We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“missing a few touches”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Qawra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Club Riza Aparthotel
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Been several times to this hotel and now fittings etc are looking in need of up dating especially electrical like tv and hairdrier(would have been state of the art in the 70s!)however staff are very friendly and helpful plus cleaning seemed to go on none stop.Downside was no proper on site bar/restaurant plus side the pool facilities and location.Views from rooms variable.

Room Tip: ask for room over looking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 513russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

Been to the Riza on a number of occasions. In need of an update. No restaurant on site now, only pool snack bar and no Bar for relaxing drink at night!! Had The staff are still helpful and friendly. Not happy with the location of our appartment

Room Tip: Anything but 211
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Echt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We went as guests of a friend member and for what we paid we cannot complain, even though we were in a very small studio apartment, with very dated cooking equipment. Generally however problems were dealt with when we asked. There are some oddities - they provided two frying pans but we were not allowed to cook in them with fat, and had to ask for another pan if we wished to do so. Also I broke a drinking glass (there is nowhere to put it by the fold down bed except on the floor...) and was charged 2.50 for it. The pools were very refreshing at the end of a hot day. However there was a dog with an extraordinarily loud bark kept in a yard near to our room and it disturbed us (and set all the dogs in the neighbourhood off) intermittently day and night. We didn't complain as it was nothing to do with the hotel and when our friends arrived in an apartment a distance away, the racket still cut through the air. The only solution I'm afraid is .... not to go there again! So be warned!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GMR_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed beg of Sept for 2 weeks. Have been going to Riza for quite a few years now but it really needs the apartments updated with new furniture. Part of A2L so unsure how or who gets our £800 annual maintenance fee but the balcony had insects crawling into the holes of the walls where they had burrowed. The beds continue to be narrow single beds that are very basic, no probs with cleanliness of apartment or the maid service but i did look at the mattress towards the end of holiday and have attached the photo of one of the mattresses in our room. Riza apparently has a 4* rating but not sure it still is. The poolside 'restaurant and bar' is terrible. The food is awful and served in plastic bowls as is the drink ( even if sitting at a table). The 'George Cross' bar is now a childrens centre but it was never open anyway so no great loss, would have been good to have a proper bar open in evenings for residents. Have let A2L know of thd issues but the Riza really needs to up its game if its to remain a pleasant place to stay as it once was.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank whusarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

The waterfront is barely 2 mins on foot, and it just stretches mile after mile of fun and relaxation. The Club itself is very nice and clean with very helpful staff. Of course, it is not Club Med -- does anyone expect it to be?. Nice clean comfortable and spacious accommodation. The view from the balcony isn't great, though I could spy the waters sparkling just metres away. Highly recommended.

Of course, my first recommendation would be to stay in Valetta -- up in the older part of town. But if you are not, then stay at the Club Riza.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Probal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.4 km away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 km away
Park Lane Aparthotel
0.2 km away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,872 reviews
0.1 km away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
772 reviews
0.1 km away
Club Salina Wharf
Club Salina Wharf
#9 of 15 in Qawra
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Riza Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Riza Aparthotel

Address: Rizzi Str., Qawra, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Qawra
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE RESORTClub Riza provides a uniquely friendly and tranquil atmosphere with easy access and high standards of cleanliness. Guests can enjoy the many on-site facilities which include indoor and outdoor pools and Jacuzzis, sauna and spa facilities, fitness room, snooker room, bar, restaurants and a launderette. This is an established holiday destination with a great choice of bars, cafes and nightlife. Small rocky beaches and the picturesque harbour of St. Paul’s Bay are within walking distance. The resort is much in demand by holiday guests and has excelled at achieving many Hospitality Awards.THE ACCOMMODATIONThe 68 spacious self-catering apartments are spread over three floors and are built around attractive outdoor pool areas. Almost all have sun terraces allowing full enjoyment of the best sunshine records in Europe. The units are comfortable, all are air-conditioned and centrally heated, and all have a fitted kitchen, direct dial telephone,Wi-Fi access and free cable television.THE AREAClub Riza is located at Qawra Bay close to the sparkling, blue Mediterranean Sea. Enjoy the northern area of the island with its popular sandy beaches such as Mellieha and Armier Bay, which are within a short driving distance of Club Riza. These offer a wide range of sports and leisure facilities, which include scuba diving and snorkelling. Alternatively, the centre of the island is within half an hour’s drive and here you can visit ancient tombs and temples, see the catacombs of the early Christians and enjoy the wealth of history from the medieval Knights of St. John to the World War II exploits that earned Malta the George Cross. Nowhere is ever far in Malta. A bus stop is within walking distance from the resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Riza Aparthotel Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing