We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Disappointed in the Desert!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites Tucson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Tucson
Ranked #54 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointed in the Desert!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

I was so looking forward to returning to Tucson on a recent business trip. It'd been three (3) years since I visited, and after looking at my accommodation options I decided that I'd stay at the TownePlace Suites off Oracle. I used to stay there three years ago, and remembered the place to be warm and cozy.

The good news was that the hotel still has great access to my client base (previous/present)... The bad news is that the hotel is now really run down! A makeover is definitely needed here. I was embarrassed that I recommended this hotel to my team. Worse yet, I requested help finding a breakfast place that had a traditional AZ breakfast... They sent us to the golf course out back which was a real dump!

So if you're looking for a place to stay where you can rack up some Marriott points... this may be your place. It's awfully run down though, so beware! Should have stayed at the Hilton...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PathosGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    46
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
30
25
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

This is a good hotel for folks who want more than a room but nothing flashy.

Check-in was easy, but for some reason I was given a handicapped room next to the elevator. Too tired to go back to the lobby, but I should have since you could hear it in the bedroom, but otherwise it was fine.

Stayed in a one-bedroom suite which had a TV in the living room and bedroom. Very good choice of channels. High-speed Internet was wired with connections at the desk and by the sofa (very clever). Wireless also available. Both free. And finally a room with plenty of plugs, most of them easy to reach. Also, two PCs and a printer for guests in lobby.

Nice to have a full fridge/freezer. Also an oven, range, microwave, dishwasher, big coffeemaker and all the plates/pots/pans/utensils you need. Even included dishwashing liquid and powder for dishwasher, plus paper towels. Laundry room downstairs was clean. $1/wash, $1/dry, 75-cents detergent.

Breakfast room is not for the claustrophobic, but you won't want to spend time there, anyway. No fresh breads or muffins, just packaged stuff. First morning I grabbed enough yogurt and cereal to take upstairs and not have to go back the rest of the stay.

Would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestReviewForU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Here and there
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

I've stayed here twice and both times was good. Can't beat the location, just off Oracle, close to I-10, with a fantastic view of the mountains.
Rooms are large and quiet, and the small kitchen is a definitely plus.

Only downside is the carpet is a little dirty, but I'd definitely put up with that to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank star2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

This room was like a miniature Marriot Residence Inn room. It was very clean and had everything we needed and more. Full refrigerator, dishwasher, stove, oven, microwave etc. Ironing board in the room. Queen sofa bed in addition to our queen bed. The room was very clean. The staff was very professional and friendly. They were totally sold out when we were there and we still had fabulous service. Great location, near restaraunts, golf and the mall. They provide free hi speed internet and free breakfast! Great value and comfort.... we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaypang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Stayed at the Townesuites in Tucson for a few nights this August, primarly based on price and location, and the fact that its a Marriott property.

As previous guests have noted, the hotel is more then adequate. It is not posh. The construction is basic, the amenities are basic and the room is fine. I was surprised however that a suite is not what I had imagined: It is one moderate size hotel room with a small alcove for the bed, a small kitchen and a pull out sofa about 3 feet from the bed. I've stayed at other suite hotels that are far roomier. Either way, it was fine for me.

My only complaints are that carpet in the halls appears dirty and a bit stained, and the rooms could surely use an In Room safe.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlisforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall
0.5 km away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Comfort Suites at Tucson Mall
14.2 km away
TownePlace Suites Tucson Williams Centre
0.2 km away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Tucson

Property: TownePlace Suites Tucson
Address: 405 West Rudasill Road, Tucson, AZ 85704
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price range (per night): RM576 - RM1,182
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Tucson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace Suites Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Tucson Hotel Tucson
Tucson Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing