We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
263
251
92
26
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
251
92
26
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea front off season very nice hotel rooms are big breakfast buffet night stay nature reserve tapas euro balcony bath amenities port taxi promenade sauna distance
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 654 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

Very comfortable hotel and superb buffet breakfast included in the price. Staff very helpful especially as my Spanish is basic! Rooms are spacious and clean and have loads of power points - not usual in most hotels!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE MANUEL H, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Motril, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Dear Lynn M
We appreciate your valuation and the time you have spent in giving us your impressions.
It is a pleasure to receive comments like yours and we hope to have you with us again on vacation the next time.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

If you arrive here don't expect to be a real 4 stars hotel, maybe 3 stars are enough. It is an oldfashioned hotel with an old furniture but clean. The food is good and you can have here a nice dinner or lunch. It is not so expensive. If you plan to arrive here by plane and taxi trough malaga airport, the price for taxi from airport is 130 euro

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE MANUEL H, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Motril, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear George A,

First of all, I would like to thank you for trusting our Elba Motril Beach & Business Hotel hotel for your stay, and we regret that you did not enjoy it as we would have liked, so please accept our apologies.
The satisfaction of our customers is our main objective and we appreciate having the help of our guests for the continuous improvement in our services so we appreciate your comments and suggestions to improve.
Wishing to have his renewed confidence

Receive a warm greeting,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

From the moment we arrived, the staff were really helpful and friendly. The room was above expectation with ocean view, excellent quality bed/ bedding, marble floors etc. I love to have a bath in a hotel and I was not disappointed.
We decided to stay on for a second night as we enjoyed the shopping in Motril, 5minutes away. Lovely walks along the promenade of Poinete Playa.
Breakfast was great and the waiter who served breakfast could not do enough for us.
An added bonus is the bar and fish restaurant directly in front of the hotel.
We will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Great views from third floor
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wtnewtonpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE MANUEL H, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Motril, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear wtnewtonpalmer,
We appreciate your valuation and the time you have spent in giving us your impressions.
It is a pleasure to receive comments like yours and we hope to have you with us again on vacation the next time.
Yours sincerely,
José Manuel H.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This hotel is situated in an area next to Motril Port. It is very close to a stony beach which when we were there at the end of September was quiet. It's not a very picturesque beach as there are factories at one end but we liked it because it wasn't overdeveloped. In the season it looked as if it would have lifeguards. The area is beginning to be developed further along the coast but seemed to be very Spanish and not much sign of British tourism. We found a lot of restaurants to be closed either for the season or for their holidays but there was still a reasonable choice of places without having to drive.

The hotel has a luxurious entrance hall - it is a mix of modern and old which makes for unusual decor. Our room was very pleasant and overlooked the mountains (also some factories in the distance). We are keen on birdwatching so we were pleased that our balcony was close to the Charca Suarez nature reserve although if we'd been on the 3rd floor we would have had a better view. The room was spacious and clean. The television mostly Spanish. Staff were friendly (with one exception). They were willing to speak English but were happy for us to try out our Spanish! Breakfast was buffet style with everything you could possibly want on offer. Evening meals were also buffets with 3 themed evenings in the week. Cost was 18 Euros each with wine/water extra.

The pool was across the car park. We didn't use it much. Although the pool itself was small, the seating area seemed to be big enough.

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing week there and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CheviotView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE MANUEL H, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Motril, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear CheviotView,

We thank you for choosing us to spend your holidays in Motril and we are proud that you have enjoyed it so much as we comment on your words of your stay with us.
We want to visit us again and remember to request a third floor room for bird watching.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

I have spent here for 1 month, the room is nice and clean, stuff is friendfull and the food is tasty. The wifi connection is sometimes really slow, but for basic users enough. Pool area is clean. If I will be back in the future in Motril, I will definetlly go to Elba hotel.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Dušan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE MANUEL H, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Motril, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Dušan D,
We appreciate your valuation and the time you have spent in giving us your impressions based on a month's stay, for work reasons, which gives way to much and still we have covered your expectations completely.
It is a pleasure to receive comments like yours and we hope to have you with us again on vacation the next time.
Yours sincerely,
José Manuel H.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews