We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Santana(St. Paul's Bay)
US$145
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Topaz Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
US$109
US$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dolmen Hotel Malta(St. Paul's Bay)
US$261
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Central Suites(St. Paul's Bay)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Arzella Rooms(St. Paul's Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cosmopolitan(St. Paul's Bay)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,494)
Filter reviews
1,494 results
Traveller rating
281
558
353
165
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
558
353
165
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalexis meylaqself cateringguest relations managerheritage trailroman roadmini martbus stopxemxija baystudio apartmentreception staffquiet locationbus servicewinter breakcar hirevisit maltarelaxing holidaylocal buses
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 1,494 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We have just returned from a relaxing 2 week holiday at these apartments. Admittedly the outside of the building does need a brush up but it is the inside which is more important we feel. The staff were excellent, nothing was any trouble. Our apartment was huge, having booked a studio we were put into a one bed with a sofa bed in the lounge and were delighted with the facilities. The apartment was clean, we could have clean towels every day if we wanted them, it was great not to have cleaners going in every day, they come in every 4 days, change the beds and towels and clean once a week which suited us as we could relax and lie in if we wanted knowing that we were not going to have to rush to get out for cleaners to come in. The apartments are up a side road from the main road so nice and quiet and the pool is great, lovely and clean, and plenty of sun beds a few are without back bars to position them, but they are placed against walls and this was no problem for us as there were plenty in the sun and ample shading from static umbrellas. A good selection of lovely restaurants within walking distance and as well as the Hotel mini market a couple of further ones again within walking distance. The Heritage site roman road is well worthy a visit just up the road. This is a 3 star Hotel and for the price and rating it is good value for money. We would go back.

Room Tip: We had a room to the rear which looked over to the hills we could see the harbour and had sun all day on our balcony which was great.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Joyce,

Thank you for your kind review and for choosing our Porto Azzurro Aparthotel for your recent stay in Malta.

We make every effort to ensure our guest's expectations are exceeded and I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your personal experience and acknowledge our efforts. It is indeed a great honour to get comments like yours.

We are very pleased to read that your stay was comfortable and that you have enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including the studio apartment and the service quality, and we are delighted to hear that you will be returning to us.

Once again, we thank you for allowing us the opportunity to be your choice hotel while visiting Malta, and we thank you for your patronage. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back very soon and ensuring your next visit is another relaxing experience. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, should you need a booking assistance.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

I had booked this hotel via jet2 holidays and after reading reviews on TripAdvisor became a bit worried I had made the wrong choice, and in truth I properly did! I could go on and nit-pick of how awful this place is, but rest assure its not that bad, the staff are as pleasant as anywhere else nobody stood out to me! the room itself was a bit dated, but clean and had a new bathroom fitted the balcony was tiny but was an economy room (thanks jet2) The view was superb but possibly pot luck in witch room you get. Air con was always on any time I needed it, if not big fan will keep you cool although a bit noisy. Breakfast was ok for European fair ,bacon was yum. I've read somewhere on trip advisor Porto azzurro needs Gordon Ramsey! the guests are eating and drinking elsewhere witch is a shame lovely pool bar area only thing I had was pizza tasted great! and by the looks of the food going out looked ok to me.the wee Irish bar was never open when we there and the pool table is closed at 19.00? no background music or entertainment ? overall its a place to put your head at night with no frills

Room Tip: the higher the better
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Okay,so the hotel does look a bit tired...exterior could do with a paint, reception area is okay but the lounge area needs up dating. Having said that we were greeted on arrival by Joanna who was very polite and informative on every aspect of our holiday. We had a self catering apartment on the 2nd floor which didnt have a very good view but then we spent the day light hours out so it wasnt a problem to us. The room was clean, bathroom clean & bedroom /bedding clean...a big tick from us! We had no problems getting a sunbed around the pool which was never crowded and the bar/restuarant was also good. St.Pauls bay is a quiet area so you do need to travel but with the bus stop just down the hill and bus fares €2 per person to go anywhere it was a good way to see the island. Not many eating places near the hotel but we did find munchy monkeys very good value for money. Our first time in Malta & would go back again but stay somewhere with a bit more buzz but our stay was good!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Guest Relations Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Porto Azzurro Aparthotel and for taking the time to write a review.

It was very pleasant to know that you enjoyed your vacation with us and that we were able to provide you with a relaxing stay. In addition, I am happy to read your compliments of the warm hospitality extended to you by our entire team especially Joanna at the reception.

We thank you for staying with us.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

I was looking forward to our holiday in Malta after we had heard so many good things but our choice of Hotel booked through a reliable source and had decent reviews sadly let it all down.
We booked a one bedroom apartment and also asked if we could secure a sea view. We could at a cost of 140 euros (10e per day). On our arrival the hotel exterior seemed dated and in need of some loving care but was in keeping with the area. Staff were friendly at the reception and on signing in were soon asked for the 140 euros for the sea view payable on arrival. we were given keys to room 312. The room had no sea view at all and overlooked the backs of other private apartments and rooms which wasn't a good view. I went back to reception to complain and was informed we would be moved the following day ( Sunday) and to see Alexis on Monday? and offered a lame excuse that they thought the money was for the one bedroom instead of a studio which we soon put them right on and showed our bookings and subsequent emails to the hotel for a seaview. we had one night in a grotty dark room that was unclean, had rusty implements, a rusty microwave, two hot plates but no cooker, a rusty fridge but no ice box, a shower that hadn't been descaled in years so just dripped. A sofa bed you couldn't sit on due to the discomfort and balcony furniture that was plastic dated and very very worn. WE put up with it and were glad when Sunday came and we moved rooms to room 508. The room was a little better and we were told its a superior room that was timeshare. Sadly the hotel overestimates what is superior. We did arguably get a seaview over the roof tops but it was the corner of the bay (St Pauls bay) and the sea itself could not be seen. The apartment still had major faults like the dirty microwave, rusty cutlery, rusty fridge but no ice box , a greasy table ( we had to buy scourers to get it usable). old dated balcony furniture same as the previous room. loose bath fittings, cigarette burns in curtains, just a two ring burner but no cooker and the one ring out of the two was collapsing into the surface. The room cleaners only came in 3 times in two weeks but even then didn't clean floors or wipe down mirrors splash backs in shower etc. The Shower was again useless as it had not been descaled and the shower glass was corroded at the metal support. We even had to empty our own bin and take to the hotel basement. The TV remotes were free on payment of a 10 euro deposit, The safe was 2 euro per day plus a 10 euro deposit for the key. pool towels were 50 cents and 5 euro deposit ( get the picture) The pool supposedly the hotels was sold off we were told and the hotel just had use of it, but even then the pool beds were broken old and unsafe ( I fell through one by lying down on it. The new pool/ bar owners sold tickets to use their pool for non hotel guests so it was down luck to get a sun bed and a miracle to get an unbroken one especially so at weekends. It really was a fawlty towers set up ( actually it wasn't that good) we tried on 3 separate occasions to see Alexis but we always seemed to ask to see her when she wasn't in on that day. Pretty strange that as she was the customer relations manager. Its supposed to be a 3* hotel but after 40 years of travelling around Europe the second and third stars were probably glued on. To top it off a dirty mattress was left propped up the wall outside our room for our last 4 days of the holiday

Stayed: September 2017
7  Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent stay with us and for pointing out issues which have influenced your overall impression of the hotel.

We were genuinely astonished to read your review. I can with certainty assure you that any of the issues you have experienced with your room was not in any way a standard occurrence. When we make a mistake, we try to rectify it during the guests stay (as discussed in a private message with you). What has happened and why I was not informed about the room issue, during my office hours I still cannot say. However, we took action on the matter.

We thank you for your understanding and for accepting the full refund (in the private message) for your room upgrade. Please contact me again should you need any clarification on the above.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Got an upgraded room after first night thanks to Madeleine xxxx Never had any bother or trouble. The hotel was ok it has its little niggles. For us we had a lovely holiday. It is a bit out of the way but Bugiba is a short bus journey away but last bus back is at 10.30 otherwise 20 euros for a taxi home. Thanks again to the Maltese sun ,Malta and Porto Azzurro for a memorable time all our love John & Ellen xxx

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear John and Ellen,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for taking the time to share your experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, that our facilities, the room you and your wife occupied, while on your honeymoon, were to your liking and you may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to our team, especially Madeleine.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Porto Azzurro Aparthotel.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews