We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,375)
Filter reviews
3,375 results
Traveller rating
1,111
1,263
631
231
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,111
1,263
631
231
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviews temple bar cafe delos swim up bar sea view the bus private beach animation team main restaurant big hotel indoor pool sea front plenty of choice half board breakfast and dinner the air conditioning large balcony time share
Filter
Updating list...
879 - 884 of 3,375 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2015

I recently had a couple of treatments at the beautiful Myoka Spa at the Dolmen Hotel. The staff are really helpful and friendly, all the facilities are excellent, the prices are reasonable for the treatments given and full use of the other spa facilities like the indoor pool is included. It was overall an excellent and very relaxing experience and I will definitely be going back for more treatments. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We first came across this hotel in 2010 but did not get chance to visit until September 2015. It was worth the wait. The bedrooms and public rooms are spotlessly clean, the staff are very friendly and the amenities worthy of its 4star rating. The food in the main restaurant is tasty with plenty of choice. We liked to sit near the window and look over the sea while we were eating. Lunch and afternoon tea can be taken in Café Delos which is great as it overlooks the sea and the pool. Its a great place to sit and have a drink or two on a hot afternoon as the air conditioning is very effective. There are plenty of shops nearby and Bugibba is a 5 minute stroll away. We took an organised trip to Comino & Gozo, well worth the 30 Euros.

Room tip: Rooms 404 & 406 do not have balcony's or patio doors to sit outside but as there is plenty of outdoor seating it was not a problem to us.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lutherlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Dear Lutherlover,

Thank you for taking the time to place such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor.

We do our best to provide our guests with a pleasant and comfortable experience as your satisfaction is of utmost importance to us. Rest assured that the entire Dolmen team is only too pleased to make your stay with us an Exceptional one.

Your comments are truly appreciated by the team and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again.

Thank you once again and best wishes,
Roberta Camilleri
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

First impressions of this 4* hotel were ok. The lobby itself was inviting, modern and clean but it more or less ended there. Our room on the 2nd floor had a view of a palm tree about 10’ away and the perimeter walls of the hotel grounds. We did make friends with a family of feral cats though who had made their home just under our window - fine for us cat-lovers but probably quite annoying if not. The room was basic with a minimal amount of storage for a weeks stay for two people. We had asked for a double bed and had two singles pushed together with the duvets tucked in tightly between them. Tried using it as a double bed and the beds slid across the floor leaving my husband on the floor, and he was lying fairly still! The bathroom door has to be seen to be believed. It was frosted glass that just swung open both ways and to enable this to happen about an inch gap all round it. Private it definitely isn't. The bath/shower was also a problem as the bath was so tiny. My husband tried out the bath and couldn't even straighten his legs properly let alone lie back in it. The air conditioning didn't work. We reported it immediately (along with a broken toilet seat) and were told in a very patronising way that we must keep the door closed. I told them that we had set it properly and did know how air-conditioning worked! Anyway, the following day it appeared to be slightly cooler although definitely not great. We felt that it would have helped if we could have had it on when we were not in the room but once you take the key and leave then all electric supplying the room is cut (except the fridge). On our last morning we were discussing the air conditioning with the people in the next room. Their’s had been working well for the whole stay, except it was a bit noisy - we didn’t hear ours at all so we were really uncomfortable the whole week. The toilet seat was repaired within an hour.

By the way, although a laundry bag is provided and it says that it can be dropped off at reception before 9am for pick up that day, I took one down at 8.30 on the Saturday morning and was told that it would have gone at 8am anyway but there is no pick-up at the weekend and was told to take it to the local laundrette, a good 15 minutes away and this was just before we were due to leave on an excursion. However it was no good as it closes at 1pm and we were not due back until 5pm

The main restaurant was hopeless. It was a self-service buffet style for every meal. There was plenty of choices, especially at breakfast, but the food was always cold (even on the morning they opened early for our group as we were leaving early) and illogically laid out (portions of butter we eventually found with the salad, nowhere near toast, rolls, jams etc) so we couldn’t find anything we wanted. The food itself was not great and I’m not really the type to complain but with this cold food served on cold plates and then several minutes to try and find a table - well we only dined in there twice and that was because the meals were part of the package! The staff though were pleasant and cleared the tables as fast as they could and the scrambled eggs were quite nice (although cold) The meals in the café were better because they were cooked to order, but just basic café type meals, sandwiches, burgers and so on. There was also a restaurant/bar by the pool which we didn’t try out.

St Paul’s Bay itself does not have much going for it - noisy bars and restaurants and a picturesque marina. Although we loved Malta we would not recommend St Paul’s Bay or the hotel to anyone.

Room tip: Not a room facing the perimeter wall like 254!
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank alisonife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Dear Alisonife,

Firstly allow us to thank you for your feedback which is very much appreciated and has certainly warranted our sincere attention in order to fully address the issues you feel necessary to highlight.

Guests' comments are always taken into deep consideration to constantly help us improve our services. Rest assured that all your comments have been well noted and investigated with the respective managers.

We would like to further express our gratitude to you and your partner for your continued support in providing this feedback.

We sincerely hope that we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back.

Always at your service,

Warmest Regards,
Roberta Camilleri
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We visited Malta and the Dolmen Hotel for the first time in September and were very impressed by both.
Malta is a most interesting country with Megalithic Temples and numerous artifacts, buildings and works of art dating from the time of the Knights of the Order of St. John including The Beheading of St John by Caravaggio in St. John's Cathedral in Valletta.
Amazingly the Maltese people have retained their language and identity in spite of the numerous invasions of their islands and those that we met were most helpful and friendly.
We found the Dolmen to be a wonderful hotel. When booking we mentioned that it was our 45th wedding anniversary and were pleasantly surprised by the bottle of bubbly in our room and we got one of the best rooms in the hotel no. 271. All of the staff we had contact with were most friendly and helpful. A special word for that lovely lady, Josephine, who introduced us to receptionist, Sandra, whose mother came from Co. Tipperary and who was most helpful to us in every way. Also Silvia in the restaurant who had a welcome smile for everyone and bubbly Gaby, of the animation team who added atmosphere to the entire complex.
The facilities in the Dolmen including the swimming pools, sandy perched beach and entertainment were first class.The hotel is kept spotlessly clean and the meals were as good as buffet meals come.
Well done Dolmen and staff. We look forward to another visit in the near future.

Room tip: Sea view room with a view of the Neptune pool is best.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Seamus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Dear Seamus T,

Thank you for sharing this experience with fellow travelers.

We are happy to read that you had a great time and a great stay at the Dolmen Resort. We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your comments and mention our colleagues for their professionalism.

Thank you once again for your positive comments and we look very forward to welcome you back to the Dolmen Resort.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta Camilleri
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

We have been so many times to the Dolmen that we have lost count. Just returned from 2 weeks in September, great time again weather amazing, Hotel staff brilliant as usual. We have known the standard of the food to be better in other years, but there is such a lot of choice, everyone such be satisfied.

Room tip: sea view and balcony
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Dear Swaddy,

Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback that you have very kindly placed on Trip Advisor and shared with fellow travelers.

We are so pleased that you were satisfied with the service and facilities that you experienced during your stay at the Dolmen Resort.

Thank you once again for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta Camilleri
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews