We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME !”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deep Forest Cabins at Mt. Rainier
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Spent three nights here exploring Mt. Rainer and this is the place to stay. We had the Barn Owl cottage and really enjoyed it. The picture shows it over a garage; no worry, never had any noise from the garage. This cottage is close to the road and close 3-5 miles from the park. Very convenient. The cottage was very clean and comfortable, well appointed. Everything was done right by the owners. Located in a wooded area, quiet and peaceful.
Advice: Ashford has only a couple of places to eat, so with a full kitchen we stocked up before arriving. If you are coming from the Kent, Auburn area there is a Safeway in Graham. After that it is open country except for a few grocery stores. One gas station in town and it is prepaid only. We took advantage of the kitchen to have our evening meals.
Remember there is no TV, radio, limited cell service. My only suggestion is that the owners try to strengthen the WiFi service. That was limited too.

Room Tip: enjoyed the Barn Owl cottage. Most of the rest of the cottages are closer to the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSF4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We were able to spend 2 days down the road a bit...it was fine...and I gave them a great review...from there we did our hiking on Mt. Rainier and so enjoyed the splendid wildflowers! We could only get 2 nights here and choose Cedar Grove Cottage as our retreat. We are fortunate to visit this area each year. Ah....but now...we have discovered these idyllic cottages! Cedar Grove is seriously like staying in a first class spa! A huge, truly huge bathroom with jetted tub for 2, stall shower, generous towels, sumptuous bathrobes, lavender products from Whole Foods, and creative lighting! We did not want to leave once we arrived! We happily brought some food with us, did not cook but appreciated all the items provided in the shared kitchen/bedroom area. Ah...that comfy bed! Special linens! Views into the deep cedar forest from each window! The dappled sunlight on the leaves will long be in my heart! The hot tub...day or evening! The fun lighting in each area to create just the perfect mood! A super retreat for 2 ... we will leave so much more refreshed than when we arrived. Janet and Pat are to be commended for all the niceties, the privacy, this haven! So, had to give it a 5 star...but in all fairness...it is a true 10. Now that we experienced Cedar Grove, we hope to plan ahead and retreat here when we return to see the wildflowers...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

If you are wondering whether to stay at Deep Forest Cabins - don't wonder any longer and just go for it - you won't be disappointed.
We stayed in the wonderful Salal cabin for 2 nights and we so wish it had been longer. The cabins are situated up a fairly steep drive but are perfectly located only a few minutes drive from the entrance to Mount Rainier National Park.
Each cabin is surrounded by the forest on all sides which gives an amazing feeling of being secluded and surrounded by nature. The Salal cabin was perfect for the two of us, with a well equipped kitchen, spacious lounge, outside deck with table and chairs surrounded by forest, large and comfortable bed, outside hot tub, large bath....... I could go on. The cabins are extremely well designed and very nicely furnished. The most mesmerizing thing for us was that there are so many windows throughout the cabin with great views of the forest. We spent both evenings drinking a glass of wine sitting on the window seat in the lounge as the light slowly faded outside - it was wonderful.
The owners are also very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJBWorcester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We stayed 4 nights in the Maplewood lodge and was very pleased with our accommodations. This lodge was very private, clean and comfortable. Only a short distance to the National Park and a select few restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 414keithr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed at Barn Owl with my children and my parents stayed at Huckleberry cabin during our recent visit to Rainier and Mount St Helens. The two cabins are across from each other and just a few minutes from the park entrance. Barn Owl offers beautiful views of the forest from every window! The well stocked full kitchen is a real plus as we had been on the road for a while and a simple meal was all we needed. My family absolutely enjoyed having dinners on the deck in the forest! Barn Owl is ver spacious. There are doors separating the kitchen and sitting/sleeping area. I was able to prepare breakfast without waking up my children. The location is convenient and very private. Cabins are tastefully decorated and well managed. We had such a great time - thanks to hard working owners Janet and Pat! I would definitely recommend Deep Forest Cabins!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank michigan_montana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
1.4 km away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
330 reviews
8.7 km away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
25.7 km away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
218 reviews
24.4 km away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
102 reviews
7.3 km away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deep Forest Cabins at Mt. Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deep Forest Cabins at Mt. Rainier

Address: 33823 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304-9772
Region: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range: RM404 - RM1,225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven handcrafted high quality unique cabins, some located in a beautiful 20 acre forest adjacent to Mt Rainier National Park. All but one have private hot tub, full kitchen, gas fireplaces, and decks, and five or six foot long jetted soaking tubs. These cabins are located at the main entrance to Mt Rainier National Park, open year round to Paradise. A great base for hiking in the summer or snow shoeing in the winter. We welcome you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deep Forest Cabins At Mt. Rainier Hotel Ashford
Deep Forest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing