We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Historic Hotel”
Review of The Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ellis Hotel
Ranked #44 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This is a very beautiful property that is located downtown and close to everything. Everything about the property was positive and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCorrente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlyon-mercado, Director of Sales at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ellis. We appreciate the feedback and hope whenever you are in Atlanta you will come see us again!

Sincerely,

Tracey Lyon-Mercado, Director of Sales at The Ellis Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

962 - 966 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

I was here on business by myself. The room was OK, nothing fancy. The 3 things I care about when I travel for work, in order of importance:
(1) quiet room-- I don't like hearing elevator doors, or other guests or their TVs. The Ellis was great on this one.

(2) Comfortable bed, bedding, and pillows-- just meh on this one. Passable, but not extra comfortable.

(3) Awesome shower-- quite bad. This was one of the worst hotel showers I've had in a while, and I travel a *lot*.-- terrible water pressure, the hot/cold was hard to control, the shower itself was awkward and uncomfortable.

The breakfast was good, and it is nearby Georgia State, but it is generally not in a great neighborhood. Try the new Mexican place up the block-- it is AWESOME!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iron_monkey_fist666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlyon-mercado, Director of Sales at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

On behalf of everyone at The Ellis we would like to thank you for your genuine feedback. We’re glad that the room’s noise level was comfortable to you and I assure you that any shortcomings with our bathing amenities will be addressed promptly. We have a new chef at The Terrace and he will be happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Tracey Lyon-Mercado, Director of Sales at The Ellis Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Ellis Hotel is one of Atlanta's hidden gems...the hotel, their staff, and their F & B service all exceed expectations!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlyon-mercado, Director of Sales at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on being a hidden gem of Atlanta. We’re thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that our staff and property exceeded your expectations. We hope the next time you’re in Atlanta you will choose to stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Tracey Lyon-Mercado, Director of Sales at The Ellis Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My girlfriend and I decided to spend a weekend in the city. Following a friend's recommendation, we stayed at The Ellis given the property's close proximity to nightlife. Try the room service! The Brunch was as good as dining on the Terrace. In-room dining can be tricky but they just gave us another reason to stay put for the better part of the morning! That night we had an outstanding dinner over looking Peachtree St.-try the grouper or scallops. The Ellis is a must stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlyon-mercado, Director of Sales at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

We’re delighted to hear you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay with us including your brunch and dinner at The Terrace. I’m a fan of the scallops too, as well as the view! Hope you had a great time exploring the nightlife Atlanta has to offer and we’d love to host you again on your next night out in the city.

Sincerely,

Tracey Lyon-Mercado, Director of Sales at The Ellis Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I absolutely love this Hotel. I have stayed at other Hotels in Atlanta, and none give you the upscale, modern luxuries like the Ellis.
The rooms aren't the largest rooms, but the overall feel of the Hotel makes up for the room's lack of size.
Every time I have stayed here, the staff has been extremely friendly and willing to help in anyway they can. This includes the front desk staff, the doorman, the wait staff at Terrace, and the cleaning staff.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Atlanta. I have even persuaded friends to cancel their reservations at other hotels, such as the Westin and the Hyatt.

Room Tip: For a larger room, chose the Premium option. If you have a AAA membership the discount will pay for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlyon-mercado, General Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank you! We are glad you have found a new 'home' in Atlanta. We strive to exceed expectations with a passion to serve others. Next time you visit, please save room for fantastic fare at Terrace. We are a sustainable, organic whenever possible, Farm-To-Table restaurant and currently work with over 27 local farmers, producers, artisans and fisherman. Oh, and the desserts are to-die-for! Thanks again for taking the time to give us your feedback..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#48 of 174 in Atlanta
910 reviews
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#38 of 174 in Atlanta
4,265 reviews
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#18 of 174 in Atlanta
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellis Hotel

Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: RM 612 - RM 1,231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only independent, boutique, hotel in downtown Atlanta. Ranked #1 by Conde Nast Traveler for 2017. Great city-center location with a farm to table Bistro. 127 completely renovated guestrooms as of June 2017. Within walking distance of all of downtown's attractions, restaurants, and corporations. Enjoy complimentary use of the fitness center, available 24/7. Complimentary Wi-Fi and morning coffee in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing