We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
120
123
65
53
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
123
65
53
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building dining room gledhill house the river hot tub crepes select room different buildings wedding guests fine dining overlooking the pond deluxe suite an older property beautiful spot romantic weekend bit dated caesar salad
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Quite possibly, the best smelling sheets I have ever slept in. On? Either way, a detail I never thought would be so memorable. The sheets in our room smelled fantastic. Now, as for the rest of it. Just lovely. Our room, 65, has a phenomenal balcony overlooking the, well this weekend, raging river, and a warm, exposed brick wall bedroom. The Keurig machine needs to be decalcified. That’s the worst I can come up with. Even their shampoo was really good. Which, for most hotels, their shampoos aren’t awesome. Room was quiet, bathroom is spacious, pool house is close. Get room 65. Do it. Now.

Room Tip: Room 65 has an excellent balcony
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Brittsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Even though the room we reserved had been given to someone else, the friendly staff upgraded us to a suite. Admittedly, the Inn needs a facelift, but it is clean and comfortable, and situated in idyllic surroundings. I was disappointed to find the *heated* pool too cold (19C) for swimming and the soaker tub our of commission indefinitely, but my understanding is that these issues were a number one priority for upgrades. The only real complaint I had was the coffee in the room. Worst I've ever had. Could barely choke it down. Perhaps the pot needs cleaning.

Room Tip: I like the rooms in the pool building, especially when the pool is operational.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylM1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique W, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback! We are very pleased that you have been enjoying our Inn and its beautiful surroundings. We are glad to inform you that our pool and hot tub are currently being renovated. Aside from fixing mechanical issues this area will also see a face lift. You will be pleased to know that our pool will again be properly and efficiently heated and that both the pool and tub will be operational according to the latest standards.

We have many different room styles, ranging from historical to modern, which is what many guests really appreciate about our Inn. However, being the historical place that we are, and part of the property over 120 years old we are constantly in need of updating. We are keen to continue to make the needed improvements and updates (besides regular maintenance!), but it is impossible to do it all at once.

We hope to welcome you back some time to enjoy our newly renovated pool and hot tub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

We were notified 24 hours in advance that the room we requested was not available. We considered making alternate arrangements but with such short notice, we did not feel we had sufficient time to make reservations elsewhere. So we selected an alternate room, specifying that we wanted to be close to the hot tub and overlooking the river.
Our room was freezing; the heat did not work well during our stay. I believe the warmest it got was 17 degrees C. When we arrived, we found the hot tub to be under construction and out of service! This was not mentioned to us during our reservation with guest services and it was not posted on the website. I mentioned this to the manager and she said they have been meaning to update their website. Apparently it won't be completed for a month or more.
The coffee at breakfast was awful; watered down and resembled a weak black tea more than coffee. We asked the waitress for stronger coffee and she came back with a pot Maxwell House coffee that she "found in the back". It was not drinkable either.

On the morning of our departure, the hotel turned off our water. We could not brush our teeth or shower. The manager offered to credit the bill on check out and we accepted. Only, we were credited a mere 10% for the one night. After sending a detailed email to management after our stay they offered us a free night with breakfast, as long as we pay to stay one additional night.
I have worked at a Relais & Chateau for over 10 years and I have never imagined such poor customer service. We will not be returning, even if it is free. What I really want is a refund.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank amused00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

We stayed in the River Mill overlooking the Mailtand River. The heat in the room didn't work that well. In the morning we went to have a shower and there was no hot water as the shower valve was defective. When I mentioned this upon check out the Hostess so OH! She never made an attempt to adjust our ate or offer any concession. which is terrible customer Serive.

The restaurant and the food for dinner and breakfast was excellent.

Also if you stay in the River Mill and walk to the Restaurant at after 5:30pm, as it gets pitch dark at this hour there are no sidewalks that you can safely walk on when walking over the bridge. the reason we wanted to walk this short 3-4 minute walk was so that we could have a couple of drinks with dinner and not to have to worry about any Ride Police Checks.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

Found this Inn randomly online and was very happy with the experience. Tucked away in a ravine near a pond and river, the Inn has an old world charm and rustic quality spread out over its 3 different buildings. A fresh snow fall added to the romantic ambience.

The large room (in the Glenhill House) faced the pond with a beautiful yellow brick wall, balcony, very comfortable bed. In suite coffee, fridge, two leather chairs and three big windows including the doorway out onto the balcony. The view was beautiful. Inn was very quiet (time of year no doubt). Breakfast each morning was great, tasty and fast.

The Inn staff were all great - especially at the front desk. We had a small issue with wanting the room to be a little warmer and the Inn immediately brought in a small heater that made a huge difference. Many pros to this place and the price was reasonable given the setting, the room and the service.

*If* I had to flag anything, I would suggest that perhaps the Inn needs a refresh/upgrade...there is a dated feel to certain elements. The lounge/bar area (Jonathan’s) could use proper furniture and more subdued lighting to better suit the Inn’s ambience/decor and flavour...

Overall I was happy and would definitely go back!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tntelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique W, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you so much for your time to review your experience with us. We are glad you found our little gem, carefully hidden away from this fast paced world. This historical Inn in its great location makes your stay special any time of the year! Our culinary team and dining room staff continually work hard to impress our guests' palates and fine dining experience. We are so fortunate to have a wonderful front desk crew to always be there from the moment you arrive until you're ready to make your journey back home.

We are currently renovating the pool and hot tub. We will soon have these fully operational again, not only replacing equipment but giving the whole place an entirely new look.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back, perhaps to experience the Inn at a different season and follow along with the many projects still to be done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews