We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good staff”
Review of The Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ellis Hotel
Ranked #47 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Arrived at the end of September after a long flight from UK. Used the MARTA system to get from the airport which was easy and cheap to use. Came out the incorrect exit but had we come out the correct one The Ellis would have been right in front of us! Booking in very easy but when we arrived at our room we were disappointed because it overlooked a brick wall and even with all the lights on it was gloomy (room 505). Before we could ring Reception they were asking us what we thought of the room. Explained we were not impressed and they immediately (within 2 minutes) moved us to floor 14. Brilliant room because it was light. The room and en-suite were very clean. Only fault we could find with the room was that there was no safe although iron, ironing boards and free tea and coffee making facilities. It is the staff which truly make this hotel. It did not matter who you spoke to they were enthusiastic and wanted to help. We had breakfast in the hotel twice and it was a reasonable price and selection both the continental and cooked breakfast. If you want hot toast you only have to ask for it. The granola and fresh fruit were especially delicious as were the warm blueberry muffins.
Do not expect to be surrounded by places to shop as this is Downtown. Easy to use MARTA to get to Midtown and all the outlets/shops.

Room Tip: Ask for high and quiet and not facing the brick wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, Guest Relations Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you loved your experience in Atlanta. Yes, MARTA is super simple and extremely cost-efficient (low cost and no parking cost for a rental car or cost for taking an taxi or Uber). Yes, we are located directly next door to the southwest exit of the Peachtree Center MARTA Station.

One side of our hotel does face the building next door and does not have a street/city view. Many of our regular guests request this side of our building because it is the quietest rooms in our hotel since they don't face the streets of downtown. We are so glad that our Front Desk associate followed up with a phone call to your room and that they were able to move you to a room that you desired.

We do not have safes in our rooms, but we do have safety deposit boxes behind our front desk.

We love that you loved our team of associates' can-do attitudes and that you loved our buffet breakfast twice.

Thank you again for mentioning our great city-center location and ease of access not only to ATL Airport, but also all of downtown's attractions and all of Atlanta via MARTA, right next door!

We hope to serve you again upon your return to the states.

The Ellis Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Ellis Hotel in atlanta for my birthday and had a fantastic time! The room was lovely, very clean and modern... The staff at the hotel were very helpful and so friendly... I would recommend this hotel as it's in a good location with lots of attractions close by... The world of Coca-Cola museum, the atlanta aquarium, cnn studio's to name just a few! We arranged to do the walking dead tours while we were there and they were fantastic... It's amazing how many TV shows and movies are actually filmed in atlanta...there were bars and restaurants nearby... Hooters, hard rock Cafe and meehans Irish bar all within walking distance of the hotel...we would definitely stay in the ellis hotel again if we return to atlanta!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank girls2loud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, Guest Relations Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your review. Thank you for highlighting our clean rooms and friendly team of associates!

Yes, we love our location, close (and an easy walking distance) to all attractions that downtown has to offer as well as many restaurants and bars.

We look forward to serving you again, upon your return to downtown Atlanta!

The Ellis Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Had a great short stay at the Ellis. Friendly greeting with a smile and very accommodating! Looking forward to staying again on my next business or family retreat to the downtown Atlanta area. Thank you!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jdel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, Guest Relations Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review and five star rating! We really appreciate that you highlighted our friendly service team.

We look forward to serving you again upon your return visit to downtown Atlanta.

The Ellis Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Great location, loved my room, prompt room service and friendly staff. I would go back, especially because they offer vegan and vegetarian homemade food. It was close to the conference I was attending and to a great coffee shop steps away.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, Guest Relations Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for highlighting our wonderful city-center location, prompt room service and friendly service teams.

Thank you for highlighting that we offer vegan and vegetarian options in our Bistro.

We look forward to serving you again upon your return visit to downtown Atlanta.

The Ellis Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

I found the hotel and room to be very nice. My room was on the street side of the hotels. Noise was too loud and disturbing while trying to sleep. The conference room had plenty of space for our meeting.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, Guest Relations Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for your response. We are glad that you liked our meeting room ,with floor to ceiling windows and an outdoor terrace overlooking Peachtree Street. We are also glad that you liked your guestroom and our hotel.

We are sorry that there was city-noise occurring during your visit. Ant Man II was being filmed downtown during your stay and this may have caused some additional city-noise.

We hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you.

The Ellis Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#44 of 173 in Atlanta
3,240 reviews
Inn at the Peachtrees
#101 of 173 in Atlanta
903 reviews
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#15 of 173 in Atlanta
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellis Hotel

Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: RM650 - RM1,558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only independent, boutique, hotel in downtown Atlanta. Ranked #1 by Conde Nast Traveler for 2017 in Oct 2016's issue. Great city-center location with a farm to table Bistro. 127 completely renovated guestrooms as of June 2017. Within walking distance of all of downtown's attractions, restaurants, and corporations. Enjoy complimentary use of the fitness center, available 24/7. Complimentary Wi-Fi and morning coffee in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing