We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Historical Homes”

Atlanta History Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.00*
and up
Atlanta Historical Homes Tour
Ranked #13 of 248 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome explorers of the world! If you’re looking for history, knowledge and adventure, you’ve come to the right place. The Atlanta History Center is located in one of Atlanta’s most vibrant communities where the stories and mysteries of our region thrive. Our 33-acre experience features award-winning exhibitions, historic houses, enchanting gardens, interactive activities and a variety of year-round adult and family programs. With ticket admission, our guests enjoy complimentary parking and all-inclusive access to Atlanta History Center destinations. The Atlanta History Museum is located at the Atlanta History Center. The Atlanta History Center also features the Swan House mansion, Smith Family Farm, the Margaret Mitchell House, the Centennial Olympic Games Museum, and five permanent exhibitions. Last historic home tours begin at 4pm
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Civil War exhibit is exceptional. Thinking (at the time) from both sides is well covered. They have many uniforms, tools and the like on display. Civil Rights Movement in Atlanta has a good exhibit. Other local history is of course covered, including the Olympics. If you just need some wiggle time with the kids, see the historical homes outside. Most are also open. Staff is really helpful.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Jeff2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"civil war exhibit"
in 148 reviews
"swan house"
in 515 reviews
"smith farm"
in 88 reviews
"bobby jones"
in 90 reviews
"the margaret mitchell house"
in 74 reviews
"folk art"
in 53 reviews
"turning point"
in 23 reviews
"native americans"
in 23 reviews
"hunger games"
in 64 reviews
"souper jenny"
in 16 reviews
"slave quarters"
in 14 reviews
"centennial olympic games"
in 16 reviews
"main museum"
in 19 reviews
"excellent museum"
in 15 reviews
"free admission"
in 13 reviews
"great exhibits"
in 19 reviews
"on display"
in 21 reviews
Filter

58 - 62 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2018

We had a great day out here,be prepared to spend all day,as we did.
We got an Ubber taxi to the centre as it was a fair way from the air bnb in Atlanta.There are parking spaces out front. There is loads to see and we didn't see all of it. Remember there is Swan House outside and also Smith farm and gardens to walk to.
When you pay on entry it also entitles you to get into Margaret Mitchells house,which we did the following day( this lasts for 7 days).
There is lots to see in The Turning Point bit re the American Civil War. Stories of Atlanta display was good too.
Many other exhibitions which we didn't see.
The Brash cafe is excellent and there is also Souper Jenny in the same area and the money here goes to the homeless.
The shop is veryvery good,lots of books and memarobelia to buy.
Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank su h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

I love museums and this is a good one. Interesting local history as well as other exhibits. Swan house is nearby.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank KGodinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

I'm a yankee from California so was concerned I would get how great the South was. Civil war exhibit was excellent and very balanced. Loved the approach of showing for each year the strategy of each side and then what actually happened. Other exhibits were quite good. The grounds are huge but very walkable for the able bodied. Three houses from different time periods which are very unique with employees in costume to share the history. So glad I took the long uber ride from downtown to explore this wonderful place. Allow 1/2 day or more.

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018

We have lived in Atlanta for most of our lives but had not visited the Atlanta History Center. We took a day off and spent the better part of a day reading all of the exhibits abnd visiting the Swan House, the beautiful early 20th century mansion of the Inman Family, The Swan House features docents dressed as and playing the parts of Mr.Inman, Mrs. Inman's friend and decorator, the maid and the housekeeper. Excellent, enjoyable, informative and interesting way to understand more about this dynamic, diverse city. If you decide to visit, save time for lunch at the Coach House restaurant on the property. It will complete your visit.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Manyorgangecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atlanta History Center also viewed

 

Been to Atlanta History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing