We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$718
US$669
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$339
US$309
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
US$1,177
US$839
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
Book now, pay at stay
US$704
US$549
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$632
US$588
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Book now, pay at stay
US$1,545
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,206)
Filter reviews
1,207 results
Traveller rating
997
142
45
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
997
142
45
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonmercedes suvhighly recommend hotelchose hotelaerial yogafridge and freezercar servicenespresso machinemixology classpool areafire pitsmall kitchentop notchromantic getawayocean viewprivate lanaithe hotel offers
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 1,207 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We recently stayed at Hotel Wailea for a week using the AmEx Fine Hotels and Resorts Program. With this, we received a $60 credit each day for breakfast, as well as a $100 resort credit.

We booked an oceanfront (073) unit. The view was incredible-overlooking a hill with wide views of west Maui, Molokini crater, and Kahoolawe. The resort itself is a lush private oasis-waterfalls flowing through (with koi swimming), manicured tropical plants, lit private pathways, and glowing lanterns hanging from the trees. The buildings are very quiet and the lanais are perfect for watching the sunset, whale watching, or just taking in an afternoon nap. The resort is set high upon a hill with about a mile or so distance to the beaches-directly leading to Polo Beach and direct access to other resorts in the area. We loved doing the downhill/uphill trek down to the Wailea Beach Trail to get in some exercise each day. As we had our own rental car, we did not use the complimentary shuttle service, but we saw many other guests using it without any issue. The location of the resort was perfect-close to many resort restaurants on the beach, shopping center, and beach activities. It was also situated conveniently to the airport (about 35 min), Paia (Mama's Fish House-about 35 min), and Lahaina (about 40 min or so).

We really enjoyed our breakfasts each morning-the food is fresh, presented well, and the service was wonderful. Try the avocado toast-the marinated tomatoes are unreal. We did eat at the restaurant on our first full night there, and we really enjoyed our meals. We also enjoyed light lunches and drinks at the pool-the drinks are fantastic and the truffle fries are some of the best fries I have ever had (I am still dreaming about them).

We visited several other "luxury resorts" in the area for mostly dinners, and we were able to get an idea of what they were like during our morning hikes. At first, we were a little unsure of not being directly on the beach. I have to say, after spending time at Kea Lani, Four Seasons, Andaz, etc....we were so so glad that we stayed at Hotel Wailea. If you are looking for a private, quiet and peaceful vacation, then this is the spot for you. We left the resort (although sadly) feeling rested, recharged, and thankful to have been able to experience Maui this way.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is amazing if you are willing to pay for the upgrade. We had a lot of fun whale watching from our balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
12  Thank shanonl451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusSchale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for your very thoughtful review and five stars. I am so pleased that we fit you perfectly for your getaway, and that you enjoyed the tranquil setting away from the beachfront crowds. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Maui and to Hotel Wailea in the future!

Warm regards,
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Came here from the UK as a birthday treat and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. It is set in a large garden area with loads of space between the buildings in this adults only atmosphere.
The rooms are spacious and allow for relaxing.
They lay on a number of activities which you should make use of. From the mixology session to different types of yoga and the weekly jaunt out-on an outrigger.
We had a car but still made use of the free local shuttle(on demand!) most nights.
The pool area is perfect and not over crowded with seats available everyday.
Everything is clean and well attended to.
Instead of calling out individual names I think it’s only fair to say that everyone here does a fantastic job to make it a stay to remember.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Gooner_JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusSchale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Mahalo for your comments and excellent review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the experiences we offer. We all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

The Hotel Wailea was a great hotel to start our honeymoon off at. It's serene atmosphere and grounds, and top notch staff really allowed us to relax and for the most part not have to worry about anything. There was an issue where the fire alarm in our room went off on our 2nd night there, but the hotel admirably stepped up and fixed everything to our satisfaction. The Guest services staff really are top notch, and their recommendations were all wonderful. Jackie T and Leah L, big shout out for arranging things. Also, thank you to Chris M. for coming through and helping get the honeymoon back on track. Everything ended up awesome and we had a wonderful overall stay. We would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank grinincali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusSchale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for your review and five stars. I am very pleased that you enjoyed yourself and our staff made you feel special on your very special occasion. We all hope to welcome you back to Hotel Wailea in the near future!

Warm regards,
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

This is a different type of hotel in a lovely location up above Wailea. Terrific views & accommodations are comfortable. Food & beverage adequate; we stayed here a few years ago. Pleasant and peaceful atmosphere. Apparently it’s now an adults-only hotel .. read a great review of it in the Maui News local paper.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Mkpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusSchale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for your review, and I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed designed for couples, with privacy, romance and relaxation as the cornerstone of everything we do. I look forward to welcoming you both back to Hotel Wailea again!

Warmest regards,
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Adults only / recommended gem high up on the hill in Wailea. A must-stay for honeymooners, romantic getaways, and any other sophisticated adults looking for a hotel that will live up to all your expectations and more. We didn't want to leave and there really aren't many reasons to leave! The entire staff makes you feel very comfortable being a guest at this hotel. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
11  Thank Dane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusSchale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and felt so comfortable in our peaceful, private environment. I agree - we are an ideal property for a romantic couple escapes welcome the opportunity to host you both again!

Warmest regards,
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews