We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,557)
Filter reviews
1,557 results
Traveller rating
299
580
363
173
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
580
363
173
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alexis meylaq self catering guest relations manager heritage trail roman road mini mart xemxija bay bus stop studio apartment reception staff quiet location bus service winter break irish bar fresh towels poolside bar visit malta
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 1,557 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed for a week between Xmas and New Year
Contacted the hotel before leaving and asked for a room high enough up to get a view, and was allocated room 413 overlooking the bay. Would suggest that others do the same, as lower levels have no views. The rooms overlooking the bay can get a little noisy as main road is close, the rooms on the other side overlook the pool and the countryside.
The hotel is on Xemxjia Bay, close to bus stops to get around the island, but would recommend hiring a car, especially as there is nothing close by.
The outdoor pool was closed but looked OK, the indoor pool looked OK, but small. The dining room is in the basement so no view, we had breakfast but felt done to budget, cheapest sausages, bacon was just about cooked, eggs seemed to be powdered, but there was plenty there, was also meats/bread/fruits
The cleaning was done once when we were there, and apart from emptying bin, changing sheets and towels could not work out what else they done, ie the floor was not swept, basins not wiped, also when they do the rooms, they slam the doors, which sounds through the hallway.
The supermarket at the hotel is very expensive, there is one at the bottom of the hill to the right, that is much better priced, but would recommend Pama Shopping centre/Lidl or Scott's
We had an one bedroom apartment which was a good size, had a double bed, en suite bathroom with bath and small seating area with French doors, which you could close off from rest of apartment, the rest of the apartment had the kitchen, double bed sofa, table and chairs, and bathroom with shower, this room lead to the balcony.
The kitchen had everything need to self cater, small fridge with tiny freezer compartment, but enough pans/plates etc
You have to buy your own washing up liquid etc, they do supply small hand soap and two sachets of shower gel and two of shampoo.
The staff are either excellent, Madeline and Andrew or on the point of being downright rude, we went to get the remote for the two Tv's (one in main room and other in bedroom) and because you have to pay a €10 returnable deposit the reception staff said she could not give us the remote as she had just done the petty cash.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank susanw293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Susan,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for giving us your feedback.

We are pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and appreciate your constructive comments and for highlighting our service based on your recent stay.

We regret that a member of our staff did not meet your expectations and didn't make a good first impression. However, as you have mentioned in your review, all other staff in Porto Azzurro were friendly and polite. Thank you for complementing Madeline and Andrew, your compliment means a great deal to them and to all of us.


Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

My wife & I are enjoying a two week break in the Porto Azzurro. It is not 5 star but it is extremely friendly, clean & comfortable. We are in a one bedroom self catering apartment and it has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. If you want to eat in the hotel the food is excellent, reasonably priced and plentiful. The mini market within the hotel is well stocked and again very reasonable prices.
I would like to thank the receptionist Rachael for being so kind and also to Alexis the manager for arranging my booking direct and organising free shuttle to and from the airport with a free harbour cruise also thrown in.
Well done “Porto Azzurro” stay here and you won’t be disappointed. Take the bad reviews with a pinch of salt.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear James,

We thank you for taking the time to write your feedback and for allowing us the opportunity to be your choice hotel while visiting Malta.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, that our facilities, the room you and your wife occupied were to your liking and
you may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the
various Departments of the Hotel especially Rachael.

We are also so very happy to know that our guests appreciated and enjoyed our gift when booking directly with our hotel, which is a free airport transfer and a free harbour cruise. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit in order to arrange all you request prior to your arrival.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

I had the displeasure of staying here for 7 nights. I booked through a budget travel agent. The hotel does not deserve three star.

They have no great facilities. The jacuzzi does not work and the indoor pool area door is broken and hard to open. The lift and location of it is very inconvenient. The lift makes a mechanical metal clunking sound. It’s very old and need a a service. The lift space is rather small. Three people can not fit in with luggage barely two people without could fit in.

I was put in a room right next to the lift so I heard it every time. There was also the problem with noise. The walls are too thin. I had to complain in numerous occasions as people were having their parties in their hotel rooms.

Oh the fact that I had to pay for a remote for three channels only was even worse.

This hotel needs a revamp.

The bar and restaurant are the only good things.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Joana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Joana O,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We took on board all your comments. The indoor pool area door has been fixed and in a few weeks time, we are refurbishing all 3 lifts and new bathrooms on the hotel side. Please note that a deposit of €10 was made for the remote and given back on check out.

Nevertheless, we assure you that your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we continuously strive to improve our product and services. In case that you will be returning, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

well situated on Xemxjia Bay, close to bus stops to get around the island. Pleasant enough pool area. Rooms functional in the extreme. We stayed 2 months in an apartment, very bare and basic. Cleaning twice a week. Bare necessities of cutlery, crockery, pots and pans. Wifi absolutely AWFUL - everyone congregating in the lobby to get a half way decent signal. Staff very friendly indeed and sympathetic, but not much they can do if the owners are not willing to spend some money on the place for some much needed repairs and upgrades. Will I ever go back - NO!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for for taking the time to share your experience.

I am pleased to inform you, that we have new lifts and new bathrooms in our hotel rooms. Wifi is free at the lobby area however if one wants internet in the room, Wifi vouchers can be purchased at the reception.

We thank you for staying with us and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit in order to arrange your booking requests prior to your arrival.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Run down and shabby, needs lots of TLC. Reminded me of my first holjday abroad in the early 1980's. Old fashioned rooms and very dated. Jet 2 seem to get allocated the worst rooms and the bed linen only get changed once in 7 days.! It seems you get better rooms and service if you book direct with the hotel. The shop is way overpriced, i would recommend the nearby supermarket just a short walk down the hill. I would not return or recommend this place, there are much better out there. Malta is beautiful..Porto Azzurro is not! I dont usually leave negative reviews but I honestly struggled to find any positives with this place. Book elsewhere and avoid the disapointments we had. This place does not do jet2 any favours. Any questions please feel free to ask.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kris1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are disappointed that your visit with us was not as pleasant as we all would have liked.

We would have been more then happy to address any challenges that you encountered during your stay with us should we had been given the opportunity to meet with you and address such points accordingly. Having said that, one has to keep in mind that we are a 3 star hotel.

In case that you will be returning to Porto Azzurro, please do not hesitate to contact me on alexis@portoazzurro.com.mt

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews