We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,962)
Filter reviews
1,962 results
Traveller rating
263
494
487
354
364
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
494
487
354
364
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busbus servicerooftop terracebugibba squarebad reviewsplenty of choicefresh towelscleaned every daycleaned dailyvincekeyboard
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,962 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

My partner and I travelled to Malta to celebrate my birthday, but due to this package we ended up having the worst holiday imaginable. Upon arrival at the Bella Vista Hotel we had high hopes, these were short lived as we were welcomed by the rudest people we have ever come across. I don't understand why you need around 6 receptionists when not a single one of them held the manners or professionalism that you would find in just one, they were unhelpful and their attitude was shocking. We then made our way up to the room and it was filthy as if it hadn't been cleaned since the hotel opened, the fan was HANGING OFF THE CEILING and there was more cracks and dents than there was paint on the walls. The lock also did not lock from inside the room. We complained and were told by the manager that it was held by a "six inch bolt", yet when it was turned on it looked like it was going to come off. He also said it was strong enough that I could hang myself from it. The indoor pool and hot tub had been out of service for over 6 months, which we weren't aware of, and the sauna wasn't open either (you also have to pay for it).The breakfast was bland and we lived on bread for days, it was also a 15-20 minute walk to other restaurants so the location is terrible. This is NOT a 4* hotel, it would be generous to give it 1. We have more pictures and videos and would add them if we could but there is a limit.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ciaraannex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaCorrection, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

dear guest, we checked the CCTV footage when you arrived and other times you came to reception and it was very clear that the staff tried their best to help but you shouted at them and used offensive language even with our female staff.The manager came to your room
and explained that the ceiling fan was secure and it could hold your weight.The indoor pool was never out of order for six months.The pools were damaged due to the drilling works we had next to the hotel.We closed the indoor pool when the guests started using the pool outside.We offered to change you room but again you were rude and offensive to our staff member.We do not mind criticism as long as it is honest and truthful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

I would like to give this hotel a zero rating because we received a zero rated service. This hotel is rated as a 4 star but I have stayed in better travel lodges.The hotel is used as a student hostel during June July and august. That fact is not mentioned in any brochure. We paid for all inclusive services but because of the students the lounge bar was not manned in the evenings, there was no live entertainment in that area and it was difficult to obtain drinks. I waited 20 mins at 2 bars to be served one evening. We gave up trying to relax of an evening in the hotel and were forced to take a 20min walk to the town square to enjoy a drink and some evening entertainment. The students had an 11pm curfew and were supposed to be checked by the youth leader once they were in their rooms. This did not happen the students ran around the corridors all night banging doors etc. We asked them to keep the noise down at 2am one night and this resulted in a short lull before they decided to bang on our door at 3am waking us up.The maid did not clean our room properly and did not leave clean cups etc until after we complained. Despite being all inclusive guests we were asked to pay for tea and coffee facilities in our room at first. The hotel waived the charge after we challenged the facility. We were not allowed to have tea or coffee with our meal in the restaurant at night. When we asked we were told to get it from the pool side bar but we were not allowed to take it into the restaurant. Our room overlooked the road at the rear of the hotel and was easily accessible from an intruder via the patio doors necessitating them to remain shut and locked for the whole of our stay. We requested a room change on our first day and were even willing to pay for an upgrade but our request was denied. The pool is enclosed, very small and did not have a very attractive outlook. on previous all inclusive holidays in 4 star accommodation you only had to sit down anywhere to be offered drinks and snacks etc. This did not happen. We actually went into silema on two accessions and paid for the use of a subbed by a pool with a staffed bar to get the kind of relaxing holiday we expected. My husband has a number of health issues which were very effected by all of the issues in the hotel. During one of our complaints to the manager he was trying to explain about his medication and the effect the issues were having and was very rudely asked to shut up and get to the point. Malta is a lovely place and we have visited the island 4 times but this experience at this hotel has put me off never visiting again. All I can say about the people who left a glowing positive review they are either employed by the hotel or have never stayed in a proper 4 star hotel and enjoyed the service that should be part of a 4 star package. We did complain a number of tiles while we were there and received no satisfactory resolution. I have now complained to the tour operator. The hotel ratings (below) should all be zero but it won't let me select any option.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaCorrection, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

dear guest, we advise our agents that we cater for students in July and the first few days of August , and we close one bar in the evening.The coffee shop is still open from 08.00 to 24.00 hours serving all drinks including beer & alcohol.This outlet is manned all day
and drinks are served for 16 hours a day.I have checked about your incident regarding the medication your husband was taking. You were never asked to shut up .The manager has confirmed that he had very good relations with your husband and they often talked.
My apologies things were not up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

hotel was a nice budget hotel,I personally woudn't say it was 4 * , friendly staff ,robert was a lovely friendly guy who worked on the bar / snacks. not much information given to all inclusive , we wasn't told to ask at the shop for your tea/coffee/milk pack , so for 3 days we done without , until another guest told us to ask at shop, and we wasnt told about the snacks between 10 am and 3pm , so also missed out on them . hotel was full of school children who stay there while they learn English, so from late June - August its full of kids ,

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dawn63uk54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaCorrection, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

dear guest, we thank you for your review.We normally give guests notes showing what is included on the allinclusive and time of meals when they check in.The allinclusive information also shows the time the snacks are served.Thank you for choosing Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We have just got home from a weeks stay at this hotel.. the rooms were well spaced and plenty of room, clean and everything you need in them, room maids were lovely who made beds and cleaned daily, like little fairy’s. ( would have loved to bring one home) We were fully inclusive and with fussy eaters, the food was lovely even the fussy eaters ate plenty they even tried new foods so plenty on offer. The staff were lovely even though we had our uncle calling daily they passed many messages on.. the pool was good and has plenty of sun in the morning. Entertainment was aimed mainly at older guests, but the local town is only 15 mins walk away with a lovely park across the way. We have had a lovely stay met some nice people. The staff work some hours from breakfast till late dinner. We thank you all for our stay. Conclusion is obvious don’t judge the hotel of the reviews as generally people will only leave reviews on a whole when they have something negative to say. We will be visiting again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank izzo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaCorrection, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

dear guest, we thank you for your excellent review.We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.Glad you liked the food, and enjoyed the friendliness and hospitality of our staff.We know it is not easy to please all the guests all the time , and some guests are sometimes disappointed either with the room or the food.We do our best to give guests good value for money, and we appreciate when we get excellent reviews like yours. Thank you for choosing Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

We are in our last week of our stay at the Bella Vista. After all the negetive comments on TripAdvisor I did not want to come. However, the hotel is very clean, all the staff we have come into contact with have been helpful and kind. A lot has to do with how people talk to the staff I have witnessed a few English guest's talking to the staff like they are their own personal servents. The food is nice and you will always find something you will like. Yes you are served at breakfast and dinner but after talking to staff a lot of people pile their plates and then leave the food, if you want more just ask the staff are happy to oblige you. Staff in restaurant are very nice if you are willing to talk to them its amazing the difference it makes. We are all inclusive and it's worth every penny, bar staff are very nice and we have enjoyed the entertainment. Maltese people support this hotel so it can't be that bad and I personally like having the locals enjoying their evenings with others. Negetive points of our stay the first week there was a bunch of Spanish kids on holiday, in the main I found them entertaining especially the female teachers setting up konga lines very funny. At the moment we have very noisy students on our floor that have not learnt the concept of closing a door especially in the evening but even this has not detracted from a nice stay. Rooms are okay tea and coffee facility available free of charge at the shop, the shop is also very cheap. Fridges are provided and Internet is only 8 euro a week. Don't expect the Ritz and a champagne life style on Lemonade money. We have had a great time in Malta and the Bella Vista

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaCorrection, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

dear John, we thank you for an excellent review.We try our best to help guests in whatever problems they have, unfortunately this is not always possible and our staff end up being shouted at and verbally abused.My apologies if some youngsters were noisy during your stay.We need the support of the leaders of these groups to make sure they are well behaved.Thank you for choosing Malta, hope we can welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews