We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salal was an incredible experience - highly recommend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deep Forest Cabins at Mt. Rainier
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We stayed in the Salal cabin for four nights while hiking Mt Rainier and it was such a wonderful treat! Prior to our visit, we were worried about the smoke in the area and the fires on the other side of the park. Janet was so kind and responsive - she is an excellent host. When we arrived, she gave us great information and maps for hiking.
The cabin is outfitted with all the things you would need for a visit and the kitchen is ready for cooking. There are few good restaurant options in the area, so we enjoyed making an easy dinner a couple of nights after hiking and then relaxing with a soak in the outdoor hot tub.
This unit has really neat, huge windows that allow for time to sit and relax with a glass of wine in the window seat or in front of the fireplace. The master bath has a large jetted tub with large a huge window. Plus, a smaller bathroom with a shower for a quick cleanup. The king-sized bed is cozy and the bedroom has a fireplace with a separate seating area. The wifi works great in the kitchen...and pretty good everywhere else. There is no TV reception or streaming...but we didn't miss it a bit.
Janet has provided information in the cabin for just about anything in the area you could want. And, we loved the history of the cabin itself.
I hope we get to return some day. This was kind of like being off the grid, but in luxury. Thanks for a great vacation!!
**One note: my husband is 6'8" (yes, a tall guy) and many of the beams in the cabin are low. He just about gave himself a concussion one night. It would not keep me from going there again...but something to think about.

Room Tip: The Salal cabin was amazing -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zamigaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deepforestMtRainier, Owner at Deep Forest Cabins at Mt. Rainier, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi!
Thank you so much for appreciating the Salal cabin. We are very happy you liked it. I am so sorry to hear your husband hit his head on one of the beams. I really hope he is OK. Since I had never noticed they were low, I asked my husband who is 6'1" if he has a problem in the cabin and he says he has to be aware of the doorways as they are shorter than usual. So I started to think about my uncle who built the cabin when he was in college. He was short, about 5'8", so no doubt he designed the cabin for his height, shorter doors and low beams, even though the ceilings are really high. He built the main rooms before he was an architect, so he probably did not know about height standards then, or maybe 6 feet high seemed high enough. Thanks for bringing this to our attention, so I can let future guests know. Best regards, Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017

My husband and I stayed here last week for a few nights while visiting Mt. Rainier. We absolutely loved our cabin! We stayed in the Cedar cabin and it was perfect for the two of us. The cabin was clean, comfortable, and fully stocked with everything we could have needed. The hot tub was an amazing added feature that was a Godsend after a very snowy and cold day in the park. The owner Janet was very responsive prior to our stay and very hospitable. We would definitely recommend this cabin and hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ld912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Every detail of this visit was perfection. The host; Janet, provided me with a lot of details prior to the trip and when I worried about wildfires before our arrival. We stayed in the Chantelle guesthouse, which was secluded up a very steep hill but settled into the forest. A tiny area in the back was perfectly nestled into the trees to enjoy the scenery. The cabin was rustic in ambiance but with all the comforts of home. There wasn't much in the way of restaurants close by, so we picked up some food at a nearby store and ate looking out our picture window and watching the sunset over the forest. I couldn't believe how reasonable our stay was and would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: The Chantelle Guest house is gorgeous and reasonably priced. But keep in mind it is at the top of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILgirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Salal cabin. Very interesting architecture with large rooms and a nice terrace. The kitchen invites for some home cooking. Bathroom is large and has a beautiful view. Unfortunately the living room fireplace did not work. Outside you can hear the road to Mt Rainier Np.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mai3096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deepforestMtRainier, Owner at Deep Forest Cabins at Mt. Rainier, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi, we are so glad you had a nice stay and enjoyed the cabin. I am so sorry one of the gas fireplaces was not working during your stay this summer. We hope you enjoyed the other one. Both of them are working now that the weather has turned cold. There is snow now at Paradise.
The cabin is built on a cliff which is several hundred yards about the main two lane road/highway. The two lane road gets very busy in the summer, and this summer there were large trucks going up into the Park with large boulders on the trucks--one to two boulders per semi truck, to reinforce the levee on the Nisqually River to prevent flooding of the Park entrance, and essentially, the road below the cabin. These trucks were applying their jake brakes below the cabin in order to slow down, which is a very loud noise. They should be finished with that reinforcement and the road to Paradise repair in a few weeks (October 2017). However, sound travels up, so when you are outside on the deck in the summer, especially on busy sunny and warm summer weekends, you can hear (although barely see) the sound of the road below.
Best regards,
Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

wonderful getaway deep into the forests at the base of Mt Rainier -- these cabins are well built by the owners' parents/ uncles ( architects), beautifully situated off the road, yet not isolated, with a fully equipped kitchen, outdoor jacuzzi ( perfect for after mountain hikes ), well kept/clean bath room/ bedroom -- very comfortable. especially when we have little to no WIFI access, or phone access -- we needed this time away from the fast pace of modern civilization. 2 restaurants nearby serve breakfast/lunch/dinner : Copper Creek ( american cuisine ) and Wildberry ( american simple fares with several nepalese dishes - both restaurants offer good meals -
or bring your groceries/ drinks and cook on site --
we stayed at MAplewild cabin- love the isolation and silence of the cabin -strongly recommend Deep Forest cabins (no hassle, 10 minutes outside of Mt Rainier park gates)-
we will go back to these cabins.

Room Tip: we chose Maplewild cabin - for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deepforestMtRainier, Owner at Deep Forest Cabins at Mt. Rainier, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you very much, we are so glad you enjoyed the cabin and surroundings!
We have fixed the wifi signal in that cabin, sorry it was not working well. All of our cabins should have good wifi signal now. T-mobile is just activating a cell phone tower in the next few weeks, (October 2017) we'll see if that works up at the cabins. The new Verizon tower they just built did not seem to boost the phone signal at Maplewild.
Thanks again,
Best regards,
Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
1.4 km away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
330 reviews
8.7 km away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
25.7 km away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
218 reviews
24.4 km away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
102 reviews
7.3 km away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deep Forest Cabins at Mt. Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deep Forest Cabins at Mt. Rainier

Address: 33823 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304-9772
Region: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range: RM404 - RM1,225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven handcrafted high quality unique cabins, some located in a beautiful 20 acre forest adjacent to Mt Rainier National Park. All but one have private hot tub, full kitchen, gas fireplaces, and decks, and five or six foot long jetted soaking tubs. These cabins are located at the main entrance to Mt Rainier National Park, open year round to Paradise. A great base for hiking in the summer or snow shoeing in the winter. We welcome you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deep Forest Cabins At Mt. Rainier Hotel Ashford
Deep Forest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing