We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
42 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity
US$999
View deal
Expedia.comUS$999
PricelineUS$999
Booking.comUS$999
Hotels.comUS$999
TripadvisorUS$999
FindHotelUS$999
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,604)
Filter reviews
1,604 results
Traveller rating
1,112
296
104
43
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,112
296
104
43
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool food truck market kitchen water slides arrival departure ocean front wailea beach game room platinum member oceanfront room island gourmet kid pool walking path ground floor our honeymoon an upgrade self parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 1,604 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2022

We have been to this hotel many times over the years, and it is always nice to return. While covid has ruined most things, the ocean and the whales don't care. We had an ocean view room up off the ground, which was fine. You don't spend much time in the room so the view is not that big of a deal. We did have a great spot for the New Year's Eve fireworks, which were great once again. Our room was quiet (not a tower room) despite being next to the kid pool, so we were happy with that. Note that by six in the morning the pool chairs all had towels on them being saved, without one person actually being there. Not much the hotel can really do, except they do move stuff off chairs if you are gone too long. Look for breakfast at the whale tale, as the hotel's buffet is ridiculously over priced (as is dinner there). Lunch next to the adult pool is worthwhile, especially since everything else is in Kihei.

Room tip: I would try for Hale 7. We have been about everywhere but that seems to be the best blend of quiet and location.
Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marcus81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2022

Dear marcus81,

Aloha, and mahalo for sharing about your stay at Wailea Beach Resort. We are happy to know you enjoyed the beautiful fireworks from your well-appointed room and that you had a pleasant time dining near the adult pool. We appreciate you returning to our hotel and look forward to your next visit.

In the Spirit of Service,
Stacy Morataya-Pilkington
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2022 via mobile

My partner and I had the best experience with Blinnk Photography. Our photographer, Rene, was the best. Our photos came our beautiful! Vincente helped us find the perfect photos and select the perfect package. Thank you so much for the incredible experience!

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kerryjG9052FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2022

Dear kerryjG9052FP,

Aloha, and mahalo for sharing about your stay at Wailea Beach Resort. We are happy to know your Babymoon Photo session with us was a great one. We are also delighted you were impressed with the service you received from our knowledgeable associates and that you and your partner enjoyed your time with us. We will be sure to share your compliments with our team. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

In the Spirit of Service,
Stacy Morataya-Pilkington
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2022 via mobile

I’m a lifetime titanium elite member and used points for the 7 night stay for 3 adults. Decided to pay for an upgrade to ocean view and we were very pleased by the top floor Hale 4 2-queen-bed room offered to us. Greatly enjoyed the view from the balcony overlooking the Serenity pool and ocean, and were able to spot whale plumes from there frequently. Bring binoculars during humpback migration season! Microwave oven was provided upon request, and room had mini fridge and Nespresso. We especially want to applaud the hotel for providing reusable metal water bottles (which you can take with you or leave behind for the hotel to recycle) and convenient ice machines and water refill stations. Comfy bedding, good temperature control, good shower-bathtub. Two convenient laundry rooms using coin (change machine available) or credit card. We used the one on the main tower ground floor (the other would be in Hale 7), it had 2 washers (30 minutes) and dryers (55 minutes), each $3.50 and detergent was $2. We thought the prices were reasonable as the machines took full loads.

Service throughout our stay was excellent, from check in to daily room service to check out. Loved the waterproof wristlet room keys that worked for parking exit! Note that they wouldn’t work for parking entry so just take a ticket and discard it. Self parking ($30 daily + tax) was convenient, lots were tiny so most ended up using 3 lots for 2 bigger cars, but there were enough spots outdoors. Very pleased by seeing recycle bins conveniently co-located with trash bins at the car park.

We had the complimentary continental breakfasts (a drink, pastry of the day and a fruit cup) at Starbucks or Whales Tale most mornings. Starbucks had better fruit cups and included all their specialty drinks in the free breakfast, you could pay $2 or $3 to upgrade to the savory breakfast offerings; Whales Tale better pastry of the day (loved the almond bear claws and guava turnovers) and excellent unsweetened ice tea, and also included lattes in the free breakfast. We skipped the fruit cups for extra pastry. Whales Tales had nice outside tables while Starbucks was takeout only. Lines started after 7:45 am or so but minimal wait before that.

Hotel was very conveniently located. It was only a 5-minute walk to The Shops at Wailea with many retail shops and the Island Gourmet Market, excellent for snacks - the cut papaya and the ube (purple sweet potato) were particularly good; also try the Halo Halo at the drink counter. Ulua beach to the north and Wailea beach to the south were each reached on foot 5 minutes on the ocean front beach path. We enjoyed the beaches but snorkeling off the beaches were not ideal (too murky) compared to Molokini. Tip: snorkeling tours using rafts, leaving from Kihei 5 minutes north by car, had short 15-minute travel time to the crater if all you want is snorkeling and don’t care about sailing or food/alcohol. Please use reef safe (mineral) sunblocks (titanium or zinc dioxide)! We saw that much of the shore corals were dead and chemical sunblocks (oxybenxone/octinoxate) are a big part of the problem. Molokini thankfully was still wonderful. You can see it from the beach path and Whales Tale.

We only experienced 2 of the 5 pools - the adult-only infinity pool (Maluhia/Serenity) and the adventure pool (Nalu) with the awesome water slides, said to be the highest in Maui! Really fun. Pool attendants were very careful with guest safety at the 2 tall slides (48” minimum height was strictly enforced and the attendant watched every exit before allowing a new entry). There were 2 smaller slides with no height requirement that were good too, in case you have disappointed young ones. Hotel provided unlimited towels conveniently at the pools - never seen them run out. There were water stations at the pools, and at the Serenity pool, we also saw attendants walked around giving out complimentary cold water bottles, and sunblock upon request. The Serenity pool was particularly great for sunset viewing at the infinity edge. Hotel gave us complimentary Mai Tai vouchers and we enjoyed one each at the 2 pools we tried and took one out from Kapa Grill - they were properly made (not weak). We also had dinner twice at the Humble Market Kitchin (will review separately). While the pools were not empty, they were not horribly packed, given that this was the new year week. The beach path and ocean front were perfect sites (5-minute walk towards Wailea beach) for the fantastic New Year’s Eve fireworks; absolutely gorgeous unobstructed views.

The daily resort fee had increased from $38 (2021) to $45 (2022) - a small surprise upon checkout as even our receptionist didn’t know about the increase. We didn’t try any of the many services the fee covered, but that’s our choice. Maui (and Hawaii in general) was expensive, but understandable given that the islands are relatively far away from the mainland and most things (including seasonal workers) have to be brought in at a higher cost. Everyone we met in and outside of the hotel had been helpful and welcoming, and we appreciated it!

Last but not least, we want to applaud the hotel for the beautiful landscaping and immaculate grounds maintenance. Loved the koi pond! It had one of the biggest koi we’ve seen. And a mad heron (because many of the koi was larger than it) actually trying its luck (no success while we watched). Oh, and not to forget the resident cats around the hotel. While not ostentatiously “luxurious”, the overall appearance of the hotel was low key and soothing, in keeping with the relaxation and island vibes. Again, every hotel personnel we met was friendly and helpful without exception. Overall a perfectly wonderful stay!

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Traveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2022

Dear Traveler65,

Aloha, and mahalo for being a valued Marriott Bonvoy Titanium Elite member and for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us at Wailea Beach Resort. We are delighted to know you loved not only our well-appointed accommodations featuring spectacular views and our enriching amenities as well as activities but also our delicious breakfast and prime location. Steps away from beautiful beaches, shopping, dining, and entertainment, we enjoy providing our guests with the perfect place to explore Wailea! It is also a pleasure to read you were impressed with the exceptional service provided by our associates and that you were able to take advantage of our sparkling outdoor pools and two of the longest resort water slides in Hawaii. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you along with your family again in the future.

In the Spirit of Service,
Stacy Morataya-Pilkington
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2022 via mobile

Awesome hotel in wailea that I’d definitely recommend to both couples and families as they have a ton of daily activities. The hotel is within walking distance of shops, restaurants and a market and they provide local shuttle access so you could easily not have a car. I’d recommend lunch at the poolside restaurant as my wife loved the sushi and I enjoyed the desserts and chicken sandwich. The rooms are normal hotel sizes and the only downside was the complimentary breakfast for elites. I was hoping for a hot breakfast at a restaurant but it instead was a fruit cup (quality of fruit was amazing), coffee or tea, and a pastry.

Room tip: Take a morning walk or jog along the beach trail
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bmac2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2022

Dear Bmac2012,

Aloha, and mahalo for taking the time to review your stay at Wailea Beach Resort and for recommending us to future travelers. It is delightful to know you loved our elegant resort and the thoughtful activities we offer, as well as our great location. Steps away from beautiful beaches, shopping, dining, and entertainment, we enjoy providing our guests with the perfect place to explore Wailea! We are also glad to read about your pleasant dining experience at our on-site restaurant, KAPA Bar & Grill. However, we regret not meeting your expectations with the breakfast we serve. We are grateful for your valuable feedback, as it helps us improve. We look forward to seeing you along with your family again on your next visit to Maui.

In the Spirit of Service,
Stacy Morataya-Pilkington
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2022 via mobile

Just finished a 4-night stay and absolutely loved it! Beautiful property that feels more intimate, secluded than some of the other Wailea properties; yet, still has the perks of a Marriott property.

Gorgeous ocean front view rooms. It was truly incredible. Only three stories in most of the buildings, so again, felt intimate rather than the huge 10-15 story resorts. We were in Hale 6, third floor - which I could not recommend more if you’re planning on spending time at the adult pool or adventure pool.

On that note, we loved the adult pool. Easily could grab chairs if you’re there by 8-9am but we also got really lucky everyday we came in the afternoon after activities.

Lastly, the staff was so gracious and went above and beyond whenever they could. We definitely plan to come back!

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank cac923
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2022

Dear cac923,

Aloha, and mahalo for sharing about your stay at Wailea Beach Resort. We are thrilled that we were able to delight you with our luxurious style, service, and convenience. We understand the importance of the details that make up a great experience, and we are so pleased to know that our devoted associates, premium pools as well as ocean-inspired rooms with balconies boasting stunning views enhanced your time with us. We are tremendously grateful for your kind remarks, and we look forward, with great anticipation, to your next visit!

In the Spirit of Service,
Stacy Morataya-Pilkington
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews