We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 5th visit, and never fails to enchant and inspire...”
Review of Hotel de Gletscher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Gletscher
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Hotel de Gletscher is a rare gem in the Italian Alps, with a unique combination of an extremely nice family running the hotel, an excellent chef preparing great food, and a top-location on one of the slopes of the Aosta Vally in the Italian Alpes. You can literally take your skis out of you personal locker (one provided per room - operates on the room key) , walk 10 meters from the front door, and ski down to Stafal village where you can choose from skilifts providing access to the whole area. True elegance and grace throughout the hotel, in the wellness center with sauna, steam bath and lounge chairs, and also present in the dealings and conversations with the Perego family. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome, inspire you to enjoy and relax, and help you out in any way, even if this means digging out your car from 50 cm's of snow at 7.00 am on the day you're leaving (thanx again 'San Marcello' !)
So once again, I cordially recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to enjoy the pleasures of skiing and basking in the warmth of the Italian sun and/or friendly culture.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancescaPerego, Proprietario at Hotel de Gletscher, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Your comments only inspire our answer to invite you here the 6th, the 7th, the 8th ...
Thanks for all : the care, the attention, the happiness you brought, those definitely put out in the group of "the guest we love".
Yours truly, all of us, from Hotel De Gletscher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2017

This hotel is fabulous. Francesca and Marcello the owners are really friendly and hospitable and go out of their way to make you feel very welcome - their English is great too.

The rooms are comfy and spotlessly clean. By ski lodge standards they are a good size too.

The communal seating area is a bit tight when the hotel is full but this encouraged the kids of numerous nationalities to join in card games together.

Food as other reviewers have commented is amazing - simple local dishes freshly prepared.

Skiing was good - and there was snow unlike most places in the Alps! Wind confined us to the Gresonney valley on a few days but Monterosa ski area is great.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamGreen40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancescaPerego, Proprietario at Hotel de Gletscher, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2017

And we honoured to have here the Green-Team ! Thanks for visit, we've had great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

An absolutely delightful and welcoming hotel – a real gem set amongst a great snow playground.

We (2 adults / 2 young kids) have just returned from a 4-night stay in this little corner of the Italian Alps. This was a last-minute trip and every element of our stay from the initial enquiry to our departure was faultless.

The rooms (we had a double and a twin) were well appointed, clad in wood and clean. The bathrooms were also very spacious, modern with plentiful hot water at all times.

The bar was well stocked with a good variety of wines (including a couple of cracking reds), beers and spirits – we used the cosy bar area every evening to chat to other families, play board games etc.

The ski locker is spacious with individual lockers for each room – there’s also a small but welcoming wellness area (very modern and clean).

Breakfast on offer was mainly continental but always with an option of freshly prepared eggs – I particularly enjoyed the scrambled option.

In my view though, 2 things set this hotel apart :

Dinner was absolutely stunning – simple but freshly prepared, varied and well presented. You can choose from a choice of 3-4 primi and 3-4 secondi dishes at breakfast. In addition, there’s a fantastic starter buffet of roast vegetables (artichokes were a highlight), salads, cold meats etc and desert to finish with.

Francesca and Marcello, are the most hospitable hotel owners and hosts you will ever come across. They treated everyone as guests to their own house and we certainly felt that way. Not intrusive at all, just friendly, welcoming and helpful.

We don’t normally tend to ski in Italy (we normally spend our ski holidays in Canada, France, Austria and Switzerland) but hope to be back in the Monterosa region and the Gletscher soon.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frangos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancescaPerego, Proprietario at Hotel de Gletscher, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

What else ? thanks ! thanks !! thanks !!! Hoping see you soon with a ot of snow ... foreseen on a short :-) Un saluto da Gressoney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Stayed here a week whilst skiing in the fantastic Monterosa area. Nice and very clean rooms. Excellent food, both breakfast and dinner. Having a vegetarian with us was no problem at all. The owners secured that every meal would include one or more vegetarian alternatives
The wellness area/SPA is very nice with steam sauna, normal sauna, showers with different aromas, foot spa and comfortable seats where you can sip infusion Tea.
For a skier the hotel is convenient. There us a large room in the basement with lockers for ski boots, shelves for helmets and hooks were you could hang your ski gear. We could ski straight up to the hotel at the end of the day, ski-in ski-out.
Fransesca and Marcello, the owners, were extremely friendly, helpful and social. They drove us to the ski-rental place the first day, gave us useful and very interesting information about the Gressoney area and helped out whenever needed.
You feel like being at home in this hotel and once you have left you miss it.
I can truly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MNISweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gletscher, Proprietario at Hotel de Gletscher, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Great having you here ! Guests as you let us feel so happy and glad that providing a service become so easy. Thanks or yr visit thanks for yr stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my bf for 7 days and spent NYE here. This boutique hotel is owned by the loveliest couple in the world, Francesca and Marcello, who are key to making this hotel so special. I had one of the most memorable and enjoyable New Years here despite the lack of snow on the slopes because of this hotel, Francesca and Marcello. The hotel is extremely clean, warm and cosy. FOOD - there's a good selection for breakfast (hours are flexible and dependent on when you want it so if you wake up early like we did then they will have breakfast set out and ready for you). The dinner is fantastic. We dined out once and found out the food here was the best in the area (people not staying at the hotel would come here to eat here) and we dined here every night. I miss the food even now! SERVICE - amazing. After a long day on the slopes we'd come back and Francesca would have got drinks and cookies ready for us (they have delicious hot chocolate) to unwind. They also have a zen and tranquil Turkish spa. It's custom that people would go in unclothed but I wasn't comfortable with that so Francesca very kindly would tell me whenever it was empty for me to use and allow me to lock the door behind me. For couples who fear children (like me, I usually stay in hotels that don't allow young children) you can be assured that the owners' children are extremely well behaved and polite. It was actually a delight to spend New Years with their family. And because of the lack of snow we weren't able to hit the slopes in our skis right from the hotel so every morning Marcello or Francesca would drive us down (only 2 mins away) to the slopes. Ordinarily you can ski to and from the door of the hotel though. FACILITIES - the hotel and the rooms are extremely warm and cosy, furniture etc are new and the bath towels are so fluffy and new. The showers always run hot water as soon as you turn them on. The best though are the duvets which are equal in quality and comfort to those in The Savoy. I wanted to take them home with me!!! There is Wi-Fi but unfortunately it's not very reliable which however turned out to be a good thing since that meant my bf and I were less on our phones and spent more time conversing with ourselves and other guests. Despite the lack of snow this year which made the actual skiing a bit disappointing (although there's usually a lot of snow this time of year) staying in this hotel made the 12 hour flight here from HK worthwhile. I can't recommend it enough. And I cant forget how wonderful it was to stay there. We will definitely be returning and staying in this hotel next time!!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank May P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gletscher, Proprietario at Hotel de Gletscher, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Dear May, what can we say ?! Only waiting for you next tiem here hoping it'll be on a short. All the best from Italy - Gressoney - Hotel DE GLETSCHER. See U soon !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gressoney-la-Trinite hotels
3.1 km away
Romantik Hotel Jolanda Sport
Romantik Hotel Jolanda Sport
#1 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
405 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Monboso - TH Resorts
Hotel Monboso - TH Resorts
#6 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
154 reviews
0.2 km away
Ellex Hotel
Ellex Hotel
#3 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Chalet du Lys
Chalet du Lys
#5 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
320 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#2 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
328 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Nordend
Hotel Nordend
#8 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Gletscher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Gletscher

Address: Loc. Tschaval 28, 11020 Gressoney-la-Trinite, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressoney-la-Trinite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Gressoney-la-Trinite
Price Range: RM384 - RM1,249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Gletscher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing