We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ellis Hotel March 2014”
Review of The Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ellis Hotel
Ranked #50 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 March 2014

As always, the Staff at The Ellis Hotel on Peachtree Street in Atlanta makes the stay warm and inviting. They consistently go over and aboard with excellent customer service and care for their guests. After repeated stays at this terrific Hotel, I continue to be amazed each time I stay with them.

Room Tip: Each room in which I have stayed was terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Good Afternoon,
Thank you for your loyalty-we also truly enjoy having you as a guest when you're in town. I can't wait to share your review with the entire team! We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Olya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

643 - 647 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed at the Ellis again, 8 months from previous visit (July?). Once again, the staff there are the best. Friendly, helpful, and remembered us from last summer. Conveniently located to several places including the HRC. No hesitance to recommend the Ellis. Got a great weekend rate.
One issue is parking. Pay for the valet. It would have turned out cheaper, as the parking deck down the street ripped us off, as well as our friends. It rolls to a 2nd day at 6 am, no matter when you entered. One night cost $32, and we could have valet parked for $25 + $5 tip. 717 Parking is a freaking rip off. I realize not the Ellis' problem, but you should know. One notable fact to mention is that we bumped into many of the same staff that were there before on our last visit. That's a good thing. They are good folks.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Peachtree are quieter. Side streets have more noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Good Day,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for your loyalty! It's always a pleasure to serve our repeat guests and we certainly hope that we will see you again in the nearest future.
I'm sorry the 717 parking deck rates are not clearly displayed. We will be glad to park your car in valet with us next time you visit. Thank you for sharing this tip with the rest of the Tripadvisor community.
Sincerely,
Olya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

You can tell the Ellis is an older hotel: rooms are smaller, amenities fewer, etc. We were comfortable but could have used a little more room. However, the staff is amazing. I was greeted by name every morning and evening when I was in the lobby (Nickole!!). Front desk staff is fabulous!! Breakfast buffet a little pricey for what is offered, but the food is good. Calvin is a great bellhop and got us situated in our room nicely. If you want big rooms, probably not the place for you. If you want service, definitely stay here. Also, great location with numerous dining options close.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank TravelGirlNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your experience. We are a historic hotel and are on the National Historic Registry: we take pride in our history. I was glad to hear your stay was nice and Nickole and Calvin took great care of you-I can't wait to share this review with them! We hope to see you again in the nearest future.
Sincerely,
Olya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great location. The staff, with the exception of the restaurant and bar, were very pleasant. The bartender was grouchy.
But, what really disappointed me was the condition of the room. It was dusty everywhere and the bathroom was not very clean. I complained to front desk who told me that it would be corrected, but it was not re-cleaned (I dusted all myself) and there was no follow-up to my complaint.
The bed was very comfortable.
The fitness center was even dirtier.
The happy hour hors d'oeveres was a large tuna melt cut into squares.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Good Afternoon,
Thank you for posting about your experience-your feedback is very important to us, as it helps us see which areas need improvement. Please accept my apology for the condition of your room, as well as for the way it was handled. I will definitel;y share your review with the housekeeping team to ensure the fitness room is cleaned thoroughly as well. We certainly hope that you give us another opportunity to impress you. Please feel free to call me directly at 678-651-2771 to make your reservation and I will ensure that your stay with us is impeccable.
Sincerely,
Olya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We picked the Ellis Hotel to stay away from your normal chains.. looking for a change... but after staying there I think we would have been better at A Holiday in or Hampton.. anyway we Paid for the location.... the room was remodeled... to new style but the hotel is quiet dated the bed is very uncomfortable the breakfast buffet was not worth $14 a meal... except the fresh eggs cooked to order by the chef ...
but here is what is good the location... although there is a bunch of hotels around to choose from next time... i do not think we would go back to the Ellis

Room Tip: We had the Premier King Room you will hit wall getting off the bed if 2 of you sleep on it ... the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nouva77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your feedback. I'm very sorry to hear you found our beds uncomfortable and breakfast not a good value. Perhaps we could find you another room next time you stay with us? Please feel free to reach out to me next time you're in Atlanta and I will personally ensure your stay is perfect.
Sincerely,
Olya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#47 of 173 in Atlanta
3,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Peachtrees
#99 of 173 in Atlanta
902 reviews
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#38 of 173 in Atlanta
4,167 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#83 of 173 in Atlanta
3,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellis Hotel

Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: RM543 - RM1,658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only independent, boutique, hotel in downtown Atlanta. Ranked #1 by Conde Nast Traveler for 2017 in Oct 2016's issue. Great city-center location with a farm to table Bistro. 127 completely renovated guestrooms as of June 2017. Within walking distance of all of downtown's attractions, restaurants, and corporations. Enjoy complimentary use of the fitness center, available 24/7. Complimentary Wi-Fi and morning coffee in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing