We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food I ate all week!”
Review of Taberna Ayer

Taberna Ayer
Ranked #6 of 282 Restaurants in Almunecar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Great new Taberna Ayer, always serving fresh cooked produce,See our fantastic reviews on Tripadvisor or find us on Facebook. Now with a full menu including many old favorites and some great new sharing plates and our evening grill menu, still serving great coffee, homemade cakes, beers, wines and cocktails. Please be advised that Friday & Saturdays we CLOSE at 5pm & re-open at 7:30pm **** Closed on Mondays ****
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

As a vegetarian I found it a real struggle to find decent food in almunecar. Finding Taberna Ayer was an absolute godsend. I was with a group of friends, we were a mix of veggies and meat eaters and the menu catered for all our tastes. The sandwiches and wraps came with lovely salads and crispy potatoes with alioli. Ate there twice in 5 days and would've gone back again, but ran out of time. The food is beautifully presented, very tasty and reasonably priced. It's only 5 minutes walk from San Cristobal beach and a much better option than the overpriced rubbish that you find in the beach restaurants.

Thank Debbie043Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costafortuna, Owner at Taberna Ayer, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us and so glad you enjoyed your visit. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2017

The food was gorgeous and a lovely range of choices. The staff were happy to alter menu items to suit vegetarians. Definitely one of the best places I visited.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costafortuna, Owner at Taberna Ayer, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

A big thank you for taking the time to review, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

We loved this place so much we visited again and again
My friend is vegetarian and really struggles in Spain but not here ..nothing was too much trouble and we had our lunch adapted to our particular wishes...it was delicious and there was plenty for meat eaters to choose from too
The daily specials looked lovely ( veg lasagne, grilled chicken and traditional meatballs to mention just a few ) but we opted for yummy salads and wraps due to the midday heat
Steve and Tracey made us so welcome I can't recommend them enough just go and find out for yourselves
Ps the free tapas were fab too

Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costafortuna, Owner at Taberna Ayer, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you for your very kind review, we are always pleased to know that our customers are satisfied with what we offer, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Back to Almunecar again, 5 years in a row. Our first stop .. Taberna Ayer ! This restaurant is part of my holiday. Steve and a Tracey greeted us like long lost family. The food was just as good with new additions to the menu. We sat outside as the weather was glorious. Danielle their daughter is lovely and looks after everyone with a smile no matter how busy she is. She changes language from English to Spainish so fluently and never seems flustered. What remind d me to write this review was I have just made a lemon drizzle cake, sadly it isn't anywhere near as good as Tracey's. Just love everything about Taberna Ayer.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _pamfrankish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costafortuna, Owner at Taberna Ayer, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you Pam, as always its a great pleasure to see you return year on year. Great customers deserve great service and you always fall into that category. Things just would not be the same without your visits, see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

It is hard finding a decent meal in Almunecar. Even harder when you're travelling with vegetarians. Taberna Ayer is like an oasis in a desert of badly cooked fish, frozen veg and substandard chips. The food is fresh and inventive. The Owners happy to adapt the menu to your personal taste. The place is clean and welcoming (right across from Park Majuelo up the road from tourist office) and the drinks cold and delicious. I can't recommend this place highly enough. We went there three times on a five day holiday - and would have gone again if they hadn't been fully booked.

Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costafortuna, Owner at Taberna Ayer, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Its always a great pleasure to serve such nice people, and always great when they return. So glad you enjoyed your time at Taberna Ayer and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thanks for the kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taberna Ayer also viewed

Almunecar, Province of Granada
Almunecar, Province of Granada
 
La Herradura, Almunecar
 

Been to Taberna Ayer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing