We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forest Golf and Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Forest
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Visited the golf and country club for the third year in a row with friends. We had a great time as usual, you can tell that they are trying to update the property as the rooms we have are needing an facelift. The front desk staff and cleaning staff are delightful and hard working although the pro shop staff need a little help on how to deal with customers. We noticed that were no on course marshals and we played behind a six person group. But my biggest criticism was that the rooms did not have the golf channel or sports net for the jays game. Really? All people that are there are sports fans.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JANET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2017

We went to the restaurant for breakfast this morning, there was 5 of us, we ordered eggs, the eggs came out to us COLD and UNDER COOKED , there was 2 small peaces of bacon and the potatoes were soggy, we asked for the manager , when she can to speak with us she said that food there was GREAT and NEVER had a complaint about it EVER, told us we were wrong, and would not do any thing about it, as one of us said we would not be coming back she walked away and said she just did not care !!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

This is an old hotel/golf resort, under new management (Golf North), in the pretty town of Forest, just 20 min. south of Grand Bend and just east of Lake Huron shore. The golf course is in great shape and fun to play, one 9-hole course and one 18-hole. Good for any range of handicap. The hotel is showing its age but is starting to see upgrades from the new ownership, but it will take some time. Still, our room was clean, well maintained and very reasonable. Food in the restaurant was good, large portions (too large?), and very reasonable. Breakfast is not included in the basic package but you can get the "Express" breakfast for just $5.00. It includes 2 eggs, meat, potatoes, toast. Other menu options are available at all meals. Dinner includes live entertainment on Fridays and Saturdays. All prices are quite reasonable,
There is a large conservation (park) area next door with trails and I walked several holes on the golf course in the morning just for exercise. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating.
Hotel and golf are available independently, or as stay/play packages (with or without food options). Restaurant is also open to the public, and they have a small pub in addition. Has an indoor pool, hot-tub, sauna, all very well maintained.
Overall, I would rate this as a bit of a pleasant surprise (3.5 stars). Not a ritzy golf resort but good solid value and a very good golf experience (27 holes).

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SallyW7630202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

-pleasant personnel - at reception and in restaurant (on site)
-free wi-fi
-free parking
-stayed here for about 8 days between Feb. and March
-cleaning needs to improve (found popcorn on floor on one occasion)
(My rating would be between 2 and 3).

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank roamingprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

A group of ladies went there for a 3 day 2 night golf package. Since we had been there several times before we knew that the golf course was good. However, there hadn't been any improvements to the motel and dining since Golf North took over. The pro shop was understaffed to process the golf cart requirements etc. The restaurant food and service were poor and they definitely did not have enough trained staff to serve our group. Most of the dishes were extremely overcooked to the point some were uneatable. I doubt that we will go back until more improvements are made.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mof14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest
34.9 km away
Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn
32.4 km away
Oakwood Resort
Oakwood Resort
#1 of 4 in Grand Bend
467 reviews
31.1 km away
Pine Dale Motor Inn
Pine Dale Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Grand Bend
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices

Been to Forest Golf and Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Golf and Country Hotel

Address: 102 Main St S, Forest, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0N 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Forest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Forest
Price Range: RM 409 - RM 425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Golf and Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Golf & Country Hotel is a 27 hole golf course with a 75 room Hotel. There are Bars, Restaurant, Banquet Hall, Meeting Room, indoor Pool, Hot tub, Sauna, Putting Green, Horse shoe pits, Tennis Courts. This is a great Golf Getaway spot. We offer Unlimited Golf & Cart with room packages. There are Room & Golf packages and there are All inclusive packages (includes room, golf, cart, breakfast, dinner). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Forest Golf and Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing