We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Pine Dale Motor Inn(Grand Bend)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$188
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oakwood Resort(Grand Bend)
Book now, pay at stay
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$44
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
10
9
16
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
9
16
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry hotelgolf cartget awayshapeupgradessuppermarch
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We went to the restaurant for breakfast this morning, there was 5 of us, we ordered eggs, the eggs came out to us COLD and UNDER COOKED , there was 2 small peaces of bacon and the potatoes were soggy, we asked for the manager , when she can to speak with us she said that food there was GREAT and NEVER had a complaint about it EVER, told us we were wrong, and would not do any thing about it, as one of us said we would not be coming back she walked away and said she just did not care !!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

This is an old hotel/golf resort, under new management (Golf North), in the pretty town of Forest, just 20 min. south of Grand Bend and just east of Lake Huron shore. The golf course is in great shape and fun to play, one 9-hole course and one 18-hole. Good for any range of handicap. The hotel is showing its age but is starting to see upgrades from the new ownership, but it will take some time. Still, our room was clean, well maintained and very reasonable. Food in the restaurant was good, large portions (too large?), and very reasonable. Breakfast is not included in the basic package but you can get the "Express" breakfast for just $5.00. It includes 2 eggs, meat, potatoes, toast. Other menu options are available at all meals. Dinner includes live entertainment on Fridays and Saturdays. All prices are quite reasonable,
There is a large conservation (park) area next door with trails and I walked several holes on the golf course in the morning just for exercise. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating.
Hotel and golf are available independently, or as stay/play packages (with or without food options). Restaurant is also open to the public, and they have a small pub in addition. Has an indoor pool, hot-tub, sauna, all very well maintained.
Overall, I would rate this as a bit of a pleasant surprise (3.5 stars). Not a ritzy golf resort but good solid value and a very good golf experience (27 holes).

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SallyW7630202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

-pleasant personnel - at reception and in restaurant (on site)
-free wi-fi
-free parking
-stayed here for about 8 days between Feb. and March
-cleaning needs to improve (found popcorn on floor on one occasion)
(My rating would be between 2 and 3).

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank roamingprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

A group of ladies went there for a 3 day 2 night golf package. Since we had been there several times before we knew that the golf course was good. However, there hadn't been any improvements to the motel and dining since Golf North took over. The pro shop was understaffed to process the golf cart requirements etc. The restaurant food and service were poor and they definitely did not have enough trained staff to serve our group. Most of the dishes were extremely overcooked to the point some were uneatable. I doubt that we will go back until more improvements are made.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mof14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Very sad to find out there are no golf lessons here anymore.

One of the few places you can get smoking rooms anymore. Good if you're a smoker.
Those rooms are all over near the pool, so smoke and chlorine odours permeate those hallways.

Front desk is polite but doesn't seem to have much knowledge or be very helpful about what is available/services/area, etc.

They've got a hottub now that is fantastic!!!

Haven't gone out on the course yet so can't speak to that. Will report later.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank creek p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews