadhore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Housepitality F, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Barco at Canal Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for sharing your feedback with us. We're glad that you got to enjoy Taco Tuesday with us and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa del Barco at Canal Walk also viewed

 

Been to Casa del Barco at Canal Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing