We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$170
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Secret view(Isabela)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
340
158
65
64
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
158
65
64
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseclipse restaurantvilla montanabeach resortpuerto ricowedding plannerzen poolwhole complexbeautiful groundsbeautiful weddingdream come truehorseback ridingliving roomlaid backtropical trail rideswasher dryersan juan airportkite surfing
Filter
Updating list...
443 - 448 of 687 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2011

While the grounds are very pretty and this should be a nice place, the staff, the maintenance of the rooms, and especially the restaurant are terrible. The rooms are not as nice as pictured on the website and have measurable amounts of dust on the floors and heavy cobwebs in the corners. The restaurant, the only place to eat at the facility, is truly horrid. The staff is rude but the wait times are outrageous. For one bowl of soup for our daughter we waited over 45 minutes. When I asked when the meal would arrive, after an hour of waiting, the waitress snapped at me "this is not a fast food restaurant!" - as if I had never been to a restaurant in my life. Literally, no one at the facility said please or thank you. A mess!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinGM, General Manager at Villa Montana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Robert

We are so sorry about the terrible experience you had at our restaurant. Myself and my restaurant management will work on retraining our team to make sure that these kind of experiences do not happen again. We thank you for your comment as through this we are able to show our team members what kind of experiences our guests are having and make the necessary changes. We hope that you will try us again so that we can exceed your expectations.

Gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This is one strange place -- on one hand, in a beautiful secluded setting with a nice (albeit rocky in places) stretch of beach. It has what appear on the outside to be tastefully designed rooms and villas on or near the beatch. There are two nice pools, a playground, and a restaraunt.

But looks are very deceiving at this place (something the Lonely Planet review clearly missed regarding this hotel). As others have painfully noted, this appears to be some kind of time share as well, and the hotel customers seem to be treated like second class citizens -- a stunning indiference from management given the price of this place. For example, the first room we were offered (a single) was dirty and despressing with water and burn marks on the furniture and a bathroom straight out of a roadside motor lodge. The two bedroom we upgraded to (at our expense) was fun for the family, but also had strange obvious signs of neglect.

Incredibly, each morning we were there starting at 9am for two hours or so, there were people with ear piercing leaf blowers all over the property (at times blowing a few wet blades of grass over a mind numbing period of time when it could have been done with a broom in a few minutes). Forget about eating or sitting outside each morning -- or enjoying the pool for that matter during these times. Once there was even a staff member leaf blowing wet seaweed on the beach after a strorm! Then throughout the day the staff would buzz around on incredibly loud 4 wheelers with apparently no mufflers -- simply incredible for a high priced resort. Finally, one night (a Wednesday) we took our lilttle kids to the ocean front restaraunt at 6pm or so only to be overwhelmed by a loud DJ -- and again indifference to guests who might want to have a reasonably quiet meal with others (who knows how people in rooms dealt with the noise blasting from there for hours). Management seemed indifferent and or oblivious to the distirubances for guests (or long terms time share owners one would think as well) that all of the above created to the otherwise secluded property.

Sadly, this place is incredibly overpriced for the quality and service. We stayed in a reward-points room at the Sheraton in Old San Juan after this visit before flying home and were treated like royalty compared to the Villa Montana -- although anything would at that point!

Room Tip: negotiate hard for a room away from the restaraunt and avoid single rooms
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisWashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinGM, Manager at Villa Montana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Chris wash

We are so sorry that your time at Villa Montana was unbearable. We thought that after you had arrived at Villa Montana the day after the hurricane had passed us from the hotel you had paid for that had no electricity and water, and after I had given you a price way, way below any of our regular prices to help you out due to your unfortunate circumstance, that you would be grateful. We did not receive one complaint from you to fix anything while you and your family were here so we do not understand where this review is coming from. We always use blowers on our 40 acre lush green property to keep it in shape otherwise it would take us months to clean it with brooms and the loveliness of our property is a great source of pride to us. Also the night you went to the restaurant happened to be our ladies night and we do have a dj from 6pm to 9pm to liven it up a bit. But any other night we do not have the dj so people can come and enjoy the serenity of the restaurant. Once again myself and my team apologise for any inconveniences you and your family experienced and we will work on fixing all the propblems you mentioned.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The handicapped rooms are very hard to access and the parking lot is not at all close to the unit. The rooms are very small which make it hard to manuver around in a wheelchair. There are no grab bars in the bathroom . My husband is an amputee and it was murder staying here for a week. The place itself itself it lovely as is the beach and gardens that surroud it however handicapped acessible is a stretch.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jr3833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

A little trepidation from all the mixed reviews but we had nothing to worry about. Either we got lucky or the management has changed. no problems with service at all - everyone encountered were friendly & professional. This is like a gated community with a private beach & a pretty sensationally appointed restaurant. If you're looking for direct oceanfront views, look elsewhere. If looking for secluded beauty, this is your place.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Su W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Villa Montana is a beautiful resort! Remote & tranquil - relaxation at its best!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews