We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway location, good food, excellent staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Montana Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I attended a wedding and stayed for 4 days in this tropical paradise. The beach was georgeous and the restaurant, Eclipse, was a nice start to our day for breakfast and lunch options. The chefs here were amazing during our vacation. We also took a beach horse ride which is right next door, Tropical Trail. Everyone was very nice and accomodated our requests the best they could. Come here to have a country feel and plan to take your time when doing everything so you can enjoy. Free wifi in the rooms and restaurants. Cell reception is poor but we came here to disconnect. Also try Ola Lola's down the street.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesseroach12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinGM, General Manager at Villa Montana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Dear Jesseroach12

My team and I are so happy that you came and relaxed and enjoyed yourselves here with us at Villa Montana Beach Resort. Celebrating weddings is one of our favorite things to do here at Villa Montana Beach Resort and our goal is not only to ensure that the brides and grooms have an exceptional experience, but the wedding guests as well. We hope that even if there isn't another family wedding coming up that you will still return to enjoy a relaxing vaction with us and revel in the wonderful gastronomy of our fantastic chef Jeremie Cruz.

Gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 429 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

While the grounds are very pretty and this should be a nice place, the staff, the maintenance of the rooms, and especially the restaurant are terrible. The rooms are not as nice as pictured on the website and have measurable amounts of dust on the floors and heavy cobwebs in the corners. The restaurant, the only place to eat at the facility, is truly horrid. The staff is rude but the wait times are outrageous. For one bowl of soup for our daughter we waited over 45 minutes. When I asked when the meal would arrive, after an hour of waiting, the waitress snapped at me "this is not a fast food restaurant!" - as if I had never been to a restaurant in my life. Literally, no one at the facility said please or thank you. A mess!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinGM, General Manager at Villa Montana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Robert

We are so sorry about the terrible experience you had at our restaurant. Myself and my restaurant management will work on retraining our team to make sure that these kind of experiences do not happen again. We thank you for your comment as through this we are able to show our team members what kind of experiences our guests are having and make the necessary changes. We hope that you will try us again so that we can exceed your expectations.

Gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This is one strange place -- on one hand, in a beautiful secluded setting with a nice (albeit rocky in places) stretch of beach. It has what appear on the outside to be tastefully designed rooms and villas on or near the beatch. There are two nice pools, a playground, and a restaraunt.

But looks are very deceiving at this place (something the Lonely Planet review clearly missed regarding this hotel). As others have painfully noted, this appears to be some kind of time share as well, and the hotel customers seem to be treated like second class citizens -- a stunning indiference from management given the price of this place. For example, the first room we were offered (a single) was dirty and despressing with water and burn marks on the furniture and a bathroom straight out of a roadside motor lodge. The two bedroom we upgraded to (at our expense) was fun for the family, but also had strange obvious signs of neglect.

Incredibly, each morning we were there starting at 9am for two hours or so, there were people with ear piercing leaf blowers all over the property (at times blowing a few wet blades of grass over a mind numbing period of time when it could have been done with a broom in a few minutes). Forget about eating or sitting outside each morning -- or enjoying the pool for that matter during these times. Once there was even a staff member leaf blowing wet seaweed on the beach after a strorm! Then throughout the day the staff would buzz around on incredibly loud 4 wheelers with apparently no mufflers -- simply incredible for a high priced resort. Finally, one night (a Wednesday) we took our lilttle kids to the ocean front restaraunt at 6pm or so only to be overwhelmed by a loud DJ -- and again indifference to guests who might want to have a reasonably quiet meal with others (who knows how people in rooms dealt with the noise blasting from there for hours). Management seemed indifferent and or oblivious to the distirubances for guests (or long terms time share owners one would think as well) that all of the above created to the otherwise secluded property.

Sadly, this place is incredibly overpriced for the quality and service. We stayed in a reward-points room at the Sheraton in Old San Juan after this visit before flying home and were treated like royalty compared to the Villa Montana -- although anything would at that point!

Room Tip: negotiate hard for a room away from the restaraunt and avoid single rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisWashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinGM, Manager at Villa Montana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Chris wash

We are so sorry that your time at Villa Montana was unbearable. We thought that after you had arrived at Villa Montana the day after the hurricane had passed us from the hotel you had paid for that had no electricity and water, and after I had given you a price way, way below any of our regular prices to help you out due to your unfortunate circumstance, that you would be grateful. We did not receive one complaint from you to fix anything while you and your family were here so we do not understand where this review is coming from. We always use blowers on our 40 acre lush green property to keep it in shape otherwise it would take us months to clean it with brooms and the loveliness of our property is a great source of pride to us. Also the night you went to the restaurant happened to be our ladies night and we do have a dj from 6pm to 9pm to liven it up a bit. But any other night we do not have the dj so people can come and enjoy the serenity of the restaurant. Once again myself and my team apologise for any inconveniences you and your family experienced and we will work on fixing all the propblems you mentioned.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The handicapped rooms are very hard to access and the parking lot is not at all close to the unit. The rooms are very small which make it hard to manuver around in a wheelchair. There are no grab bars in the bathroom . My husband is an amputee and it was murder staying here for a week. The place itself itself it lovely as is the beach and gardens that surroud it however handicapped acessible is a stretch.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jr3833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

A little trepidation from all the mixed reviews but we had nothing to worry about. Either we got lucky or the management has changed. no problems with service at all - everyone encountered were friendly & professional. This is like a gated community with a private beach & a pretty sensationally appointed restaurant. If you're looking for direct oceanfront views, look elsewhere. If looking for secluded beauty, this is your place.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Su W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
12.2 km away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
319 reviews
3.9 km away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
84.8 km away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 km away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
801 reviews
25.7 km away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
108.8 km away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Montana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montana Beach Resort

Address: Carr. 4466 KM 1.9 Interior | Barrio Bajuras, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range: RM971 - RM1,719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Montana Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Montana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Montana Beach Hotel Isabela
Hotel Montana Beach
Resort Montana Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing