We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deception of location - Beware ! ”
Review of Porto Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Azzurro
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel was sold as a 3* in St Paul’s bay. By no means is this in St Paul bay or a 3*.. The hotel is actually in Xemxija and if you look on the map is out of the way and a half hour bus ride to any life.
The Hotel and rooms are very outdated.
The plug socket in the bedroom was less than useless.. it was so close to the table you couldn’t get a plug in. So this left us with one socket in the kitchen area. All the sockets appear to have been covered over. Can’t charge your phone over night in the bedroom. And for the ladies that want to straighten their hair near a mirror.. forget it, again no plug. We asked for double bed and got twin beds and although we pushed them together there was no point they just slid apart. There are no windows in bedroom so it’s very dark. I also had to beg them to change bedding after 4 days. Never had to do that before. The tv has only 2 English channels and the signal was poor. You also have to pay a refundable €10 to obtain remote for tv.
We were on the 5th floor which had a lovely view of the bay but the lift only fits 2 people in I was in fear of it breaking down whilst in it.. and only went to floor 1 to 5 as it was broken. If you think you can go out around Xemxija think again.. there is nothing around here. We walked half hour one way then the other and not a bar in sight. Unless your desperate and want to use hotel bar which only sells CANS of beer and nothing on draught ! And charge a fortune. The staff in reception were less than helpful. We only wanted to know bus times but was told to go look.! This was whilst she was stuffing her face, I must have interrupted her. Oops sorry for that.
The toilet on reception floor wouldn’t flush, I told the staff and was told there’s a special knack to it.. fabulous news if you want someone else to flush your waste..!! At best this is a 2*.
I will say Malta has a fantastic bus service and you can get about easy enough and the tickets last two hours for return free of charge. Hiring a car is best. They drive on the right same as England so is easy. Parking is a bit of a nightmare though and watch for cars just pulling out on you. No curtesy over here.! No indicators either.. Buggiba is dirty and very run down and out dated. St Julian’s and Sliema are much better, as is a visit to Valetta.
Definitely do your homework before coming here to Porto Azzura I wouldn’t want anyone else to be disappointed like we were.. even an old couple staying here said they thinking of cutting their 2 week break to go home early.. we were lucky and escaped after 1 week.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank WendyA19722593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed for a week between Xmas and New Year
Contacted the hotel before leaving and asked for a room high enough up to get a view, and was allocated room 413 overlooking the bay. Would suggest that others do the same, as lower levels have no views. The rooms overlooking the bay can get a little noisy as main road is close, the rooms on the other side overlook the pool and the countryside.
The hotel is on Xemxjia Bay, close to bus stops to get around the island, but would recommend hiring a car, especially as there is nothing close by.
The outdoor pool was closed but looked OK, the indoor pool looked OK, but small. The dining room is in the basement so no view, we had breakfast but felt done to budget, cheapest sausages, bacon was just about cooked, eggs seemed to be powdered, but there was plenty there, was also meats/bread/fruits
The cleaning was done once when we were there, and apart from emptying bin, changing sheets and towels could not work out what else they done, ie the floor was not swept, basins not wiped, also when they do the rooms, they slam the doors, which sounds through the hallway.
The supermarket at the hotel is very expensive, there is one at the bottom of the hill to the right, that is much better priced, but would recommend Pama Shopping centre/Lidl or Scott's
We had an one bedroom apartment which was a good size, had a double bed, en suite bathroom with bath and small seating area with French doors, which you could close off from rest of apartment, the rest of the apartment had the kitchen, double bed sofa, table and chairs, and bathroom with shower, this room lead to the balcony.
The kitchen had everything need to self cater, small fridge with tiny freezer compartment, but enough pans/plates etc
You have to buy your own washing up liquid etc, they do supply small hand soap and two sachets of shower gel and two of shampoo.
The staff are either excellent, Madeline and Andrew or on the point of being downright rude, we went to get the remote for the two Tv's (one in main room and other in bedroom) and because you have to pay a €10 returnable deposit the reception staff said she could not give us the remote as she had just done the petty cash.




Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Susan,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for giving us your feedback.

We are pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and appreciate your constructive comments and for highlighting our service based on your recent stay.

We regret that a member of our staff did not meet your expectations and didn't make a good first impression. However, as you have mentioned in your review, all other staff in Porto Azzurro were friendly and polite. Thank you for complementing Madeline and Andrew, your compliment means a great deal to them and to all of us.


Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

My wife & I are enjoying a two week break in the Porto Azzurro. It is not 5 star but it is extremely friendly, clean & comfortable. We are in a one bedroom self catering apartment and it has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. If you want to eat in the hotel the food is excellent, reasonably priced and plentiful. The mini market within the hotel is well stocked and again very reasonable prices.
I would like to thank the receptionist Rachael for being so kind and also to Alexis the manager for arranging my booking direct and organising free shuttle to and from the airport with a free harbour cruise also thrown in.
Well done “Porto Azzurro” stay here and you won’t be disappointed. Take the bad reviews with a pinch of salt.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear James,

We thank you for taking the time to write your feedback and for allowing us the opportunity to be your choice hotel while visiting Malta.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, that our facilities, the room you and your wife occupied were to your liking and
you may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the
various Departments of the Hotel especially Rachael.

We are also so very happy to know that our guests appreciated and enjoyed our gift when booking directly with our hotel, which is a free airport transfer and a free harbour cruise. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit in order to arrange all you request prior to your arrival.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

I had the displeasure of staying here for 7 nights. I booked through a budget travel agent. The hotel does not deserve three star.

They have no great facilities. The jacuzzi does not work and the indoor pool area door is broken and hard to open. The lift and location of it is very inconvenient. The lift makes a mechanical metal clunking sound. It’s very old and need a a service. The lift space is rather small. Three people can not fit in with luggage barely two people without could fit in.

I was put in a room right next to the lift so I heard it every time. There was also the problem with noise. The walls are too thin. I had to complain in numerous occasions as people were having their parties in their hotel rooms.

Oh the fact that I had to pay for a remote for three channels only was even worse.

This hotel needs a revamp.

The bar and restaurant are the only good things.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Joana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Joana O,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We took on board all your comments. The indoor pool area door has been fixed and in a few weeks time, we are refurbishing all 3 lifts and new bathrooms on the hotel side. Please note that a deposit of €10 was made for the remote and given back on check out.

Nevertheless, we assure you that your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we continuously strive to improve our product and services. In case that you will be returning, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

well situated on Xemxjia Bay, close to bus stops to get around the island. Pleasant enough pool area. Rooms functional in the extreme. We stayed 2 months in an apartment, very bare and basic. Cleaning twice a week. Bare necessities of cutlery, crockery, pots and pans. Wifi absolutely AWFUL - everyone congregating in the lobby to get a half way decent signal. Staff very friendly indeed and sympathetic, but not much they can do if the owners are not willing to spend some money on the place for some much needed repairs and upgrades. Will I ever go back - NO!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
5.4 km away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,099 reviews
6.3 km away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.2 km away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,706 reviews
3.7 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 km away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: RM 97 - RM 409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Azzurro. The Porto Aparthotel, a family run Aparthotel in Xemxija Bay, is prominently situated overlooking the picturesque St.Paul's Bay with breathtaking views of the Maltese countryside. The resort apartments and hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. The main towns nearby are Mellieha, St Pauls Bay and the tourist resort of Bugibba. The sandy beaches of Golden Sands and Mellieha Bay are less than 3 kilometers away. The hotel's apartments are stylish and comfortable and provide a luxurious base for a truly relaxing holiday. All the apartments have a bathroom or shower en suite, air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen complete with a microwave oven, television, safety deposit box and direct dial telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing