We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Porto Azzurro
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santana(St. Paul's Bay)
US$110
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolmen Hotel Malta(St. Paul's Bay)
US$153
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$97
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Primera Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
US$66
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Qawra Palace Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
US$88
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$91
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gillieru Harbour Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
US$984
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Salini Resort(St. Paul's Bay)
US$237
US$230
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Central Suites(St. Paul's Bay)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,458)
Filter reviews
1,458 results
Traveller rating
272
547
345
161
133
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
547
345
161
133
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalexis meylaqself cateringguest relations managerheritage trailroman roadmini martbus stopxemxija baystudio apartmentreception staffquiet locationbus servicewinter breakhired a carpoolside barvisit maltafresh towels
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 1,458 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2017

My dive buddy and I recently returned from two weeks in Malta. We stayed in the Porto Azzurro which turned out to be an excellent choice, well situated for us, with all the local amenities we needed. While not specifically a diving hotel it is well situated for divers and non-divers alike.

I started out in a single room for a couple of days until my dive buddy showed up. It was clean, had basic kitchen essentials (bar fridge, hot plate etc.) and was reasonably priced. As a single traveler it would have been adequate for me.

When my buddy arrived we moved into the penthouse suite. We wanted personal privacy but chose it for the ocean views and the extra peace on the top floor of the hotel. Pricing was competitive with the one and two bedroom suites elsewhere in the hotel.

It only had one bedroom which went to my buddy and I was more than comfortable on the futon in the living room. It had a fully equipped kitchen (full fridge, stove, dishes etc.), two TVs and two full bathrooms, so while we were 'sharing' the suite, we actually had our own space.

The panoramic views of the bay and the valley from our enormous wrap-around patio were as advertised. In fact all the images on the web site are accurate as to the hotel and surroundings.

Being on an active bus route, trips to the Gozo ferry, Valletta, the Old city of Mdina or anywhere else on the island are convenient and cheap. We used the buses frequently and found no need to rent a car.

The 24 x 7 front desk staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Travelling from the west coast of Canada, arriving and leaving at different times our travel arrangements were a bit complex. Our sole contact was Alexis Meylaq, the Sales and Guest Relations Manager. She made our reservations and planning simple.

The Porto Azzurro is not in the center of 'the action' and not as new as some of the more expensive or more modern hotels downtown. But if you are looking for value for money, solid local amenities, accessibility to anywhere on the island of Malta, then Porto Azzurro definitely deserves your consideration.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a full kitchen if only to handle breakfasts and snacks. Local stores have everything you need to stock it.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Les,

We thank you for allowing us the opportunity to be your choice hotel while visiting Malta, whilst coming all the way from Canada.

We are delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, that our facilities, the rooms you and your buddy occupied were to your liking, and that we were able to provide you with a delightful stay, while on your diving holiday in Malta.

We will be more than happy if you decided to return to our Porto Azzurro hotel as our valued Guest. All the best for 2018!!

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

I have already booked my next trip for next month! I am a seasoned solo traveller, now use a walking stick. I was treated with great kindness at every turn..I booked direct and got a great rate and free return airport transport and Harbour cruise..thanks Alexis..all staff and especially Joanne, front desk, who met me and went over and above to oblige.Away from the main road so very quiet, located at the bottom of a hill but managed very well with my stick, bus stop to rest of Malta just at the bottom of the hill, less than 5 minutes easy walk.Easy transport to Melliha and Goza and best of all, everyone speaks English, as in the whole of Malta...

Room Tip: Lifts to all floor so very accessible, small shop on-site, with helpful staff
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Marie,

Thank you for your lovely review!

We were pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your valuable feedback. Your comments have been shared with Joanne.

Thank you again for your review, and we are looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

We have been to Malta on lots of occasions staying in various parts and accommodation, we had a two bedroom apartment, it was clean, spacious and well equipped, everything you needed. This is a quieter part of Malta... being a little way from the bustle and busyness of Bugibba, lovely to get to the the North of the Island. One of the receptionist... Madeline?? I think she was called, was friendly, helpful and cheery, one other.... not so, especially when we arrived.
My only criticism was the breakfasts, we ate out the rest of the time. I appreciate that different people expect/like different things, but for three of us out of a party of four, we were disappointed ! It was a bit drab, not a great selection of things and not very appetising. I think a re-vamp of the restaurant may make it a bit more pleasant, it’s very much in need of some attention. I would use it again, but as self catering.

Room Tip: ours was fine, over looking pool in quiet season
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank LunaC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Luna,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our Porto Azzurro Aparthotel.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that your overall stay with us was enjoyable, that our facilities, the two bedroom apartment you occupied, was clean, spacious and well equipped, and to your liking. We also thank you for your constructive comments in regards the breakfast selection at the restaurant, which I shared with the relevant department heads.

Once again, we are pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and to hear that you will be returning. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next visit in order to arrange all your accommodation request prior to your arrival. All the best for 2018!!

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

I have been to Malta several times before and have never been disappointed.
On this recent occasion, November 2017 we opted for accommodation away from the hubbub of Bugibba a little further along the Bay of St Paul to Xemxija.
Although out of season & the hotel was full, not surprising given the location, the quality of the accommodation, & the cost. I would add, not luxurious but clean and spacious with all of the facilities one would need, including free WiFi in the lounge area.
The apartment has an adequate small kitchen for those who wish to prepare a meal, however for our part we did not use this other than a cereal breakfast & pot of tea, after all being on holiday is the time to explore & let someone else cook.
On the subject of cooking, four evenings out of the stay of seven nights we ate in the basement restaurant / bar of the hotel and were quite content with the food, see picture of the skewered meet dish.
Throughout the staff were charming & extremely helpful.
There is a small mini market on the ground floor with most basic needs.
The swimming pool & bar are across the carpark but as it is out of season we did not use it, however the pool was excellently maintained, there is an indoor pool & spa located on the basement level.
Location, there is first come first served car parking or the favourite is the Malta bus service with stops one minute away, one journey is 1.5€, ticket valid for 2.5 hours & expiry time is printed on the ticket.

Room Tip: As this is a very popular hotel best book early & select a room of your choice or take pot luck
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear David,

We thank you for allowing us the opportunity to be your choice hotel while visiting Malta and for taking the time to share your experience.

It's a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your self-catering room and the encounters with our team. We will happily pass your lovely comments to our team members about room cleanliness and hotel facilities, since comments such as yours, it is what definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the high level of service excellence, thanks to the teamwork commitment that make our guest feel welcome.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and if you’re travelling to Malta again soon, don’t hesitate to call us directly in order to arrange all you request prior to your arrival. All the best for 2018!!

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

This is the second time we stayed at port azzurro this time we book direct with Alexis Meylaq @ port azzurro in October we found it so easy booking with Alexis
The hotel is dated but very clean the front desk staff are very helpful and friendly the apartment was well equipped for all your self catering needs very clean and spacious
Local transport, beautiful local area great place for walkers
Will be back again at this hotel next year
Rose

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rosemarie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear Rosemarie,

Thank you very much for staying with us, for your kind feedback and for highlighting our service.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay, the self-catering room you occupied was to your liking and that we were able to provide you with a warm welcome.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit in order to arrange all you request prior to your arrival. All the best for 2018!!

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews