We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Antique Lodge Motel(Clyde)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyll on Clyde(Clyde)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Clyde 13(Clyde)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
134
12
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
12
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubrail trailglass of winefruit treesour recent visitexcellent roseboutique bed and breakfastcomfortable bedsmemorable stayclutha riverbreakfast was deliciousquiet streetread a bookmin walknew zealanda great staylocal wine
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We had a great stay at Hartley Homestead. Warm atmosphere and exceptionally clean place. Euan was a very helpful host and made us feel most welcome. We enjoyed breakfast and Euan is a dab hand as a barista.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Coachese2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euan M, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to review my property. It is always heartwarming to hear that my cooking and coffee was appreciated. Euan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We would highly recommend Hartleys. Euan is a fantastic host, kind and inviting, helping us to make the House our own. From his dinner recommendations coming through via email the month before we arrived (to make sure we booked in advance for the very popular Olivers), to the homemade cooked breakfast on Saturday morning, we were impressed with every part of our stay. The House is warm and comforting, and his dog is just gorgeous. The extra touches of bathrobes and recommendations on where to go for an afternoon walk were above and beyond. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hartleys to anyone travelling in Clyde and wanting a unique experience.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EarthlyAmbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euan M, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review, I hope Jazz didn't make to much fuss when you had your breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

No mean feat, being outstanding in Clyde. It's a town full of very, very good hospitality. But this charming small establishment really manages to nail it. I could wax lyrical about any manner of accommodation details but really, it is always down to the host. And the host, Euan, is great. Just read the other reviews - it's all there.

That is what makes Central Otago unique. It is a quintessential South Island experience offered by those who know it best - people who live and love their part of the world and offer it proudly and with hugely generous spirit. Euan, (a refugee from the North Island he admits!) epitomises that spirit. A wonderful experience. Book immediately.

Room Tip: Front rooms face a lovely cottage garden.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euan M, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you Sally for your sweet review. Hopefully I'll see you back here when you decide to do the full Rail Trail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Ewan was a great host, very welcoming the room was well appointed
with everything well catered for. The home is on a large section which
is so quiet with the windows wide open it was so peaceful. We were
served a cooked breakfast over Ewans breakfast bar as he cooked and
we chatted, a very tasy start to the day. a lovely personal stay

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mariag00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euan M, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

I appreciate you taking the the time to write your lovely review. Chatting to my guests is my favorite part of the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Visited here before journeying to Middlemarch along the Otago Rail Trail. I stayed here an extra night to spend time cycling along the Clutha River and partake in the odd wine tasting. Top tip, research and get appointments at Vineyards that don't have an open door or are out of season. Clyde has a understated beauty that matches Arrowtown less the tourist traffic.

The homestead is run by Euan, an energetic and very relaxed Kiwi, who has a gentle, friendly approach to hosting guests. It is peacefully situated opposite the river and allows you the space just to be and the opportunity to be more adventurous. I will return and spend more of my precious holiday time here.

Many thanks Euan and has English Springer, Jazz.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euan M, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Thanks Mark for your review. I hope you got to taste some spectacular IPA's on your ride.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews