We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Small Maine Coastal Town...set back in time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peacock House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooksville, Fl
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Small Maine Coastal Town...set back in time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We visited this lovely bed and breakfast because we wanted to say we had been to the downeast part of Maine. It was what I would have expected a small coastal Maine town to have been like years ago...so quaint, so beautiful and the B & B was so much fun! The innkeepers were the best! This job is just right for you Sue! Breakfast was wonderful...a sort of popover with bananas in it...The rooms were clean and well equipped. And every guest seemed to have really enjoyed their stay! I had wished that there was one more restaurant open in town but our meal at an Irish tavern was very good!

Room Tip: Just expect a long drive with little in between between Bar Harbor and Lubec! Probably good to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyDBrooksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
173
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

If you want cosseting, wonderful bedrooms, fantastic food, helpful hosts,comfortable lounges and a very relaxing place to stay this is for you. It's the best bed and breakfast in the world. Don't just take my word, go there and check it out for yourself. You'll love Sue and Dennis the owners.

Room Tip: We have stayed here many times and all the rooms are lovely, go on the website and pick the one most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed two nights September 15 &16, 2011. Sue and Dennis are absolutely the best hosts. If I could give this place a gold star, I'd give them 5! Caring, Interacting, Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful. Made all guests feel individually comfortable and this behavior was contagious. In most other places we have stayed at, there was very little if any guest interaction. Surprisingly, whenever we ran into the other guests in our forays into town, we would invariably stop and chat - as though we were old friends. A totally wonderful vacation resulted mainly because of this friendliness at "home base". The bed was very comfortable (although we normally travel with our own feather pillows) - and the whole place was kept in pristine condition. The only concern others may have is if they are allergic to cats (we love cats so that having cats as hosts was a plus for us). Most highly (and higher) offered recommendations for the Peacock House.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Great helpful and friendly hosts, good breakfast, excellent location if sightseeing in the area, lovely decor. Everything was very clean and well cared for. I would absolutely return to Peacock House if travels bring me to the area again.
Just what you hope a B & B will be!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra29492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brevard, NC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

This B&B has a nice intimite atmosphere. Susan and Dennis are outstanding hosts. Susan makes guests feel welcome with her engaging personality. Dennis spends his winters repairing and renovating Peacock House. His attention to detail shows. Two breakfast seatings per day were great for those who want an early start. Our room was very clean and modern.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayzee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
29.9 km away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
25.2 km away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
21.4 km away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 5 in Grand Manan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Deer Island Inn
Deer Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Deer Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
21.4 km away
Marathon Inn
Marathon Inn
#1 of 1 in North Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
21.6 km away
Robinson's Cottages
Robinson's Cottages
#1 of 1 in Dennysville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 27 Summer St, Lubec, ME 04652-1134
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price range (per night): RM462
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing