We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Winston Manor(Churchill)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Woodpeckers B&B(Churchill)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
188
83
27
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
188
83
27
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdry ski slopeski centretucked awaysunday lunchfull englishlovely locationout of the wayoff the beaten trackevening mealcheddar gorgeon the small sideshort breakmain buildingwedding receptionweston super marecomfortable roomsmendip hills
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped on the way to Cornwall with our dog We were put in one of the outside lodges these were very tired looking and the shower room was in a very poor state
Not sure that because you have a dog you are treated with the same attention as a guest without
On the positive side there are some lovely walks in the wood for the dog

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Merfyboy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Have been a visitor to the Lodge for several months. The service remains outstanding, with close proximity to Bristol Airport, rooms are considerably less than the airport plus great food. For the more energetic you can have a blast on the ski slope for as little as £10 all in on a Monday. Nick, Damian and Martin excell in customer service and nothing is too much trouble. Yes there are a few very minor things that need attention but nothing that outweighs the positives.
Pet friendly for your VIP's and best friend, oh and family friendly too. Good Menu good wine list outstanding fish and chips and Rum is an option. For the price a quality venue!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank phillradders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We were given room 15 which is one of the outside lodges. It was small but had everything we needed including tea, coffee and a bottle of water. I had to ask reception for a hairdryer as there is sign on the wall asking you not to use the one attached (not sure why and why they don't just remove it).
We stayed 3 nights and during the course of our stay we noticed that the room felt very damp and smelt musty. Our clothes and the bedding felt damp and considering the weather was a sunny 20° during our stay, this wasn't good.
Also my partner wasn't happy that he had to hold the toilet seat up while peeing. Shower was warm and strong enough.
The walls are thin and you could hear your neighbours, especially when they showered.
Also it was advertised that there was internet throughout the hotel but this didn't stretch to the lodges which resulted in us both having to top up on our usual data allowance.
Breakfast was cooked to order and very nice, there was also a continental selection.
The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. Bar prices were reasonable and the food looked delicious but we didn't eat there.
The place just needs modernising and it would be a little gem in a lovely location.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights while attending old friends' 50th wedding anniversary celebrations nearby. Our room was quite small with an unexciting view over the access road and car park (on the same level which made leaving the curtains open difficult at times). But it was clean with tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits. We ate dinner one night. The menu was very limited for vegetarians and fish lovers but the quality was satisfactory. Breakfasts were cooked to order (really nice) although I was disappointed that the chef had removed the smoked haddock and poached egg from the menu.
The hotel itself is quite unusual, rather like a ski lodge (indeed there is a ski slope next door) and has its own charm. It is rather in need of some renovation. The staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful - what a difference that makes!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank figofigo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is a great find, peaceful location. Excellent facilities, staff and lovely food.
Set in the beautiful location of Sandford in the Mendips.
Extremely peaceful with wonderful surroundings.
The hotel is well looked after and is clean throughout.
Good outdoor sitting areas. Where you can enjoy a refreshing drink from the bar.
The rooms are comfortable, clean and airy. Bathroom was of an adequate size, with towels and toiletries provided.
Kettle with tea/ coffee making facilities.
Large TV and I pod docking station.
Breakfast was freshly cooked each day, so well worth a little wait. Delicious.
We had dinner in the restaurant 3 nights, and had plenty of choice for us.
The food was served elegantly and portions were plenty. Again delicious food.
The staff. All were friendly, and nothing was too much for any of them. They definitely went the extra furlong to make our stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. Thank you to you all.
We will definitely be returning soon..

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews