We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel which genuinely lives up to it's promise”
Review of Cortijo Valverde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cortijo Valverde
Ranked #1 of 11 Alora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2010

We were made to feel welcome from the moment we booked the holiday. Directions to the hotel were accurate, something overlooked by so many establishments. From arrival to departure all was just right, the food and accommodation were excellent, and presented in such a way that we felt truly wanted and welcome not just the recipients of a service competently delivered. We look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indefatigable5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 164 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2010

We spent a wonderful ladies' weekend at the hotel and were made to feel so welcome by Ali and Caroline. The hotel is in an enviable quiet location nestled in the hills with fantastic views of the surrounding area. The rooms are very comfortable and the catering was second to none - would highly recommend the Tapas night! It's a great location to visit either the coast or to venture inland and discover the hills and hill top towns and villages. We will definitely be back - hopefully in the summer so we can enjoy the beautiful pool. Don't bother taking a travel guide as Ali and Caroline have prepared pages of information on the local area!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWTScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We stayed at Cortijo Valverde for a week in January 2010. We had a restorative, relaxing break in spite of some inclement weather! Ali and Caroline are warm and generous hosts - the meals were excellent and they were very knowledgeable about the area. Our room, a converted stable, was very comfortable and had everything we needed. We visited Antequera, the Ardales Lakes, the gorges at Teba and El Chorro (all memorable), and were surprised by the loveliness of the old town in Malaga, even on a cold January day. This is an ideal base to explore the area, or just to relax and unwind. We're planning a spring or autumn trip next to take advantage of the lovely pool and do some serious birdwatching!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 033110e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Having visited Cortijo Valverde on two previous ocassions and knowing what a fantastic little gem it is, my husband and I suggested to 12 other friends that we celebrate New Year 2009/2010 there.
A group of 14 of us descended on Ali and Caroline on the 30th Dec 2009 and we had a fantastic time spending 4 nights with them.
Caroline and Ali are perfect hosts, they are knowledgeable about the area, the food is outstanding, locally sourced and freshly prepared and the accomodation is clean and comfortable. It is the sort of place that you feel totally at home pretty much as soon as you arrive.
The New Year celebrations were fantastic, we were served Tapas which just kept on coming !! it was amazing. We then partied on to see in the Spanish New Year and then the UK New Year one hour later and some of us partied on until 4am.
All in all we had the most memorable time - Great company, outstanding hosts in a stunning away from it all location.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loopyloo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We had a lovely break away in a delightful oasis in the hills. Spent new year with friends, cared for wonderfully by caroline and Ali. I was the veggie in the group and nothing was too much trouble, yummy dinners,lovely wines and a very peaceful environment, great time had by all.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowersstaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alora hotels
7.7 km away
Complejo Turistico Rural La Garganta
7.4 km away
Hostal Duran
Hostal Duran
#3 of 3 in Alora
38 reviews
7.2 km away
Hotel Don Pero
Hotel Don Pero
#7 of 11 in Alora
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Hidden Valley Andalucia
5 km away
Finca Rocabella
Finca Rocabella
#13 of 18 in Alora
34 reviews
4.8 km away
Fuego Blanco
Fuego Blanco
#3 of 11 in Alora
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo Valverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Valverde

Address: Apartado de Correos 47 | CTRA Alora-Antequera Km 35,5, 29500 Alora, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Alora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alora
Price Range: RM462 - RM578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Tranquil Country Hotel is only 45 minutes from Malaga Airport and within easy access of Malaga, Ronda, Granada, Cordoba, Marbella, Mijas and Costa-del-Sol. The amazing El Chorro Gorge, walking trail Caminito del Rey and the beautiful Ardales Lakes are only a short drive away. The wondrous El Torcal is a mere 40-minutes drive through the magnificent A343 road to Antequera. Our Small Country Hotel near Malaga in Rural Andalucia, is a very special place. We have outstanding views of the surrounding countryside providing that special vacation destination for either a restful holiday, or a base from which to explore the many treasures that Andalucia and Inland Spain have to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing