We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best croissants”
Review of Cait's Cafe

Cait's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Goderich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$11
Restaurant details
Reviewed 21 August 2017

An unexpected find on an overnight trip to town. Stopped in for breakfast - friendly staff, decent espresso, and the best croissants I've ever enjoyed. My daughter and I both had chocolate croissants and they were so light and fluffy and buttery - just amazingly delicious. If we ever come back to town Cait's Cafe would be a must visit.

Almond milk is stocked, and they also had at least one vegan pastry option available during our visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chef_at_Caits, Owner at Cait's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review!

Pardon the pun, but Croissants are really the "bread and butter" of our business. :)

Cait and I visited Paris, France earlier this year and noticed that the Pain Au Chocolate there were bigger than the ones were making back home, so when we got back to the cafe we made sure that ours were light, fluffy, and world class -- just like the ones you had for breakfast the other morning.

Thanks for sharing our passion for authentic European pastry. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2017

Cait's cafe is a great little spot to stop for a quick bite in Goderich. There are a bunch of options to choose from including some desserts, sandwiches, a salad, and plenty of other quick and easy menu items. Everything was fresh and the staff were really friendly. I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 because I did find everything to be a little overpriced. It was $4 for a brownie and almost $5 for a rather small iced coffee, so if you're on a budget you might want to try somewhere else. Otherwise, Cait's is a great little place in downtown Goderich!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stefan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chef_at_Caits, Owner at Cait's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review!

We're glad you found us and enjoyed the variety of fresh pastry and lunch items on your visit. We choose to use high quality ingredients in our pastries and fast casual lunches, many of them organic and sourced locally. Our signature brownie (which is gluten free) is made with premium Lindt dark and white chocolate, and our Cait's cold brew coffee has over three shots of locally roasted cold brewed espresso which happens to be fair trade and organic.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Stopped by yesterday for lunch with my husband, son-in-law and grandson. I had the Grilled Cheese. The cheese was delicious,thick and melting; Cait's own good quality bread grilled to perfection. I was in grilled cheese heaven.
Husband had the Veggie sandwich accompanied by the local beer, Absent Landlord from The Brewery in Blythe. and son-in-law ordered and enjoyed the Italian sandwich. Grandson loved the dinosaur cookie best of all. This cafe specializes in excellent quality food using local sources. In addition to the Grilled Cheese, try the croissants, in my opinion, the best outside of France. A wide selection of teas and superb, fragrant coffees along with local beers and wines make this the perfect stop on a weekend outing. Five stars from me!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Murray-the-Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chef_at_Caits, Owner at Cait's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review!

Even though it is not part of our exceptional sandwich menu, we take take pleasure in an opportunity to elevate the humble Grilled Cheese -- come to think of it, maybe Gourmet Grilled Cheese should be part of our permanent menu :)

We are very grateful that you and your family chose to make Cait's a part of your weekend outing, and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Knowledgeable staff and quick service. Try the iced coffee special made from coffee cold-brewed in their cold-brewed Tower. Definitely will return!

Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chef_at_Caits, Owner at Cait's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thanks for your review! We're happy you enjoyed our iced coffee! It is definitely very popular and the perfect way to end a beach day. Hope to see you again soon :)

- Cait

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Warm and friendly service and loved the teas!! Located in main square. Nice decor.Well priced for such good quality.

Thank Lori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chef_at_Caits, Owner at Cait's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! We're happy you appreciate our friendly service and teas! I'm extremely passionate about our tea selection as they are all sourced from a tea sommelier! They're super high quality and fresh, and the best teas I have ever had. Hope to see you again soon :)

- Cait

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cait's Cafe also viewed

 
Goderich, Huron County
Goderich, Huron County
 

Been to Cait's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing