We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drop off University of Arizona student ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Ranked #16 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We have never stayed at a Best Western hotel simply because we have opted for the more upscale hotel chains like Marriott, Hilton and Hyatt. Albeit those listed aren't top of the line, they are for our family of 6 budget. Anyways...my wife gave be the responsibility of booking the hotel and was a little "pissed" when she learned that we were staying at a Best Western. I know this sounds snooty but hold on for a second. We have stayed at the Hyatt Place and Homeland Suites in the past. Both of these chains have wonderful amenities, they are clean, newer fixtures, bedding and decor. That said we were PLEASANTLY surprised to find The Best Western Royal Inn & Suites in Tucson, AZ on par with both the Hyatt Place and Homeland Suites. The exterior is very traditional having a 2 story hotel with the room doors facing the parking lot. Baby boomers can relate here - this was our idea of a hotel! Well welcome home oldies but goodies. We parked smack dab in front of our room and carried luggage right in and right out. No long Vegas style hallways with elevators and walking past front desk staff that don't speak. The room we had was a suite with a jetted tub. Also included was a pull out sofa located in a separate front room with a privacy door and it's own flat screen TV and mini fridge. In the separate sleeping area was another mini refrigerator, large vanity sink area, 2 queen beds a second flat screen and desk area. Added bonus was Direct TV which had a backlit remote (no more using your cell phone to locate the remote buttons in the dark), strong signal free wifi, lots of storage and ample space to maneuver around the beds. The blackout curtains actually stayed together and left the room nice and dark in the early morning Tucson sunrise. The coolest perk (and the reason I'm spending so much time on this) was the free breakfast. I know - your saying "really" - this guy has nothing else to do. Quite the contrary. We have all had the "free breakfast" at Holiday Inn Express, Hyatt Place or other family style hotels. It's a ruckus for the free breakfast morning rush: folks grabbing food and piling up the plates, cold pancakes that won't melt the butter, cut fruit that looks like it was from yesterday and the proverbial waffle making stations. Yuck. Well not here - not at the BW Royal Sun Inn & Suites. The free breakfast here is made to order. You actually go into a sit down restaurant and order your menu choice item and drink. This is a 1st for us. We have had over 200 stays over the years of raising 4 children and have NEVER seen this type of set up. Hyatt, Hilton and Marriott you can learn from this! Overall service was great simply because the staff said belle and offered help with locating restaurants, extra towels and saying thank you. Sorry for the long review but I wanted to cover each item that wowed me. I hope you have the same experience.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kory,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your amazing feedback. We are extremely proud to receive one of the best comments possible regarding our hotel facilities, location, friendliness and customer service. I will be sure to pass along your praise to our staff. Our team works very hard to exceed our guests' expectations. Comments like yours are very assuring for our entire team. 

We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,199)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Uncomfortable bed, loud nearby freight trains honking throughout the night. Earplugs were provided but it wasn't enough for me. Breakfast was OK. Didn't use the pool or the fitness center. Not my favorite Best Western hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank chrisdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi,

Thank you for providing us with your review from your stay. I deeply apologize that we did not meet your expectations for your stay. We value our guest’s opinions and strive to improve when we fall short. It is my hope that on your next visit to Tucson, we can provide you with excellent service and a comfortable room and exceed your expectations. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you allow us the opportunity to serve you as our guest again!

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fresh rooms, nuce exterior. Don't be scared when you see the back side of the facility, it has a great courtyard. And they have special rooms for people with pets. This keeps fresh rooms for us non-pet travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank cpehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi,

We deeply appreciate your very positive review of our hotel- the Best Western Royal Sun in Tucson. We are very pleased that you got to enjoy many favorite aspects of what we have to offer.

It was a pleasure to have you as one of our guests and hope to have the same opportunity often in the future. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and how you enjoyed your visit.

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at a fair number of BW's, this one is truly one of the BEST! Super clean, easy check in and out, love the made to order breakfast. Gym needs more equipment, or fix the equipment in there. Good location, easy to get in and out of.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank angelafN913XH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Angela,

We are extremely happy to hear one of the best compliments we can get from our guests. Our team works very hard to exceed our guests' expectations. Comments like yours are very assuring for our entire team.

Once again, thank you for the business; we truly appreciate it. We are looking forward to seeing you soon. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have been staying here 3 nights a week, every week, for the last month and a half. I definitely recommend opting for a suite with Jacuzzi tub. Soaking in the DEEP tub with jets blasting away the days stress, sure helps add to a great nights sleep. the only downside to the hotel is the train noise that I have heard on 2 occasions in the middle of the night. The beds are nice, seem newer, linens always fresh and not "bleachy" smelling. Towels soft and fluffy. All the rooms I have had so far have been updated and refinished. I keep coming back.

Room Tip: ground floor is quieter and cooler in the middle of the night if you like it COLD like I do.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Aaron,

Thank you for being a frequent guest of our hotel & for the business you have given us over the time. We very much appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. Also, thank you for the wonderful review & recommending our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
6.1 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#17 of 129 in Tucson
981 reviews
9.4 km away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
700 reviews
1.4 km away
Tucson University Park Hotel
7.6 km away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705-7748 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Tucson
#12 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#18 Family Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: RM357 - RM650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing