We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel...but the parking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Everything about this hotel is wonderful, gorgeous and beautiful. But the valet parking really sucks! Waited over 15 minutes about 4 times out of the week we were there. Twice made us late for appointments even after calculating how long it would take to get our car. We almost missed our flight and a luau. Then they charge you $30 a day for the privilege! This was enough for us not to want to return.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank O806CGcharlest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 251 of 6,742 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Our experience was truly unforgettable. This was the most impeccable hotel we have ever stayed in, and we've been all over the world. The perfectly manicured surroundings, koi ponds, wedding chapel etc were breathtaking. The service and amenities could not have been improved upon, especially the one night we used room service and ate dinner on our lanai overlooking the ocean. When we requested a microwave for the room it was delivered promptly. The only downside was that we went at a time of year when they were doing construction on 8 of the 9 pools and only 1 was open. This caused everyone to be using the same pool-including children doing cannonballs on top of the poor adults who just wanted to relax. Apparently children don't attend school anymore in October! But pool wait staff circulated every 10 min., and there was a wonderful adjoining bar and restaurant offering perfect sunset views. They also have their own HUGE beach with free cabanas where we could see 3' turtles swimming with us! So there was plenty of swimming opportunities despite the construction. Because of the hotel layout, you must use the valet parking, but it was made clear to us that this was included in the price and tipping was optional. Although you can walk to nearby restaurants and a great mall with outlets, I would recommend a car in order to visit Lahaina-amazing feast/luau there! Even the most discriminating customer would have a difficult time finding fault with this extraordinary resort!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 408Sly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel. My wife and I just had our honeymoon there and it was a great location. Amazing beach and breakfast food! One of the pools was under renovation during our stay, but other than that all locations were open. The beach chairs were a first come first serve. We only tried the Kula restaurant inside the hotel for food. It was a good restaurant... Would try their pizza! Would recommend this place!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sumith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We spent a week in the hotel. Great place that has everything you need. Beach is amazing. Customer service is great. Since the pool was under renovation, they had all these other activities for free which was much better for me since I am not the pool person. Even though hotel was big, we never felt like there is too many people. It has enough space for everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asta55113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We had a great time at this hotel. Since the hotel was renovating the pools they went above their ways in trying to make the best of the situation. The rooms were comfortable with a good view. The breakfast was great and we enjoyed all the birds that join you and my daughter absolutely loved the kids club.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpaige1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
1 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
42.3 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
525 reviews
0.4 km away
Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
1 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
1.4 km away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wailea
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: RM 1,977 - RM 4,123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing