We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B on steroids”

Through Windows Past
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Through Windows Past
Ranked #1 of 2 Forest B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

Spectacular is not enough to describe this place. The 1893 house is impeccably renovated. The attention to details is out of this world. Joy and Glen are a dynamic duo who are always ready to serve. The room is gorgeous (we booked the gazebo suite). The bed is sumptuous. The breakfast was a chef-like one. The interaction with other guests during breakfast was warm and full of information exchange about different backgrounds. Overall, and world class experience.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank andremoysescardoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

My girlfriend and I just spent 2 refreshing nights at this awesome B&B! The owners, Glen and Joy, provided delicious homemade breakfast each morning at a time we chose. They even went the extra mile to cook egg whites and provide non dairy alternatives for my health minded girlfriend. The B&B has 3 rooms each with its own washroom. We stayed in the Belfry room which included a great library collection. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We look forward to to staying again next summer!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

My family and I stayed in town for one night. This bed and breakfast is truly wonderful. The bed and breakfast offers three rooms. Our room had one double bed and twin bed. Shared shower. Shower pressure perfect and water hot even after three consecutive showers. Rooms have nice added touches. Perrier water, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, home made cookies, breakfast before 9:00am. The place to stay if you are ever in town.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Nadine0930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the beautiful Through Windows Past B&B in Forest this past weekend and were really blown away at how lovely it was and how thoughtful and attentive the inn keepers were. We had the Gazebo room and it was simply lovely; spacious and full of lovely little touches. We loved that there was water and perrier in the room and coffee just outside the door. The bed was super comfortable and the ensuite bathroom was a great size. What made this stay even more amazing was how great the inn keepers are. I had to be up at a ridiculously early hour as I was in town for a morning wedding that I was in the wedding party for. I asked the inn keeper Joy if it was possible to get a small breakfast early in the morning and she prepared the most lovely tray and delivered it at the impossibly early hour I'd asked for. The tray had a lovely assortment of fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, and homemade muffins - it was just amazing! I was so touched. My husband who was lucky enough to stay later in the morning enjoyed a full breakfast of eggs, fruit, hash browns, toast, etc..he loved it! This experience could not have been better! You must book this B&B if you're planning anything close to Forest.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mklaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed in the "Turret Room" which would be my suggestion to anyone visiting this B&B.Gorgeous and definitely the best room !!!! Bathroom is not an en-suite but a whole other bedroom converted into an en-suite. I actually did not realize from the pictures that this suite included a shower. It does have a walk in shower. My husband actually said, " seems weird to go to the bathroom in such a huge room!" The other rooms are also lovely and include their own bathroom . (The one room the has a bathroom a bit down the hall but is not shared ) I would also book the other rooms if the turret room was not available but I'd pout about it...lol !
I would have been even more impressed if I didn't arrive late (and tipsy) and only been staying for one night :(
Breakfast was yummy and served formally , but not stuffily. Not "city gourmet" but for sure country homemade tasty!!!!
My husband and I loved going back to our rooms after a wonderful breakfast to shower and lounge :) The house grounds are wonderful!
I have been to Sarnia/Forest many times in the last ten years visiting family. I am not sure why it took us so long to get around to this place (we've stayed at least 4 others) but, I wouldn't stay at any of them again (including for free at family's !!!)
Thank you so much for the lovely stay,
John and Leisa
PS, there is no pool but Trip adviser wont let me take it off.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leisa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Through Windows Past? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Through Windows Past

Address: 64 King St W, Forest, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0N 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Forest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forest
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back into a comfortable night’s stay and delicious breakfast in historic downtown Forest, Ontario. This victorian style home is just a few steps away from Forest's charming downtown and a short-drive to museums, conservation areas, campgrounds, over 20 golf courses, and lake Huron—known for it's beaches and beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing