We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful holiday with wonderful food and delightful company.”
Review of Cortijo Valverde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cortijo Valverde
Ranked #1 of 11 Alora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Situated in a beautiful part of inland Spain just a short drive from Malaga and within easy reach of the Costa Del Sol, Antequera, Ronda and many beautiful and interesting places. We hired a soft top BMW mini and had a wonderful time driving around the winding country roads of inland spain in hat and sunglasses admiring the breathtaking scenery and barely another vehicle on the road! We have visited Cortijo Valverde three times now and will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jpix123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 158 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2010

If you are wanting an idyllic holiday in beautiful tranquil surroundings then this has to be it! Set in the rural hills of Andalucia it has superb views, and just listening to the sound of the bells as the goat herds return from the hills in the evening transports you to another world! The food was delicious and Ali was a marvellous host. Unfortunately Caroline was in the U.K. A car is a must to get about and Ali was extremely helpful with all the information we needed. We had a wonderful holiday and hope to return some day.
Winnie and Stephen
Aberdeenshire,Scotland

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

I have seen the other reviews and agree with them all. Ali and Caroline are excellent ,unpretentious hosts and one of the highlights of our stay for me was the evening dinner hosted by Ali and Caroline with other guests, in our case from England, France and Belgium. We expected to have a delayed departure due to Volcanic ash and they went out of their way to help rearrange things if necessary but in the event it was not necessary.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

My daughter and I stayed at Cortijo Valverde for 4 nights, during the first week in April.
The whole experience was AWESOME, thanks to Caroline and Ali- the most gracious
B&B proprietors. The interaction with the other guests, combined with the continuous
parade of fresh food entrees, appetizers and deserts, served on one large "community"
dining room table captured the true essence of what a perfect B&B should be. Their help
and guidance with preplanning the rest of our trip, in Morocco was invaluable. We both left with new friendships and everlasting memories. Can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Our three night stay at the Cortijo was far too short. An easy drive (greatly helped by the excellent directions provided) of less than an hour takes you from Malaga into rural Andalucia - Cortijo Valverde is well placed for many excursions and hikes.
Caroline and Ali were superb and generous hosts and an excellent source of information about the region. Nothing was too much trouble. Meals taken all together at one big table were convivial and great fun. The tasty and imaginative food was home-cooked and of a very high standard - delicious home-baked bread at breakfast.
Definitely hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alora hotels
7.7 km away
Complejo Turistico Rural La Garganta
5.5 km away
Alora Valley View Accommodations
7.4 km away
Duran
Duran
#3 of 3 in Alora
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Hotel Don Pero
Hotel Don Pero
#7 of 11 in Alora
12 reviews
6.2 km away
Hidden Valley Andalucia
4.8 km away
Fuego Blanco
Fuego Blanco
#3 of 11 in Alora
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo Valverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Valverde

Address: Apartado de Correos 47 | CTRA Alora-Antequera Km 35,5, 29500 Alora, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Alora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alora
Price Range: RM462 - RM577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Tranquil Country Hotel is only 45 minutes from Malaga Airport and within easy access of Malaga, Ronda, Granada, Cordoba, Marbella, Mijas and Costa-del-Sol. The amazing El Chorro Gorge, walking trail Caminito del Rey and the beautiful Ardales Lakes are only a short drive away. The wondrous El Torcal is a mere 40-minutes drive through the magnificent A343 road to Antequera. Our Small Country Hotel near Malaga in Rural Andalucia, is a very special place. We have outstanding views of the surrounding countryside providing that special vacation destination for either a restful holiday, or a base from which to explore the many treasures that Andalucia and Inland Spain have to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing