We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy place; poor food; badly cooked and not enough staff to take time to notice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Spinnaker Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gourock
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Four generations of our family do not get to meet up very often, so we were disappointed in service; quality of food and cooking were not up to usual standards. We ordered mostly fish and chips - overcooked batter - dry fish and waiters overworked we had to remind them to provide napkins; condiments. I complained about my meal twice no one noticed until I made it clear I was not happy. Not what I wanted to do. I am disappointed as usually reasonable but it was too busy and they could not cope on the night.

Room Tip: Go on a quiet night
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpinnyGourock, Owner at The Spinnaker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback.
I spoke to the staff on the night you were in the hotel.
From what they told me in terms of your food all 'starters' seemed to go ok and most if not all 'main courses' were also finished. You complained about the "'burnt curled up fish". One member of staff who served you has told me he asked you if you wanted him to sort it out to which you shook your head.
After your meal you ignored me, the owner, and chose to speak to another member of staff directly. It was busy but he very attentively listened to what you had to say and said he was sorry you hadn't enjoyed your experience that evening.
I can totally accept on busy periods things may not always run as smoothly as we would all like it too and we continually look at how this can be improved. At present we're reviewing our menu selection / content, service times for meals and additional training methods at the Spinnaker amongst other things.
The reason I have choosen to reply in some length to your review is I can accept we don't get it 100% right 100% of the time but after you requested we take a look at the bill and consider what we want to do with it you then said depending on that you will put your review on Tripadvisor.
In my opinion, your review on Tripadvisor should not be based on how much money I take of your bill or don't as the case maybe (1 item was deducted) but based on your overall experience. To use the threat of Tripadvisor in an almost blackmailing way is the reason I have replied in length rather than just saying 'thank you' for your review.
TripAdvisor is a fantatsic way to feedback to business's both good and bad aspects of an individual or groups experince but not approriate using as it a gun to someones head before paying your bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for The Spinnaker Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

We stayed for one night, the staff were very welcoming, the room was clean and well presented. We had a meal and the food was lovely. We would stay again. It was a last minute decision so we didn't really know what to expect. I would reserve a table for dinner as we stayed on sat night and it was popular with locals.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenandian6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpinnyGourock, Owner at The Spinnaker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for your complimentary review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay as well as dinner. We're hoping to move to our autumn menu soon as well as introducing some more lunch time options over and above full meals. Hopefully this will be liked be both existing and new customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Our stay at The Spinnaker Hotel has been nothing short of disastrous.
I booked 2 rooms in person back in April for my brother's wedding at Kip Marina in August. One room for my husband & me & one for my teenage children. At the time, I was told by the girl taking our booking that the teenagers would be in a room with a shared bathroom. As I knew that they would be able to use our room to shower, I said that would be fine & she put our names against 2 rooms. We arrived for our rooms this evening on to find that we have one en-suite room & the room with the shared bathroom has been double booked. No contact from the hotel to ourselves at any point between April & August to let us know & no room for my teenagers. The young man in charge, Connor (who was very apologetic & as helpful as he could be) told us that the owner was looking into finding a B&B near by, but I was not happy with this, as not only is my daughter a bridesmaid which means a trip to the hairdresser in the morning etc, we are all being collected by bus from the hotel for the wedding the following day & we had no idea how close the B&B would be. The next option discussed was to put another bed in our room, which would allow one of my children to share with us. I even checked to see if the wardrobe would be big enough for a 'Harry Potter' experience for my son, just so we could all be together! Alas, no. Fortunately, my brother (the groom) lives along from the hotel &, although he has a full house, with some juggling he has been able to accommodate my son. So now, as I write this, it is my husband, my daughter and I in one room (double & single bed) & my son at my brother's, sleeping in his cousin's bed, the best man relegated to the sofa & my nephew sleeping with his Dad! Needless to say, we have found other sleeping arrangements for Saturday night - not at The Spinnaker!

I was really looking forward to our weekend, congratulating myself on being organised & booking well in advance to ensure a stress-free, enjoyable occasion for us all. Sadly, it has been tarnished. I have added stress to my brother's day & I am lying in a crowded bedroom feeling nauseous with anxiety. I cannot recommend The Spinnaker as a place to stay at all & I would strongly advise getting some reassurance of bookings made.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Cathlann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpinnyGourock, Manager at The Spinnaker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Sorry.
We did our best to sort out the problem.
There was a mix up with the booking through no fault of your own.
I hope outwith your Spinnaker experience you enjoyed the wedding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We booked here for a family gathering of 12 to celebrate a birthday and to say goodbye to our kiwi family returning home to NZ .
The "crew" were excellent ! Very friendly and efficient and patient with a raucous table and nothing was too much trouble for them !
The food was excellent ! Unpretentious pub grub but of excellent quality and very reasonable portions . We shared starters and the haggis pakora was melt in the mouth and the Stornaway black pudding fritters were delicious and a meal in themselves
Most of us opted for the steak pie which came highly recommended and we were not disappointed . The Cajun chicken burger also received rave reviews as did the haddock and chips !
No room for dessert unfortunately !!
Prices very reasonable and a lovely view over the Clyde

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpinnyGourock, Manager at The Spinnaker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hello Bev.
Thank you for taking the time to review the Spinnaker. I'm grateful for your feed back and hightlighting some of the aspect that help make your visit enjoyable.
I hope the New Zealand family members have recovered from the long journey both here and back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Had 3 wonderful meals at the Spinnaker Hotel. Food was imaginative and staff very friendly and courteous. I visited on one occasion with my elderly mother, and again the staff went out of their way to be helpful. I recommend the food and service and look forward to staying at the Spinnaker next time in visit Greenock

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sparkle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpinnyGourock, Owner at The Spinnaker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Spinnaker and for the complimentary feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gourock
3.9 km away
Tontine Hotel
Tontine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Greenock
328 reviews
5.0 km away
Custom House Hotel
Custom House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
108 reviews
5.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
131 reviews
5.1 km away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
269 reviews
5.2 km away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spinnaker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spinnaker Hotel

Address: 121 Albert Road, Gourock PA19 1BU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Gourock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gourock
Price Range: RM266 - RM539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Spinnaker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnaker Hotel Gourock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing