We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic customer service”
Review of The Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ellis Hotel
Ranked #48 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We checked in to the Ellis hotel in the middle of hurricane Irma, I have to say that my first impression of the staff at front of house was very impressed, they dealt with people who quite obviously were in distress and were tired and emotional in such a kind empathetic way that I could see people relax and feel safe in their environment, there is no greater feeling than this when someone is faced with distraction and uncertainty and I commend the staff for this,from the guys handling luggage to Kevin on reception, who despite his own worries and concerns for his family members who were caught in the hurricane in St Thomas but carried on taking care of the guests to ensure their concerns were met.I would also like to mention the General Manager, Kim Kleisner, Kim offered myself and my wife great help when we found that we had lost our passports and all our money, his calming management of the situation allowed us to feel supported at this time and I can't thank him enough. My wife and I are experienced world travellers and we both agreed that we have never experienced or witnessed any better management of a hotel or friendlier more helpful staff, my wife had a special birthday while we stayed at the hotel, each member of staff wished my wife a happy birthday and the following day, without prompting asked if she had enjoyed her special day, this shows the attention to detail that every staff member shows to their guests,they all seemed genuinely pleased to provide a fantastic service which Contributed greatly to a wonderful stay at the Ellis Hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the sixteenth floor who had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank calnnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, Guest Relations Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you for your review of your stay due to Hurricane Irma. We were glad to be your "home away from home" during this time and our glad that we were able to make you feel at ease during those very tense times.

Thank you for recognizing our bell team, Kevin, our Asst Front Office Manager, and our General Manager, Mr. Kim Kleisner. We are glad that they all were able to meet all of your needs and help you celebrate your wife's birthday during this visit.

We are always available to serve you. Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. We all hope to see you and your wife again upon your next visit to Atlanta, hoping that your future visits to Atlanta are for fun. Happy birthday to your wife, from all of us.

The Ellis Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Excellent service beautiful building great service Randi especially, friendly and knowledgeable. Beyoncé is a dog to said thanks for Ellis hotel taker her with the all amenities Beyoncé back happy to Florida

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael92874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, Guest Relations Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for your review and specifically mentioning Randi. We love that you loved our historic building, located in the heartbeat of downtown.

We strive to always be friendly, knowledgeable, and courteous. We are glad that you felt this during your stay.

We say to Beyonce "Please come back! We miss you!" We are glad that your like our Doggie Friendly complimentary amenities.

We hope to serve you again soon whenever you return to Atlanta.

The Ellis Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We evacuated Florida during Hurricane Irma and stayed at Ellis Hotel for 4 night. The staff could not have been more wonderful or accommodating. The hotel is lovely and immaculate. Everyone from the bellman to the front desk to housekeeping and the manager were wonderful, tending to our every need. The hotel was totally booked,however, no need went unanswered. I would recommend this hotel for business or leisure travel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cfeiner311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, Guest Relations Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you chose us during your evacuation from Florida.

Thank you for mentioning that our team of associates are very accommodating, met your every need and were friendly. Also, thank you for stating that our hotel is lovely and immaculate. We really appreciate it.

We look forward to serving you again upon your return to Atlanta. We look forward to serving you again!

The Ellis Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

I visited this hotel on a business trip. The hotel in itself was pretty nice. They had a wine down hour each day at the hotel where you could get a free glass of wine which was nice for me. The rooms were nice but they were extremely small!! Hotel is in walking distance of all of the nice restaurants. Not a bad visit but rooms were too small for my liking and for the price of the hotel. Would stay here again on someone else's dime but I personally could get more for my money.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Outoftowner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, Guest Relations Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate it. We love that you enjoyed our Wine Down from 5.30 pm - 6 pm, only for registered guests, where you receive unlimited $2 for each glass of wine during this 30 minutes.

Yes, some of our guest rooms are a bit smaller than the typical sized guest rooms. In order to fit a boutique hotel into our historical building, in the location that it is in, there are some rooms that were slightly downsized.

We hope that you felt that our incredible city-center location and service by our team of associates would outweigh the room size. All of our guest rooms are completely remodeled in this past year to make them as comfortable as possible.

We hope that you allow us another opportunity to serve you. To be assured a little more space in your guest room, our Premium Rooms are larger than some of our Deluxe Rooms.

The Ellis Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This is a boutique hotel so it's not as big as a lot of others but the service is great. The staff is really friendly and helpful and fun to chat with! Food was really good in the restaurant and seriously, Nickole at the front desk was my go-to for everything. She is awesome!

Room Tip: I had room 708 with a city view and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jmjbates95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, Guest Relations Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate that you highlighted Nickole at the Front Desk. She is an outstanding associate. Thank you for recognizing her.

Also, thank you for describing the overall service you received by all of our associates and our delicious food.

We look forward to serving you again upon your return to downtown Atlanta.

The Ellis Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#47 of 173 in Atlanta
3,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Peachtrees
#100 of 173 in Atlanta
902 reviews
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#39 of 173 in Atlanta
4,158 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#83 of 173 in Atlanta
3,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellis Hotel

Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: RM542 - RM1,652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only independent, boutique, hotel in downtown Atlanta. Ranked #1 by Conde Nast Traveler for 2017 in Oct 2016's issue. Great city-center location with a farm to table Bistro. 127 completely renovated guestrooms as of June 2017. Within walking distance of all of downtown's attractions, restaurants, and corporations. Enjoy complimentary use of the fitness center, available 24/7. Complimentary Wi-Fi and morning coffee in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing