We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only fine place in park”
Review of Metate Room

Metate Room
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Native American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner
Description: CLOSED FOR THE WINTER. WE WILL OPEN AGAIN IN APRIL 2019Mesa Verde Metate Room Restaurant received "Award of Culinary Excellence" from the American Culinary Federation Colorado Chefs Association in the area of sustainable cuisine. Colorful Native American artwork surrounds you as you enjoy our award winning, contemporary menu inspired by regional heritage foods and flavorings. We do take reservations within 24 hours of your stay. Walk-ins are welcome based on business, however reservations are strongly recommended.
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Was a little pricy- went the first or second week of season- laughed becasue the online menu did not match the actual menu. Online it said it was closed also. So website needed to be updated. Meal was decent- not sure if it was outstanding for the price point. Do not usually eat at places with the price point of this restuarant. Would be tempted to do the bar instead and just do a sandwich/ hamburger. Meal was pretty good- saw our waitress working in one of the other food venues the next morning. ( ps breakfast in park is expensive) Its a restaurant inside of a national park run on a concession. So about what I expected.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank curt k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2017

We had dinner here while staying at the Far View Lodge. We made reservations so that we could have a table with a view out the window. Great view! The service was passable, not great. The pricing was fair and the food was acceptable. The view is what this place is all about. I had the Chile Relleno, it was good, but much different than what I usually view as a Chile Relleno. For dessert I had the Creme Brulee, it was good, however the presentation in a coffee cup didn't do it for me, not enough caramelized sugar and too much whipped cream.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

If you stay in the Park, which is strongly encouraged, you have no other fine dining options. The breakfast and lunch menus at the other 2 contractor run venues charge high prices for average cafeteria fare. But Metate avoided the temptation to be average and provided interesting choices like a chili relleno with local mole that was genuinely excellent as well as well prepared fare like smoked chicken for the less adventurous. And the prices were fair. The crab and corn bisque was good as well. My only complaint was the limited wine and beer choices, but it is a remote spot. Friendly service. Recommended.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank jaumeAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Loved our two dinners here! Staff is wonderful! Chef, Scott makes some amazing dishes. Open seasonally! Call to find out if open as open mid-April-mid-October. Food was GREAT!!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank lyn729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

After a long day of sightseeing and driving, we had to treat ourselves and made reservations. We were lucky to get a window table. The service was great right up until the time for the check. Then I didn’t think we were going to ever get it. We got a small bowl of Corn & Lobster Bisque. It was delicious. By the way, they start you off with some bread and dipping oil. Very tasty. The we split a serving of salmon. Don’t ask me what all was with it, but it was delicious.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank OtPot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metate Room also viewed

Mesa Verde National Park, CO
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
 

Been to Metate Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing