We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Half term break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bryn Awel.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bryn Awel.
Bryn Awel [on the right] Entrance to Bryn Awel.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Bryn Awel.
Bryn Awel [on the right]
Entrance to Bryn Awel.
Bryn Awel.
Bryn Awel.
Traditional wood burning stove in the living room.
Bryn Awel.
Bryn Awel.
Bryn Awel.
Bryn Awel.
Bryn Awel.
Bryn Awel.
Bryn Awel.
Bryn Awel. Bedroom.
Bryn Awel.
Bryn Awel.
Relax in the peaceful private garden.
Bryn Awel. View from the bedroom.
The local pub.
Penmachno on a frosty morning.
Penmachno, 4 miles from Betws y Coed.
Machno Valley.
Penmachno.
Penmachno.
Autumn morning mist. Penmachno.
Penmachno.
The moors above Penmachno.
Snowdon.
Welsh mountain sheep.
Welsh Mountain sheep.
Snowdonia National Park.
Penmaenpwll, near Dolgellau. Pub, RSPB reserve, bike trail and footpath to Barmouth.
Tal y Llyn. South of Dolgellau. 2 pubs serving food on the lakeside. Fishing.
Tywyn.
Bangor.
Beaumaris, on Anglesey, from Bangor.
Wild Welsh poppies.
Winter sunrise. Penmachno.
Winter sunset. Penmachno.
Blaenau Ffestiniog.
Dolwyddelan.
Nant Ffrancon.
Snowdon on an icey morning.
Looking towards Snowdon at dusk in December.
Winter sun. Llyn Tegid. Bala.
Llyn Mair, near Maentwrog.
Path from Llyn Mair to Tan y Bwlch Station, for the Ffestiniog Railway.
Below Blaenau Ffestiniog.
Blaenau Ffestiniog. 20 minutes from Penmachno.
Zip World, Bounce Below and Mountain biking at Blaenau Ffestiniog. 20 minutes from Penmachno.
Snowdonia has areas of precious temperate rainforest eco systems.
Penmachno.
Portmeirion on a winter morning.
Portmeirion.
Portmeirion.
Cnicht from Plas Brondanw. Cafe and gardens.
Cherry blossom at Plas Brondanw.
Spring snow and cloud on Snowdon, from Plas Brondanw.
Good food, local ales and views of Snowdon. Llanfrothen, close to Plas Brondanw.
Bala.
Bala.
Above Penmachno.
Penmachno.
Penmachno.
Penmachno.
North Wales hosts a number of Rally events.
Above Penmachno.
Bluebells on the hillside in the Machno Valley.
Cardigan Bay, South of Fairbourne.
Cardigan Bay.
Europe's longest Zipwire. 
Bethesda. 30 minutes from Penmachno.
The quarry at Bethesda that the Zipwire spans! An ultimate adrenaline experience!
Looking South across Cardigan Bay from Cricieth
Cricieth.
Harlech beach.
Harlech Castle from the beach.
Looking across to the Lleyn Penninsula from Harlech beach.
Penmachno.
The Smallest House. Conwy.
The Ugly House. Betws y Coed.
The famous Swallow Falls is only 5 miles from Penmachno.
Swallow Falls.
Conwy Falls Cafe. 2 miles from the cottage.
Go Below Underground Adventures is based at Conwy Falls Cafe.
Borth y Gest, near Porthmadog.
Llanberis Pass in the mist.
Llanberis.
Llyn Padern and Snowdon.
Llanberis.
Capel Curig.
Aberdyfi.
Ty Mawr Wybernant. National Trust.
Beddgelert.
Tryfan.
Siabod. Viewed from the A5 just 3 miles from the cottage.
Caernarfon.
Caernarfon.
Penmachno.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Penmachno, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DJB00
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Half term break”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Fantastic short stay at the cottage which offered fantastic value for money. Close to Betws-y-Coed and the perfect base for Mt Snowdon.

Cottage is very well appointed and comfortable.

Local pub was welcoming and child friendly with free Wifi if needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review Dave.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Bryn Awel.
Hope you are able to come back again sometime.
Kind regards.
Anne and Colin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
833Christ...
Ongar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A real find. The cottage was really lovely and comfortable. It had a well equipped kitchen with everything we needed to cook and eat in the house. The bottle of wine and Welsh cakes were a treat when we arrived. The bed was comfortable and clean. The little touches toiletries, tea, coffee were thoughtful. It made a good base to explore Snowdonia. Just wished we could have stayed longer. We visited the local pub which is only a stones throw away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Bryn Awel.
Kind regards.
Anne and Colin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H
2 reviews
“Perfect village escape”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in August 2015

My mother and I stayed in the cottage for 3 nights and can't rate it highly enough. The cottage is situated in the centre of a truly charming and characerful village that offers guests a real Welsh experience. The locals were very friendly, including at the pub which is just a stones throw away and offers reasonably priced, delicious 'pub grub'. Betws y Coed is just a ten minute drive away and has everything one would need for their stay, including many more eating options. The accommodation itself is a period building, a traditional welsh cottage, from the stone floors and beamed ceilings to the log burner and antique furniture. The kitchen is small but has everything needed to cook meals which can be enjoyed in the adjoining dining room. The beds were very comfy, with high quality linen and towels, and the shower was hot; perfect for the slightly colder weather we experienced. There's no shortage of information on things to do in the local area and should you need any further help, the owners, Anne and Colin, live in the village and are experts on the local area, talking about this beautiful region with vigour and enthusiasm; wonderful hosts. All in all an excellent stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2017
Thank you so much for the fabulous review!
We hope that you will be able to make a return visit before too long.
Kind regards.
Anne and Colin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim L
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a quiet village”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We really enjoyed our stay in this clean and cosy cottage. Situated in a quiet village and surrounded by beautiful scenery, this was the perfect place to get away from the fast pace of city life.

All images and information provided were accurate, and general communication with Anne was extremely helpful and welcoming even before we arrived!

We would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a peaceful holiday in an idyllic location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
It means a lot to us that people have a good experience of the cottage and the area. Kind regards. Anne and Colin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca J...
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Stay”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Such an amazing stay , loved the cottage so much it had such great character and we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend. I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone visiting North Wales , I was in contact with Anne and she was so helpful and approachable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you liked the cottage and enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing