We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stanley Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Discovery Lodge(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coyote Mountain Lodge(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Moon Inn(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Silver Saddle Inn(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$120
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Appenzell Inn(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
StoneBrook Resort(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nicky's Resort(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Crest Resort(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$99
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,783)
Filter reviews
2,783 results
Traveller rating
1,114
818
459
263
129
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,114
818
459
263
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsghost tourstephen kingcascades restaurantwhiskey barbeautiful hotelthe main hotelfourth floorhaunted roomghost huntersparanormal activityhaunted hotelscary maryconcert hallgreat historybucket listnight tourhotel tour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 2,783 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We git called that our room was ready, picked up the key to find our room wasnt ready. Left to get out of their way. Was disappointed in the Continental Breakfast at the Lodge. They ran out of some food and lots of dishes. There were 3 of us, we shared one set if utensils so 1 ended up eating her yogurt on a plate with a knife, 1 ate hers on a plate with a spoon and I ate mine from a coffee cup with a fork and we shared the 1 napkin. Left a bad impression for the end of our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gben2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth C, Front Office Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Gben2018,

I am very sorry for the expirence we provided you. I would like to speak with you if possible. Please contact me 970-577-4162 or by emailing me at Gcook@StanleyHotel.com

Best Regards,
Gareth Cook, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is so steeped in history, you simply must see it. I stayed in Room 420, lovely view. The staff was very friendly. Rachel, at the front desk was very helpful and kind. They offer tours but you can walk around and just get a feel of not only its historical side but its haunted side. It doesn't get better than that!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank leighlati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth C, Front Office Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Leighlati,

Thank you coming to stay with us and giving a major shout out to Rachel! We'll be sure to make sure she's rewarded! We look forward to your return!

Best Regards,
Gareth Cook, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We waited a long time before a server approached us at our table. When our food was brought out we had to request our silverware.

The ghost tour seemed faked, but it was for entertainment purposes, so we got what we expected.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonemonaghan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth C, Front Office Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Stonemonaghan,

I'm sorry for the experience we provided you. We hope you will come back and visit us again so we can make up for the experience. Please contact me at Gcook@StanleyHotel.com. I would be happy make the reservation for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Meh! What is all the excitement about. Shabby, run down place that has somehow captured the imagination of the me-too traveler. Recommendation: avoid this place, there are SO many more wonderful sites and vistas in the Estes Park area.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jmiller704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth C, Front Office Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jmiller704,

I am very sorry we didn't provide you with a better experience. Please know we are are undergoing our renovation project that will last about 6-8 weeks. We look forward the completion and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at the Stanley hotel. The hotel itself lives up to its name! We only encountered a few things that made our stay less enjoyable. 1. Our rooms (we booked 2) were only half ready at the promised check-in time of 4pm. We ended up taking all of our bags to the room that was ready but had to wait about an hour for the other room. Not a big deal but a little inconvenient. 2. Our 2nd room had no hot water for showers in the morning. My dad had to take a cold shower and my mom chose to skip it altogether. Again, not a huge deal but for the price we paid for the room, you expect to be able to shower. We told the front desk of these issues and they comped $75 off the price of the room. That was nice but so far I haven't seen the comp appear in my bank account. Other than that, the restaurant had great food and service and our ghost tour was a lot of fun! It was a little pricey to stay here but the ambience and history of the hotel will definitely keep us coming back!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaceyd33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth C, Front Office Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kaceyd33,

I'm sorry both room were not ready at the time of your arrival. We are working on hiring more for our upcoming season to ensure this does not happen again. Please be aware that it does take up to 3-5 business days for most credit cards to see the refund process. Rest assured that it will show on your account.

Thank you so much for visiting us. We look forward to your future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews