We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote getaway”

Hunts Beach Accommodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hunts Beach Accommodation
Reviewed 28 June 2016

There are 3 self-contained units run by the 10th generation local family and primarily aimed at fishermen and hunters. The units are fairly small and the interior is standard motel decor apart from a few interesting touches such as the home-sawn timber benchtops.
What stands out about this place is the hospitality of the owners who can provide everything from home-cooked meals to fishing rods. We're not into fishing or hunting but enjoyed the rugged windswept beach.
Continental breakfast was included and consisted of cereal, bread for toast, tinned fruit, yoghurt and home baked muffins and was left in our room for the next morning.
There's no mobile phone reception, no WiFi and no shops - this is truly getting away from it all.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2015

A great getaway were one can truly find there inner self. weather your thing is long romantic walks on the beach. stunning sunsets with a bottle of wine. pristine waters for trout fishing, surfcasting, white baiting, hunting, kayaking, searching the beach for bluestone, or just relaxing and enjoying wonderful company. this is the spot for you. an absolute must stay place on your trip down the west coast.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kylerobson665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We found this brilliant B&B by chance but it turned out to be fantastic. Our hosts were very kind and generously introduced us us to the delight of whitebait patties as the whole of the west coast seemed to be going crazy on fishing for these little treasures. Our kids had fun on the river in the kayaks and we enjoyed the very modern and nicely furnished holiday house. Not sure how to avoid the sandflies on the beach. Great quiet comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed one night with family, and our hosts Nicky and Jeff could not have been more helpful. A cot was provided for our baby son, and the cottage was lovely and warm. The area and scenery are lovely, although as the previous reviewer mentioned, you are in the middle of nowhere so stock up with supplies beforehand. The cottage is a stones throw from the beach, with mountain views just behind. For an idyllic "getting away from it all" stay, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CantonasDouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We spent one evening here but wish we could have stayed for longer, will be back for sure! Hosts were very helpful and provided us with a lovely breakfast the morning of our departure. You do need to come armed with your own food supplies we were told there was a basic store just down the road and the nearest town is 20 min drive. Will be back to stay armed with fishing rods next time!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trippin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) hotels
0.0 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,388 reviews
0.0 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,205 reviews
0.0 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
361 reviews
0.0 km away
Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
#1 of 1 in Lake Moeraki
222 reviews
0.0 km away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunts Beach Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunts Beach Accommodation

Address: Hunts Beach Road | Hunts Beach, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7842, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Price Range: RM416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunts Beach is located 35km south of Fox Glacier and 70km north of Haast. Hunts Beach is set in the backdrop of the Southern Alps with views of both Mount Cook and Tasman. Hunts Beach is a secluded spot but is a popular destination for local fishermen who come to fish for whitebait. Brown trout kahawhai and many other sea species. We offer fully self contained units and provide breakfast for our guests should they wish. Fox Glacier is the nearest township from Hunts Beach where there are many restaurants and a general store. The Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe is situated 20 minutes south and is open during the day only.We are happy to accommodate both those here for a short stay or the angler, hunter or traveller who wish to stay for a longer period. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing