We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A calm and relaxing oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Clyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2017

This was our second stay at Hartley Homestead.

Previously we stayed in the annex suite above the garage.

This time we stayed in a room in the the house which does not have an en suite. You do have to walk through the house to get to the bathroom (the shower is worth the walk). So be aware of that. The period features of the house more than make up for the lack of en suite. I loved that our room had blackout curtains. The beds are incredibly comfortable. The garden view from our room was stunning.

Euan is a very congenial and relaxed host who is assisted ably by Jazz the spaniel.

He makes a great breakfast and has a wonderful coffee machine. No, as a previous review stated you do not get breakfast in bed but we did eat breakfast in the garden and that was far superior.

Thanks Euan for a lovely stay, we look forward to staying with you again.

Room Tip: If you want privacy book the annex. If you enjoy meeting other people and want to stay in a period...
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karenholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euan M, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2017

I appreciate you taking the time to write this lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2016

We stayed in The Retreat, a secluded loft, located adacent to the main house, in Dec 2016 prior to cycling the Otago Central Rail Trail. The owner was welcoming and charming, as was his spaniel. Euan unexpectedly provided us with a sumptuous breakfast. We would love to stay their again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RobbyPin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euan M, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2017

I appreciate you taking the time to write a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

I cannot begin to understand the previous unfavourable review. My husband and I just spent a night in 'The Retreat' - i.e., the unit above Euan's garage, and we couldn't be more pleased with the accommodation.

The apartment was wonderful: quiet, extremely comfortable (the superking bed was a definite highlight), and with all the little luxuries (fluffy robes, chocolates, slippers etc) that make a stay special. WIFI and TV worked perfectly, the view over the beautiful garden was great (no laundry to be seen!), and while a portion of the ceiling is certainly sloped you would have to extremely careless (or 7' tall) to bump your head on it. Euan is an excellent host; he welcomed us with a complimentary glass of local pinot noir, and was full of suggestions for places to visit and eat (Paulina's Restaurant was a great recommendation). Breakfast (served in the Breakfast Room, as one would expect at a B&B, which is not a hotel with room service, after all) was hearty and very tasty.

All in all an extremely enjoyable stay; we just wish we could have spent more than a single night there. We will certainly return if we're ever in the area again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 'The Retreat' above the garage is fantastic.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GertrudeBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euan M, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Thanks for the great review. I hope you managed try some of the local wine on your drive north. By the way, Jazz say's hi. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

We stayed in the 'best' room in this establishment. Advertised as a hotel but more of a lodge. Our room was above the garage and all noise from below came clearly through the floor. The ceiling was the most interesting ... VERY sloped - if you stood up from the couch you bumped your head! The toilet and shower were downstairs, next to the garage. The view was the clothesline and garden. The wine and cheeseboard were offered just before we went for dinner on Saturday night, and we would have been expected to go to the main house and share it with other occupants. These poor people all stayed in the house and shared one bathroom. Breakfast was not delivered but was in the main house - all a bit strange for the price paid. TV didn't go and was replaced - Channel 1,2,3, Bravo and Shine (religious programmes) - NO sky! All in all a very poor stay for the price. One positive - the ed was comfortable.

Room Tip: None available here.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euan M, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Dear Guest,

It was great hosting you and your partner the over the other weekend. I can see by your review you had a few issues. As you can see by our name "Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed & Breakfast" we're a B&B not "Hartley Homestead Boutique Hotel/Lodge". Unfortunately Booking.com appears to bundle everyone under the Hotel category.
Guests in the main house have access to 2 lovely bathrooms. Being a Bed & Breakfast we don't do room service. I don't know what noise you heard from the garage and I apologize if it disturbed you. I'm pleased to know you thought the bed was comfortable. You can see with other reviews guests were pleased with the property and my hosting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Comfy warm beds, lovely clean and modern bathroom. All the little extras, chocolates, robes, slippers but such a great host! Euan went above and beyond to make us feel relaxed and welcome. Nothing was hard, such a great stay, we just needed more time :) !

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clyde hotels
0.6 km away
Olivers Central Otago
0.4 km away
Antique Lodge Motel
Antique Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Clyde
71 reviews
1.2 km away
Argyll on Clyde
Argyll on Clyde
#1 of 3 in Clyde
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Picnic Creek B&B
Picnic Creek B&B
#4 of 9 in Clyde
10 reviews
0.5 km away
Clyde Motel
Clyde Motel
#9 of 9 in Clyde
8 reviews
0.2 km away
The Workshops
The Workshops
#5 of 9 in Clyde
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Address: 23 Pyke Street | Central Otago, Clyde 9330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Clyde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Clyde
Price Range: RM533 - RM823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast is a grand 1900s mud brick homestead surrounded by almost an acre of lawns and mature gardens on the banks of the picturesque Clutha River. A few minutes stroll from restaurants, cafés and bars of the historic gold mining township of Clyde and within walking distance of the Otago Central Rail Trail, Hartley Homestead is the ideal base for spending time exploring all that Central Otago has on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing