We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer the Forest Golf and Country Hotel--New Ownership as of March 2016”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forest Golf and Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Forest
Reviewed 7 October 2016

This establishment has new ownership as of March 2016. Now called Forest Golf Club and Inn. New ownership has started the much needed overhaul of the grounds and building. Although the rooms are not done yet, this is in the works for the off season. I would not write this place off based on previous negative reviews before the ownership GolfNorth took it over. Amazing things have been done to the course and it is looking better and better.

Restaurant has amazing food and good selection. Looking forward to it being open in the "off" season not like previous years when it was closed. Desserts are delicious as well.

Staff are all welcoming and friendly. They all seem willing and happy to go out of way to make your feel welcome and happy, including management.

Golf packages are great price and they offer wide variety from just a room up to all inclusive that include room, meals, golf and cart. Big bonus is that you can golf at both Forest course and Port Franks Sandhills course for same price.

Looking forward to see what this hotel will look like within a years time after the inside overhaul.

Room Tip: Course view or conservation view rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 93guest21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2016

One night thankfully was all I was stayed.
The rooms are dated, stained ceiling, cracked floors, mismatched update.
I didn't want to walk in my bare feet in the room.
The sheets and bathroom did seem to be clean.
The staff were good, did what they needed to do to help me, not overly friendly that you see other places but they were ok.

The bed. Worst possible bed anywhere, Mexico has nice beds now, not this hotel.
I was thinking of trying the floor to compare them.
Didn't sleep most the night.
I would never stay here again.

Food seemed ok.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Golf course was in very good condition and we enjoyed the golf! Room was tired - broken patio door handle and the "lock" was a piece of wood resting in the track. Room was clean but stuffy - turning on the air and opening the patio door made that better within a half hour. Food in the restaurant was good - dinner was very good although service was not so much! Never were asked if we wanted coffee, dessert or another beverage. Felt rushed! Breakfast was very good and reasonably priced.

On the whole, the trip was worth the money, but mainly due to the food and golf. Staff training in hospitality is needed everywhere at this facility - golf check in was much less than friendly (although the same guy was much better the following morning), staff gave us the impression that we were bothering them when we asked for anything and waitress was efficient but lacked a friendly attitude.

If Golf North puts some money into the rooms and does some serious staff training, the ratings will improve!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out on the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

YES, we will return.


We stayed at the resort the weekend of Aug 27, thru Aug 29th. 69.00 per night CDN as golf north members. Room 129. Room was clean and in the process of being upgraded. (new carpet, TV, and satellite service) The linens, fixtures and doors were tired, locks were still broken on the sliding door, but at least they put a handle on the wooden stick to keep the door jammed.
I could not receive free wireless in my room, when i asked at the front desk, maintenance came by within 1 minute and set up a portable wireless router in my room that myself and all the other guests in our group of 12 were able to connect to! Outstanding, thank-you.

We were early to the breakfast buffet 9.99 on Sunday morning, the buffet was better than most economy buffets, and the place was packed with patrons and locals by 9 am and it seems to be the hit breakfast stop. lots of compliments on breakfast from our party of 12. Our tee time was on time. The Greens and Fairways were better than our home course, (Great job) the course played very well and was enjoyed by our whole group.
Dinner that evening was like we had the facility to ourselves (at 8:30pm) The prime rib was ordered med rare but came well done, but was replaced with the medium Rare right away.
The pool, hot tub and Sauna were open the pool was very refreshing after a day of heat on the course, and enjoyed by all who brought their swimsuits. The hot tub was a warm tub, and only some of the jets worked.

The pool closes between 9:30-10:00 pm, whenever the person on the front desk gets to it. It might be helpful to post the pool hours on the pool doors.

Our group wanted to use the sports-bar downstairs on Sunday after dinner but we were told it is closed on Sunday night.

We set up a folding table outside our rooms with our coolers and board games and had a blast playing into the early hours of the morning, and there were no complaints and the Group of 20 golfers from another party joined us for a bit.

Monday morning express breakfast was very good. Lotsa food and real home-style yummy hash browns.

After check-out and golf on Monday the resort manager came by the sports bar as we were having lunch, to make sure everything was ok, that was a really nice touch to know that they care from the top down!

As golf north completes the rest of its restoration to this resort, i am sure it will go from a 3 star to a 4.5 star. We can see the changes have started, new carpet, New tv's, new roof, pool area open. The rooms were clean, and the staff very friendly, and always ready to accommodate setting up for our group of 12.

As for golf, 25.00 (20.00 twilight, after 3) per round plus cart, this is a deal for a course this nice. golf north silver members get it for 1/2 price. 129.00 stay and unlimited play is also a great deal for non-members. We came for the golf, the price of the Inn and meals were just a bonus.

We have now established this will be an annual trip for our golf group and also our mens league group too, as they were very impressed by our positive comments about what we had to say about our great weekend.

Room Tip: Lower lever rooms, great for groups to get together, and drive carts to rooms to pick up clubs, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

My friend and I Stayed a couple of days here as we are Golf North members. Golf North took over this resort and one down the road about 15 minures (Sand Hills Golf and Resort) last April. The previous owner had allowed the property and hotel run down somewhat. Golf North is in the process of completely re-modelling the facility from the hotel to the great golf course. Golf course has all new Bridges installed, some of the rooms have been redone and a new roof was being put on during our stay. The huge inside pool and sauna are great, although we didn't get a chance to use them, but certainly will on our next trip. Room was dated, but clean and the two queen beds were comfortable. The lock on the patio door was broken, but they had a removable pole blocking the door from being opened. I am sure these little things will be on the next round of renovations next year.
Golf course was in excellent condition as was the Sand Hills course. You can't beat the $35 per round with cart. It is a 27 hole course. Golf North members only have to pay $69 per night for room. Great deal. I think the usual cost is around $120.
The $4.95 Breakfast including coffee was to die for. I am a real home fry buff and these were the best I have ever tasted. Ribs were good as well for supper.
Staff were super friendly and very accommodating, they also commented on how they are happy about working for Golf North and the changes they are making and also the plans for next year.

Room Tip: Room over looking golf course is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest
34.9 km away
Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn
32.4 km away
Oakwood Resort
Oakwood Resort
#1 of 4 in Grand Bend
467 reviews
31.1 km away
Pine Dale Motor Inn
Pine Dale Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Grand Bend
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices

Been to Forest Golf and Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Golf and Country Hotel

Address: 102 Main St S, Forest, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0N 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Forest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Forest
Price Range: RM 409 - RM 425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Golf and Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Golf & Country Hotel is a 27 hole golf course with a 75 room Hotel. There are Bars, Restaurant, Banquet Hall, Meeting Room, indoor Pool, Hot tub, Sauna, Putting Green, Horse shoe pits, Tennis Courts. This is a great Golf Getaway spot. We offer Unlimited Golf & Cart with room packages. There are Room & Golf packages and there are All inclusive packages (includes room, golf, cart, breakfast, dinner). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Forest Golf and Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing