We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Shame!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elwha Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 14 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
LAWRENCEVILLE
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Such a Shame!”
Reviewed 19 June 2006

Such a shame, really!!!
Out of a 2 week adventure from Portland, OR to Victoria, BC and into Olympic National Park...this was the only location I wanted to leave the moment I saw the room we had reserved!
This is such a great log cabin, with stunning views of the Elwa River and the mtn range of the Olympics. The view from the lower deck of the "suite" we stayed in was beautiful, but the view from the breakfast area upstairs, almost takes your breath away. The owners are a sweet pair, who shared great stories with us, particularly the Mrs., who grew up in the area. We followed some great hiking reccommendations and hiked to Olympic Hot Springs (the locals only hot springs, not maintained by the parks-great place!).

What does take your breath away is the "suite" itself. As a previous reviewer wrote, the decor and furniture appear to be discards and really need to be thrown out!! The entire suite needs to be redone. The carpet was old and dreary and the place was not spic and span. The place was overall a tad creepy, felt like you were sleeping in someone's basement. in fact my daughter didn't want to sleep by herself in her bedroom!

Thus could be an outstanding location if the rooms could be brought up to date and were made to make you feel welcomed!!

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingMomGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    5
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
COLUMBUS
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2005

The Elwah Ranch has a great location to the National Park. It is a lovely setting. The furnishings were a little disappointing, especially given the price per night. The breakfasts were fabulous but we were subjected to Christian music and decorations and paraphanalia everywhere in the room and dining area. If you are Christian you will appreciate that but if you aren't, it is a little too much. We were told our last night was not available, even though we had confirmed our dates by mail. We had not identified ourselves as Christian and wondered if that is why we were told we didn't have a room the last night.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank penren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Angeles hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 May 2005

This B&B is beautiful...but only outside. I will preface my review by saying that everything was incredibly clean-which is more important to me than it being pretty. However, I felt, like the other reviewer, that the rooms were decorated with cast off furniture & stuff that probably should've been tossed back in the 80s. The microwave in the kitchen was so old we were afraid to use it. There is WAY too much stuff just sitting around as 'decoration' and it just appears cluttered. The doll lamp is totally creepy, there are odd paintings of ships, racoons, a rocking-horse piggy bank to name a few and on top of this there is a a whole lot of religious stuff...very strange. I think this could be improved upon greatly by decreasing the amount of 'stuff' in the place, maybe replacing the carpet and minimize the decoration so people can focus on the great view. ''Less is more'' is not a concept these folks understand.

All in all, we slept well & had a good laugh at some of the crazy junk in the suite. The folks who run it are very sweet. I'd reccommend only if you're not looking to sit inside to relax & enjoy the place-which we were after a long day of travel/hiking.

If you do stay there-granny's restaraunt down the street which looks a bit odd and in the middle of nowhere actually is quite good!!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 August 2004

We spent our honeymoon in the cabin and it was wonderful! The view inspiring, the breakfast was outstanding and you couldn’t ask for two nicer, more hospital owners outside of the South. I highly recommend the Elwha Ranch Bed and Breakfast!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Texas, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2003

If you stay in one of the two units in the main house, you will have a view that is almost beyond compare ... amazingly beautiful mountains by day; many stars by night. If the view is what is important, stay here.
If you desire sophisticated decor or creature comforts, look elsewhere.

Cons: No housekeeping service at all (the trash wasn't even emptied); mismatched/cast off furnishings; dangerous at night if you try to get to your room after dark (you have to navigate varous levels of stairs in the pitch dark); from the master bedroom, you can hear every footstep in the kitchen upstairs; no kleenex in room; thin towels laundered without fabric softener.

Pro or Con (depending on how you fell about it): The experience totally feels like you're staying at Grandma's house...you don't really mind the thin towels or the fridge that won't make ice or the creaky floors 'cause you like Grandma.

Pros: Fabulous view; kittens; the night before we left, the owner brought us slices of the best pie I've ever had in my life. She not only made the pie, but she had just picked the cherries!

Helpful?
3 Thank Missypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
15.9 km away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,617 reviews
14.6 km away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,985 reviews
5.6 km away
A Hidden Haven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Lake Crescent Lodge
Lake Crescent Lodge
#1 of 15 in Olympic National Park
800 reviews
11.5 km away
Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites
Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites
#8 of 14 in Port Angeles
168 reviews
25.3 km away
Domaine Madeleine
Domaine Madeleine
#2 of 14 in Port Angeles
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elwha Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elwha Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Property: Elwha Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Address: 905 Herrick Rd, Port Angeles, WA 98363-7114
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price range (per night): RM429 - RM579
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing