We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resting on their laurels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Ranked #27 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We decided to “staycation” in Tucson this year and decided to try this hotel since we have stayed at Loews a few years ago. The Westward Look has a good reputation, but it appears they are resting on their laurels.

They are offering a low rate that included a breakfast buffet (more on that fiasco later). When we arrived, we were pleasantly greeted at check-in. The clerk was very friendly and suggested an upgrade to a Stargazer Suite. We decided to do so and did not regret it. The room was very nice – Private patio, private hot tub and a massage chair. Plus, the room was huge and the bed was amazingly comfortable. Other than the TV not showing the first 4 channels, all was fine. After 3 attempts from maintenance, it was finally fixed.

Some good: The walking path around the resort is great. The pools were fine (nothing special). Loved the lobby – Very nice “old Arizona” feel to it. The workout room is well equipped. Loved the free wi-fi (no trouble connecting with my Mac). Some bad: The ice machines did not work. The bar stops serving food at 10pm on Saturday nights, so you are S.O.L if you get hungry after a few drinks.

Now - On to the breakfast buffet mess. So, who wants to eat cold eggs? How about cold waffles? How about cereal with no milk? Then this is your place! We mentioned these items to our server and she promptly went to the kitchen and brought out the items hot (like they should have been). Problem solved and we were happy campers. The next day, we went back to the restaurant and were greeted at the door by the manager who said “Well, looks like you will be happy today we made sure things were hot just for you.” First of all, we never raised the issue with the manager the day before so why did he say this? Second, it was very condescending. Thirdly, we were not the only ones to mention it the day before. Besides, when did cold food on a hot buffet line become acceptable and why did he act like he was doing us a favor? My travel partner overheard him snidely tell our server “Make sure the food is hot for those two!” We did not create a scene the first day and were branded as ‘complainers’ because we said the food was cold. The manager needs to learn customer service. We will certainly never return to their restaurant (GOLD).

It’s a shame because we almost liked the resort. But, to put up with rude staff (from management no less) really set a bad tone. All in all – It is an OK resort. The good things were really good and the bad things were really bad. We probably won’t return unless I get a craving for cold eggs with cheese that is not melted!

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank phxgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckinney1, Manager at Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2010

Greetings,

We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed the accommodations and amenities that our resort has to offer. We really appreciate your candid comments, and sincerely apologize that we missed the mark while you dined with us. We do take pride in the menu that we offer in both of our outlets, and we also have been recognized for our service and standards as evidence in receiving the AAA Four Diamond Award. It is through communication of issues such as yours that we continue to learn from our mistakes so that we do not miss the mark repeatedly. We hope that you would give us an opportunity to serve you again the next time your travels bring you to Tucson.

Kind Regards,

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,623 - 2,627 of 2,879 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed at Westward Look Friday night, July 2. We got an amazing Stargazer room which had a "private" patio with a jacuzzi. The room was immaculate, close to the pool and even had a massage chair. We called to have the jacuzzi filled and it was done within an hour and ready for us that evening. Pool service was wonderful and the staff always made sure we had ice water on hand. We could not spend the night Sat. so we had to check out, fortunately we were able to spend the entire day at the pool relaxing. D.J. (for July 4th) was great idea! This was a Staycation for us, we will be visiting again!
Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stammie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

My husband and I recently spent three nights at the Westward Look Resort in Tucson. We had never stayed there before and I have to say we were impressed. The resort is located at the base of the Santa Catalina mountains, so you have the mountains behind you and the City of Tucson in front of you. It is situated on 80 acres. We had a partial city view. All of the rooms have balconies or patios with two chairs and a small table. We had a suite-sized room. It was 650 sq. ft. and was more than an ample size for the two of us. The bed was beyond comfortable and the bed linens were absolutely luxurious. Soft, fluffy duvets. We did, however, feel that the bathroom area was oddly configured. The outer bathroom area consisted of a sink on one side and closet on the other. The inner area was separated from the outer area by a door and contained another sink, toilet and shower. When the light is turned on in the inner area, the fan comes on automatically. We found this to be a bit of an annoyance especially in the middle of the night. Also, the space between the toilet and the shower was narrow. The shower door opens out, but you can only open it so far without hitting the toilet. The really annoying thing was that throughout our stay there was an intermittent noise emanating from behind the wall in the bathroom. We probably should have said something, but chose not to as we weren't prepared to change rooms once we were settled. We are tennis players and took full advantage of the tennis courts. The resort has three pools. We chose to spend our time at the lap pool which was much quieter than the other two pools and gave us the opportunity to swim if we chose to do so. We were disappointed that The Gold restaurant was closed for the summer. It did, however, force us to venture farther afield and we stumbled on an absolutely fantastic restaurant, Jax Kitchen, in close proximity to the resort. We especially enjoyed looking around the Chef's Garden at the resort and enjoyed walking to the stables area to see the horses. We did not horseback ride but would likely do so the next time we stay here. We did not take advantage of the Spa on this trip. Despite a couple of minor irritations, as mentioned above, we will definitely come back. We liked the fact that the resort is not part of a chain. The resort successfully retains its historic past with all modern amenities and has been very tastefully renovated. I would venture to say it is unique.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We stayed for two nights this June. Our room, facing West, had fascinating views of the desert and desert inhabitants. The room and bath were large and very upgraded, so money has been spent. Unfortunately, housekeeping seems to be asleep at the switch. When we checked in we noticed no soap, so we called, several times, finally soap. The room also lacked a shower cap, a TV program list, all finally received. Also, ALL the ice making machines on the property were broken. Since it was June maybe the management had gone North-it was very hot. We received a bargain price for the room, would not return if charged the full price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckinney1, Manager at Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2010

Greetings,

Thank you for your guest feedback. We have used your valuable input assure that other guests do not have items missing from their room at check-in. We hope that you choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Tucson.

Kind Regards,

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We have stayed at the Westward Look several times before, each visit the room and service become less desirable.
My wife and I stayed two nights in room 176. When we arrived at the resort about 3 pm we were told our room was not ready (we had not requested a specific room, and the resort has many rooms, I have trouble understanding why hotels do this kind of thing to their customers). We left our cell number and about an hour later got a call and checked in. We went to the room (which was advertized as having a desert view), opened the drapes, and had a beautiful full view of a parking lot and other resort buildings (could NOT see the desert). We made due.

The room was large, but had very little furniture. There was a bed, a mirror sitting on the floor and leaning on the wall (the mirror took up about 1/4 of the room space), a desk and chair, and a large chair with ottoman. There was no sofa (although there was more than enough room for one). So, even though there was just the two of us in the room, there was only one "comfortable" place to sit. (I can understand the lack of seating at a motel 6, but I expected more at the Westward Look). We made due.

We noticed that the room had no wastebasket. We told the maid about it, and she said she would take care of it. Not only did she not get us a wastebasket, but she did little in cleaning the room. When we got back to the room that day, we called housekeeping and told them that we could not find a wastebasket. They said someone would be right there. Shortly a maid came with a wastebasket. It was one small (and I mean small) wastebasket, that I noticed she had taken from the room above us. We made due.

We should have received a newspaper at our door. But no paper. We made due.

The people in the room above us had room "service", and their tray remained by the door for two days.

The grounds are beautiful, and the grounds staff are very friendly.

If you are in Tucson, visit the Westward Look and walk around, but stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFtraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckinney1, Manager at Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

We thank this frequent guest for their valuable feedback. We were sorry to hear about our lack of attention to detail on this guest’s most recent stay. We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and on this visit it seems that we missed the mark. As to our furniture and décor of our newly renovated guest rooms, as you can see by the multiple other reviews on this site, most guests have enjoyed the furnishings and design of the oversized 600 square foot guest accommodations. We hope to have this guest stay with us again in the future so that we can extend our warm hospitality and service for which we are known.

Warm Regards,

Alan Klein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.4 km away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
4.2 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
14.0 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
5.5 km away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
6.0 km away
Omni Tucson National Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa

Address: 245 E Ina Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-7011 (Formerly Westward Look Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#10 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#12 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#27 Family Hotel in Tucson
#28 Business Hotel in Tucson
#36 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: RM436 - RM1,518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westward Look Hotel Tucson
Westward Look Tucson
Westward Look Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing