We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, convenient, poor maintenance, management”
Review of The Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ellis Hotel
Ranked #46 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The Ellis is in an historic building, located downtown, north of Five Points and just south of Peachtree Center and across from MARTA. It has a handsome look and welcoming, friendly staff. We did not use the restaurant or bar, though we attended afternoon wine and cheese. There was no sparkling wine (Come on, good Prosecco is cheap!), and what they had was fair.

The room was nice, and housekeeping sometimes made up the room promptly, sometimes not. The chair at the writing desk was broken, and I caught a staffer in the hallway, who promptly fixed it.

A major annoyance was that all the drink machines were broken. I went from floor to floor and found that the machines either wouldn't take bills or had taped-over coin slots. The problem is that the nearest store is two long blocks up Peachtree and inside a subterranean arcade. The only other alternative was to buy a soda from the bar, at bar prices and sizes. The kind lady at reception comped me a Coke from the bar.

I reported the problem after we checked in for our three-night stay and again every day. Nothing was done about the machines. One would think that when there is no convenience store nearby, for management, broken vending machines would call for prompt repair. Apparently not, as one employee mentioned they had been like that for a long time.

Another annoyance was the flaky guest room key cards, which were constantly losing their "charge," making it impossible to use the elevator. I had to line up behind other guests with the same problem. Again, management.

Nevertheless, because of the staff our stay was pleasant. There is a Ritz-Carlton across the street from the Ellis. These should be islands of comfort and style in a fairly shabby part of town trying hard not to be. The Ellis almost measures up. It could be a much better hotel with up-front, conscientious and responsive management.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
Thank luvtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

950 - 954 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed at the Ellis for five nights for business and it will now be my hotel of choice whenever I'm in Atlanta. I really enjoyed my stay here! The staff was incredibly friendly, attentive and helpful. The rooms, tho a little small, were nicely appointed, comfortable and the windows actually open a crack for fresh air in the evening. There's a selection of three pillows to choose from plus a bolster on the bed an the bathroom amenities were products I may actually choose to purchase at some point. Complimentary wifi was also very appreciated.

I didn't have a chance to eat in the restaurant this trip, as it was either full or booked for a party when I tried. I did have a glass of wine in the bar upon arrival, and ordered a salad which was a little disappointing (steak was cooked perfectly but the lettuce was spartan for the price and there wasn't much to the salad part). I did however hear rave reviews from colleagues who've dined there in the past.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twangypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Believe it or not, this hotel, the Ellis, is better than the Ritz-Carlton, which is right across the street. In fact you can see their terrace and the patrons sitting right outside while glancing from the barstools upstairs at the Ellis. I stayed by myself overnight at the Ellis while on a shopping trip downtown Atlanta because I live in the NE Georgia Mountains and didn't want to drive home at night. The staff at the Ellis is superb! They addressed me by name always. I missed the wine happy hour by about 10 mins. in the lobby, no problem. I was upstairs and a waitress went downstairs, got me some wine and brougt it up. The bartender upstairs took care of me and served me complimentary samples of wine during the evening and the manager even gave me some personal attention on his evening off. The morning breakfast was loaded with farm fresh food that came from farms that the Ellis coop with for their food.

Trish

Room Tip: I like a room with a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trishh545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, General Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Wow thank you for saying the Ellis Hotel is "Better than the Ritz, REALLY"! We look forward to your future return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I loved this place! The front desk always remembered my name, the restaurant staff was attentive, after having a problem with one of the two room key cards Security checked with me later that night and also the next day to make sure I wasn't having any problems, and the valet service prompt and friendly.

The rooms were on the cozy side but everything was comfortable and well laid out. I was traveling with family and the king room had a problem with the vents. The thermostat controlled one system however there was a secondary vent over the bed that would blow cool air that counteracted the heat. The maintenance staff was able to correct that in a couple of hours. The queen room that I shared with my mother was fine although there wasn't much room for the room-service tray when we ordered breakfast in. Bathrooms were well appointed and the shower was great. Loved that they had a magnifying mirror too!

Our room rate included their American breakfast either in the restaurant or by room-service. Food was great and there was plenty of it. Not being a morning person I really appreciated the later breakfast hours offered.

When in Atlanta in the future I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisTaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Ellis. Overall, a nice hotel, Loved the decor, although the hallway, room, and bathroom were a little claustrophobic. The hotel staff, from bellman to valet to
front desk, were all friendly and helpful. Had a little difficulty with our card key on the last day, but DJ and Cecil were both helpful and went the extra mile to help us to get into our room.
The free wine tasting was nice, and unexpected, and the proximity to dining and shopping
was very convenient. Thanks to the staff of the Ellis, for a great, relaxing stay, and special
thanks for Nicole, who was helpful in booking our room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BCL37072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#45 of 173 in Atlanta
3,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Peachtrees
#98 of 173 in Atlanta
902 reviews
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#39 of 173 in Atlanta
4,155 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#84 of 173 in Atlanta
3,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellis Hotel

Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: RM556 - RM1,622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only independent, boutique, hotel in downtown Atlanta. Ranked #1 by Conde Nast Traveler for 2017 in Oct 2016's issue. Great city-center location with a farm to table Bistro. 127 completely renovated guestrooms as of June 2017. Within walking distance of all of downtown's attractions, restaurants, and corporations. Enjoy complimentary use of the fitness center, available 24/7. Complimentary Wi-Fi and morning coffee in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing