We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dolmen Hotel Malta(St. Paul's Bay)
US$196
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gillieru Harbour Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
US$167
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Topaz Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$93
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Damiani Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Arzella Rooms(St. Paul's Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Cosmopolitan(St. Paul's Bay)
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,517)
Filter reviews
1,517 results
Traveller rating
286
566
356
167
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
286
566
356
167
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalexis meylaqself cateringguest relations managerheritage trailroman roadmini martbus stopxemxija baythe penthouseone bedroom apartmentquiet holidayreception staffbus servicewinter breakhired a carpoolside barvisit malta
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 1,517 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

Just came back after the holiday in Malta. We didn’t spend a lot of time in a hotel, but we did enjoy the reception staff, bar downstairs was fine, food was good, but just be careful when you order spirits. The guy in a bar didn’t asked we wanted single or not, and charged us 10e per one gin and tonic which was quite shocking. We had some issues with a room. We found hair and crisps in bed when we arrived. But although, it was changed on a same day we asked. I should mentioned that despite the fact that we did order just a simple room we got the room with the self catering facilities, witch was very kind. All in all, you might be waked up at 9:30 because the cleaning ladies will shout next door for half an hover, you can find things that you will have a right to complain about and I’m sure they will do everything to fix it and make it better for you, but in a conclusion, we payed such a low price that we don’t feel like we actually have a right to complain about anything. Good memories only. Thank you for the holiday!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cizaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and for your positive feedback about our hotel.

We are very happy that your stay was a positive experience and that you enjoyed your time with us. We also appreciate your constructive comments, which I have shared it all with the relevant department heads.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and for your review. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Porto Azzurro Aparthotel, when travels bring you back to the area.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

I stayed at the Porto Azzurro in October. I have stayed here on seven other visits.As usual the staff were helpful and friendly. The room was very good ,but the view was not. Later I was chatting with Alexis Meylaq,she asked me about my room,one hour later I was given a pool view room.Customer service with style.

Room Tip: Pool view is best
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Donald,

Thank You for your kind comments you have shared here on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your time with us at Porto Azzurro Aparthotel in Malta and that you enjoyed your room.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit in order to arrange all you request prior to your arrival.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel was sold as a 3* in St Paul’s bay. By no means is this in St Paul bay or a 3*.. The hotel is actually in Xemxija and if you look on the map is out of the way and a half hour bus ride to any life.
The Hotel and rooms are very outdated.
The plug socket in the bedroom was less than useless.. it was so close to the table you couldn’t get a plug in. So this left us with one socket in the kitchen area. All the sockets appear to have been covered over. Can’t charge your phone over night in the bedroom. And for the ladies that want to straighten their hair near a mirror.. forget it, again no plug. We asked for double bed and got twin beds and although we pushed them together there was no point they just slid apart. There are no windows in bedroom so it’s very dark. I also had to beg them to change bedding after 4 days. Never had to do that before. The tv has only 2 English channels and the signal was poor. You also have to pay a refundable €10 to obtain remote for tv.
We were on the 5th floor which had a lovely view of the bay but the lift only fits 2 people in I was in fear of it breaking down whilst in it.. and only went to floor 1 to 5 as it was broken. If you think you can go out around Xemxija think again.. there is nothing around here. We walked half hour one way then the other and not a bar in sight. Unless your desperate and want to use hotel bar which only sells CANS of beer and nothing on draught ! And charge a fortune. The staff in reception were less than helpful. We only wanted to know bus times but was told to go look.! This was whilst she was stuffing her face, I must have interrupted her. Oops sorry for that.
The toilet on reception floor wouldn’t flush, I told the staff and was told there’s a special knack to it.. fabulous news if you want someone else to flush your waste..!! At best this is a 2*.
I will say Malta has a fantastic bus service and you can get about easy enough and the tickets last two hours for return free of charge. Hiring a car is best. They drive on the right same as England so is easy. Parking is a bit of a nightmare though and watch for cars just pulling out on you. No curtesy over here.! No indicators either.. Buggiba is dirty and very run down and out dated. St Julian’s and Sliema are much better, as is a visit to Valetta.
Definitely do your homework before coming here to Porto Azzura I wouldn’t want anyone else to be disappointed like we were.. even an old couple staying here said they thinking of cutting their 2 week break to go home early.. we were lucky and escaped after 1 week.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WendyA19722593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We took on board all your comments. We never advertise that we are in Bugibba, we are situated in St. Paul's Bay, Xemxija. There are a few restaurants nearby and the bus stop is just 2 minutes away.

Nevertheless, we assure you that your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we continuously strive to improve our product and services. In case that you will be returning, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed for a week between Xmas and New Year
Contacted the hotel before leaving and asked for a room high enough up to get a view, and was allocated room 413 overlooking the bay. Would suggest that others do the same, as lower levels have no views. The rooms overlooking the bay can get a little noisy as main road is close, the rooms on the other side overlook the pool and the countryside.
The hotel is on Xemxjia Bay, close to bus stops to get around the island, but would recommend hiring a car, especially as there is nothing close by.
The outdoor pool was closed but looked OK, the indoor pool looked OK, but small. The dining room is in the basement so no view, we had breakfast but felt done to budget, cheapest sausages, bacon was just about cooked, eggs seemed to be powdered, but there was plenty there, was also meats/bread/fruits
The cleaning was done once when we were there, and apart from emptying bin, changing sheets and towels could not work out what else they done, ie the floor was not swept, basins not wiped, also when they do the rooms, they slam the doors, which sounds through the hallway.
The supermarket at the hotel is very expensive, there is one at the bottom of the hill to the right, that is much better priced, but would recommend Pama Shopping centre/Lidl or Scott's
We had an one bedroom apartment which was a good size, had a double bed, en suite bathroom with bath and small seating area with French doors, which you could close off from rest of apartment, the rest of the apartment had the kitchen, double bed sofa, table and chairs, and bathroom with shower, this room lead to the balcony.
The kitchen had everything need to self cater, small fridge with tiny freezer compartment, but enough pans/plates etc
You have to buy your own washing up liquid etc, they do supply small hand soap and two sachets of shower gel and two of shampoo.
The staff are either excellent, Madeline and Andrew or on the point of being downright rude, we went to get the remote for the two Tv's (one in main room and other in bedroom) and because you have to pay a €10 returnable deposit the reception staff said she could not give us the remote as she had just done the petty cash.




Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Susan,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for giving us your feedback.

We are pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and appreciate your constructive comments and for highlighting our service based on your recent stay.

We regret that a member of our staff did not meet your expectations and didn't make a good first impression. However, as you have mentioned in your review, all other staff in Porto Azzurro were friendly and polite. Thank you for complementing Madeline and Andrew, your compliment means a great deal to them and to all of us.


Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

My wife & I are enjoying a two week break in the Porto Azzurro. It is not 5 star but it is extremely friendly, clean & comfortable. We are in a one bedroom self catering apartment and it has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. If you want to eat in the hotel the food is excellent, reasonably priced and plentiful. The mini market within the hotel is well stocked and again very reasonable prices.
I would like to thank the receptionist Rachael for being so kind and also to Alexis the manager for arranging my booking direct and organising free shuttle to and from the airport with a free harbour cruise also thrown in.
Well done “Porto Azzurro” stay here and you won’t be disappointed. Take the bad reviews with a pinch of salt.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear James,

We thank you for taking the time to write your feedback and for allowing us the opportunity to be your choice hotel while visiting Malta.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, that our facilities, the room you and your wife occupied were to your liking and
you may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the
various Departments of the Hotel especially Rachael.

We are also so very happy to know that our guests appreciated and enjoyed our gift when booking directly with our hotel, which is a free airport transfer and a free harbour cruise. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit in order to arrange all you request prior to your arrival.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews